We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found... Yeah man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Paradise found... Yeah man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Mid way through our vacation and could not be happier. The reviews are spot on. The Jamaica Inn is an awesome place to chill, relax, and reconnect. The property is historic and surely not brand new - but that is part of its charm. We are staying in a premier verandah overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Simply hard to describe the feeling of sitting on your verandah listening to the sound of the waves lapping right up to your room. Priceless. The people are so friendly and accommodating. The food is absolutely amazing and so are the drinks. (strongly recommend the AI plan). The property owner, manager, and staff all go out of their way to make sure that all is good. The beach is special. So private and peaceful. Being able to snorkel, long-board and kayak right off the beach was cool. So many fish along the side of the property-very special. The band that played each evening was great. Low key but just what we were looking for after a long day on he beach.

If you are looking for a casual resort with 5-star service, this is it! We can't wait to come back "home."

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mharad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    112
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
809
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had read about this place for years and wanted to go, but it is a bit pricy. I finally went for my birthday and now know, you get what you pay for. We used the providers transportation (a bus) to arrive.. and boy were we embarassed. The bus could not pull up the driveway and we made a spectacle. This is not the type of place you arrive in a bus. We took the hotels limo back (we paid and it was worth it... this place is about the experience). You walk in to a small open air lobby (reception) with a welcome drink and the nicest people you will ever meet. I believe this hotel just changed owners, we went with the old owners so I am not sure how it will change. We got a ground floor room (suite) with a walk out patio directly to the beach. They left and changed daily a foot bowl to rinse your feet. The room and service is out of the world. We did the beach and hammoks every day. I dont even think we ever visited the pool. Every day they have tea time at 4pm with snacks and drinks. This is NOT an all inclusive and the food and drinks are very expensive. We ate at the restaurant one night but the rest we went to local places. Ask about the Italian restaurant. I dont remember the name but the food was amazing (it is Italian with Jamaican flare), beautiful view and all of the celebrities visit. It is very inexpensive. We used the spa and that was wonderful. It is truly spa service, not typical for a beach hotel. You really feel like you are a celebrity when you visit this hotel. It is just amazing. Perfect for couples celebrating something special, definitely a honeymoon you would not forget. Save your money, skip the all inclusive sandals, etc. for a year or two and splurge on this hotel. It is a totally different Jamaica. Check out also all of the history here, I believe it is said Ian Flemming visited and did his writing here, and even the site for Where Stella Got Her Groove Back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the spa side and you must do beachfront walkout. I dont see the point otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontotraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us to celebrate your birthday and to welcome you to the Jamaica Inn Family! Just one clarification, the property has been in the same family for over 54 years and still remains that way.
We did have a change in General Managers recently where Mary Phillips handed the baton over to Kyle Mais, who is the newest member of our Jamaica Inn Family.
We hope to welcome you back home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just came here for dinner one night and loved it. Food was delicious and fresh. Service was impeccable. Soft live music in the background. This place is well taken care of, takes pride in its look and it shows. Gorgeous from every angle. Next time I'll stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My dad and I stayed at the Jamaica Inn for one week and it was AMAZING! First of all, the staff is absolutely wonderful. From the second we arrived we felt like we were part of their "family." Secondly, the inn is utter paradise. We woke up in the morning and the ocean was not even 100 feet from our porch. We had the option of eating in the breakfast dining area or the luxury of our own porch. The list of all the wonderful things the Jamaica Inn has to offer goes on and on. My dad and I would 110% recommend the Jamaica Inn to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Variety over a 3 week stay was outstanding. Well managed hotel by Mary and superb service throughout. Chef invited me into his bustling kitchen, which was spotless and obviously controlled to a tee. The gardens added to the pleasure overseen by Henry.
We can't wait to be able to return

Room Tip: Stay once and you are automatically upgraded thereafter. Stay for three weeks and you can ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at this spectacular resort and can share the following...the service is as good if not better than any Ritz or Four Seasons. The rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed in room #47 - Premier Verandah Suite in the beach wing....literally step onto the beach and you are 30 steps from the ocean. We had the opportunity to explore Cottages 2,4,6,7 and the famed White Suite (staff refer to it as room 21). Without a doubt the White Suite is the best....like having your own estate inside hotel grounds with 360 views and ocean breezes on multiple private lookout and lounging points....simply unreal! If you can afford it, book it. Winston Churchill spent many winter holidays in the White Suite....the history and elegance are amazing. In order of preference, we recommend the White Suite, Cottage 7, 3, 4 and any of the Premier Verandah Suites in the Beach Wing. Food was fantastic at every meal....we are accustomed to some of the finest dining while at home and while traveling and this was on par with the best. We have been traveling for 30+ years and not many places in the world made us feel as special as Jamaica Inn....staff became family within a few days. Special thanks to Patrice, Derrick, Rupert, Teddy, Georgia, Christopher, Desmond, Sherlene, Winston, Kumar, our driver Brian and of course the big man in charge Kyle!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DJFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and our computer was stolen from the veranda of our suite at night. That was a very scary event, as the veranda is only few feet from the bedroom bed. Otherwise, I am not sure what the other reviews are raving about - there are better hotels in Jamaica, certainly, safer ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank George259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am the new General Manager here at the Inn and I am so sorry to learn of this unfortunate situation which occurred prior to my arrival. I can assure you that security is paramount in my priorities, and as such we have recently installed a more comprehensive camera system as well as implemented other security protocols to enhance the safety of our guests and their belongings.
It is unfortunate that someone took advantage of the fact that the laptop was left unsecured and in plain sight (our verandahs are open air). Even so, it should not have happened and is not the norm for us here at the Inn.
Our entire Jamaica Inn Family would like extend our heartfelt sympathies to you and are confident that our recent security measures will prevent this from reoccurring in the future.
Feel free to contact me to discuss this and any other aspects of your stay further.
I can be reached on our 800 837 4608 number.
Sincerely, Kyle Mais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
45.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing