We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We just returned from a five day stay at the Jamaica Inn. To our complete surprise, we were upgraded upon arrival to their White Suite - Rm. 21. This proved to be the size of a small cottage on a private point of land, with its own small pool, lookout, hammock, and an expansive veranda with multiple chairs, chaises and tables. The feel was that of a private, exclusive hideaway with lovely British Colonial charm. The service throughout our stay was superlative. The food was very good and dinners on the outdoor terrace a real treat. The property's beach is outstanding. This is an exclusive, elegant boutique hotel with historical charm which treats its customers with loving care. Many of the guests during our stay had been coming for years - and yet - we were made to feel most welcome. If you are looking for a romantic hideaway with old world ambiance and attentive service - then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agnes236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights over Thanksgiving. We stayed in a Premiere Veranda Suite. The Manager's Cocktail hour outside the White Suite was our first experience upon arrival, where we got to know some of the guests and staff. The Inn has a country club feel (collared shirts and pants on the Terrace after 7p, croquet court, etc), but balances exclusivity and friendliness in a way rarely found. I get the sense it hasn't changed much since the 50s-60s (as long as the bartender Teddy has been there), and you wouldn't want it to. Upon departure, Kyle told us "we'll leave it just as you left it." I hope so. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meaningofheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had been really looking forward to staying in this hotel and it certainly did not disappoint.
What an amazing hotel this is with personal, professional, friendly service and traditional values. It is situated on a lovely secluded beach. The 'turtle man' came on a couple of occasions and released hatchlings into the sea - a very moving experience.

We stayed for 12 nights on a bed and breakfast basis, which was ideal for us as we do not usually eat lunch after having a large breakfast which is excellent - there is a delicious lunch menu if required. The evening dinner is five course but each course is itemised by price so you don't have to have all of it. We had starter, main, and sweet. There is also a 'between meals menu' if you are feeling hungry. All meals can be taken in our suite at an extra 5 US dollars. Men are required to wear long trousers and collared top for dinner (you don't have to wear a jacket), and ladies dress accordingly.

Our suite was the second floor balcony suite which was lovely. We had had a spectacular view of the harbour, the sea, beach and gardens. The large bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Everything in the room was perfect. Our room lady was the lovely Karen and she was fantastic and looked after us very well. We also met the two Jacquelines who were also extremely good. All suites looked very good.

Complimentary afternoon tea is a nice touch. It consists of a variety of small sandwiches, sponge cake, and a biscuit, tea or coffee and is taken on the terrace at 4 p.m. daily.

If you enjoy a drink before dinner then complimentary canapes and chips are available. Very delicious - but don't eat too many before your dinner!
All of the staff are incredible and very professional - we remember Patrice, Winston and the lovely girl with the beautiful VOICE. We didn't catch her name, but she can sing!!

Donald, the Gary's and many more served us for meals and not forgetting Teddy at the beach bar who we understand is the longest servicing member of staff.

All the staff at reception are extremely helpful and friendly, and the owner, and Kyle the Manager take time to chat to all the guests.

We can also recommend the Ocean Spa where we had a very nice massage.

The hotel was so good that we only took two trips out, which is very unusual for us. We did the Kingston trip and went to see Noel Cowards house, but would have liked to have visited some of the gardens (next time).

We had one meal at the Toscanini Italian Restaurant which is 10 minutes down the road - this was an excellent meal - see the review for this separately.

The currency to take with you is US dollars. Mostly you are given change in US dollars but occasionally in Jamaican dollars. Taxi's are very good - the hotel will organise one for you at any time.

If you have been thinking of booking this hotel ... do it now. Lots of guests return which speak for itself.

Thank you very very much to the owner, manager, and all the staff at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a surprise upgraded to the Cawdry Suite and it was lovely - thank you for that, Jamaica Inn! The room was lovely, spacious, clean, very comfortable. In the room is a book about Mr. Cawdry that he has signed for Peter Morrow - cool! The beach and swimming area are both amazing. The STAFF is the best ever! They do not "houver" but they are there for anything you need! If you take the time to be friendly and interested in the staff it will make your vacation so wonderful! They are so gracious and go out of their way to make you feel "at home". The staff are truly and example of true "professionals" and ALL very genuine people. I read in another review about "all inclusive" but we did not know about this. We ate every night at the Jamacia Inn - were not intrested in trying any place else (this time) as the dining experience at Jamaica Inn was fabulous! Cocktail hour and then dining under the stars with the royal palm and full moon glowing down for affect - Merrick and/or a ragaee band performing each evening singing a lot of Marley songs, great food - how could it be any better? Oh and the wait staff, again, the BEST! If you are looking to mainly just relax - this is the place! Excursions are easily available, too! We will return to Jamaica Inn! It has a real Caribbean feel and in some way takes you back in time! Diane & Steve Hedberg

Room Tip: All rooms would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Summary: THIS SHABBY CHIC PLACE OFFERS A CLASS ACT. Will we be back: YES!

We've read the reviews, seen the awards and know as fellow innkeepers from Woodstock Vermont, we know exactly what we want when we travel, and what we wish to avoid. We sought somewhere that would give us quietness, privacy, personable staff and where we would not just be staying at 'another all inclusive resort'.

Firstly we were impressed to be offered a complimentary upgrade to a balcony suite which did indeed make us feel valued, so thank you for that kind thought.

The Jamaica Inn has been around for decades, owned by the same family and we even met one of the current brothers who owns the inn, as he kept a watchful eye over the proceedings. The new manager Kyle was very personable but one minor observation would be for him to be a little more succinct with his welcoming speech at the early evening new arrival reception. It did feel a bit like a sales conference welcome where absolutely none of the staff names could be omitted.

Rather than blather on about all the positives, which the place has in bucket loads and so many folks have already done, I thought I'd give some constructive comments, not criticisms but hopefully helpful ideas.
1) Smoking seems to be allowed everywhere which in this day and age is unusual. I would have loved to have been offered a no smoking room in a no smoking wing. When we sat one evening on our balcony our neighbour took his pre-dinner drink with what seemed like half of Cuba's cigar production...and it really stank! Smoke billowed over our balcony as if a steam train was going past. We voted with our feet and moved to another part of the hotel from our room but felt that in the 21st century most folks would prefer smoking if allowed to be in a designated area.
2) One night there was a beach barbeque which we decided not to attend. We wandered over to the restaurant to find it was closed, a fact that was not communicated to us on the beach barbeque invite and we were disappointed that we could not dine in style. Thus we had dinner in the bar off the room service menu. The food was delicious but we did feel rather like a spare part at a funeral, as there was no one around to create any ambiance, no candles were lit and it also took many minutes to be even offered some water or a drink, as most of the wait staff were attending clients on the beach.
3) I did comment to the owner that I felt having to go into the reception office to print out some information was not really desirable and also I'm sure the staff get fed up with moving. In a matter of minutes he responded to my suggestion that a simple printer be added to the guest computer...and hey presto I was told it was to be done as soon as possible! I was impressed with the speed and the lack of signing off that needed to be done.
4) We had an issue with our bath tub, the plug would not close and the shower worked when the tub filled. The maintenance man appeared quickly and whilst he didn't solve the issue long term, he did make a fix that allowed us to soak in the wonderfuly deep tub and then we were informed that the shower fix was a major job which would be attended to after we departed. All in all excellent communication.
5) Complimentary afternoon tea is provided everyday with traditional sandwiches and drinks. The Blue Mountain coffee was excellent......but the teas offered were historic as the black ones had real bite and strength.
6) As a few other people have commented, the live music in the evening was a 'little cheesy'. The artists are all local but in our humble opinion the style was 'elevator with a Jamaican twist', which seemed to pay too little attention to Jamaican musical heritage and history.

These are all small points and it in no way diminished anything from our stay.

The one thing that was a slight disappointment was the lack of local food influences on their menu. You did get local fishes but as an instance the jerk sauce was on the side. There weren't any ackees offered for breakfast and the breakfast toast could do to be placed in a bigger basket as the it became very limp and soggy.

Our overall impression of the place which does have nearly 50 rooms was that it handles clients very well, you never feel overlooked, and there are always loungers on the beach for everyone. Staff seem to be everywhere...and yet they are very discrete.

Onto the highlight of our stay....Mel Tennant the turtle man!!! A transplanted Brit, a former school head from Birmingham who has made it his life's passion to assist the turtle population of Jamaica. Whilst we were there he came and assisted some baby turtles who were about to hatch...and we watched them be launched by their own little flippers into the ocean and a 2 year journey before they return to lay eggs on the very same beach.

So far he estimates he has launched about 130,000....and no question was too much for him to answer from the assorted nationalities. Do check out.Oracabessa Fish Sanctuary which is an amazing project that the Jamaica inn supports.

If you want a personable stay in a great setting that does not revolve around the 'love fest of couples' that so many all inclusives offer, then this is the place for you. Thankfully when we were staying there was not a single baby, infant or child in site...and this made for a very enjoyable stay. A few kids running around on the beach however well behaved would change everything that is good about this inn.

Room Tip: “A tip - Hire your own car when you visit, as the drive from the airport is now superb. 30 years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to visit and for your comments. We are pleased that you were able to experience or GM's exuberance and passion for the team. He always takes every opportunity he can to thank and congratulate our team for a job well done. We will do our very best to keep things just the way you like it and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Jamaica Inn for my birthday and had a fantastic time. We requested a premier verandah suite over the water and the hotel was able to accommodate our request, the room was spacious and clean and the verandah looking out over the sea was huge, the view was spectacular. We used to sit on the balcony in the mornings and feed the fish.

The staff were friendly and extremely attentive - nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very polite. The owner, Peter, took time to talk to us every day. It is things things like this that make the Jamaica Inn such a fantastic place - the customer service was second to none.

We ate in the restaurant most evenings and the food was delicious, good sized fresh portions. The all inclusive option when booking is not really necessary unless you have a big appetite.

We spent most of our time lying on the beautiful private beach, sipping cocktails, and swimming in the lovely warm clear sea. Free Planters Punch is served at 11am on the beach every day - a nice touch. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Jamaica Inn for our honeymoon and it was all I hoped it would be. The room was amazing, the staff fantastic and beach was stunning. The owner wandered around during the day chatting to guests and it was a beautiful experience. Not too big, so everything was personal. If I went back again I would definitely do the all inclusive.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go for the west wing rooms with verandahs over the carribean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $354 - $1,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing