We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jamaica Inn -- Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jamaica Inn -- Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at The Jamaica Inn and loved it -- again! Located just east of Ocho Rios, the inn is about a 90-minute drive from Montego Bay airport, but it's a nice drive and worth the time. This small, family-owned inn has a lovely setting on a private cove, with comfortably elegant rooms and one of the best restaurants we've enjoyed anywhere. The staff is extremely welcoming -- many have worked there much of their lives. This is not for the disco crowd -- a quiet reggae band accompanies dinner under the stars and a jigsaw puzzle in the library duels with the croquet court for the competitive guests. But, there are kayaks, sailboats and snorkling for those who feel inclined -- and lots of palapas with rum punch for the rest of us!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one of the premium verandah suites on the west side, overlooking the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FWBRHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    112
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
805
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having explored the Port Antonio area we just decided to stop, relax and enjoy the wonderful facilities. The view from our balcony on the west wing was fantastic and very private. We lay on the beautiful sand beach, swam, snorkeled or borrowed the hotels kayak and small sailing dingy. We loved the live reggae music in the evening eating supper under the stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherry2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Besides the Old World charm of this place with no TV and radio and clocks, it is the staff that make it special. Many have been there for 10 plus years and the Beach Bar Bartender is in his 54th year!
It is clear the management and vacationers take good care of the staff and I imagine that their jobs are coveted by many.
The food is good and varied. The beach is small but special. But every room is just a stone's throw from the ocean and there are plenty of cabana's for everyone. We enjoyed sitting under the natural shade of the Almond trees and Sea Grape trees.
The Planters Punch at check-in and noon every day is a highlight of the fun. Plenty to do with croquet and various water sports. This was a welcome change from the cold and gray and rain of this winter/spring. I look forward to our fifth trip next winter.

Room Tip: No bad rooms there. Just do what you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The beach bar waiter just dropped off my daily Planter's Punch, as I sit on the beach saddened that this is the last day of my honeymoon at the outstanding Jamaica Inn.

The Jamaica Inn is a must visit for all couples. Mary Phillips, the Manager, has created an atmosphere that is not to be missed. The staff is so amazingly friendly, you will call them your friends when you leave. My wife and I are already trading emails and taking pictures with our new friends like it's the last day of camp.

A typical day here starts with a quick trip to the exercise room followed by a gigantic breakfast served on the porch of the room facing the beach and ocean. A few hours on the beach, then it's time to his the beach bar and say Hi to Teddy. You'll see Winston walking too chopping coconuts for the guests to drink out of. Lunch is served - order the Taste of Jamaica for your daily dose of jerk chicken. Head back to the beach, take out a kayak for a little bit, jump into the ocean or the pool, take a nap on the hammock, then head to happy hour for drinks and cocktails before dinner.

Dinner is outstanding night after night. Sure you can venture off the reservation but you don't have to. Dinner under the stars on the veranda cannot be beat.

Grab a drink at the bar and say Hi to Patrice, Palmer, Reggae, Kamar, Damar, JT and the rest of the guys working at the bar and restaurant. They're more than happy to accommodate your every need!

The Jamaica Inn provided us with the most wonderful week we've ever had in our lives. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Every positive review is accurate. I have been to Jamaica 6 times, and JI was by far the most relaxing place I've visited. The beach is fantastic - secluded and clean. The rooms are all convenient as the resort is very small and contained. My wife and I stayed in the Blue Cottage (#35). It is like a cabin on Lake Michigan. Large bedroom, functional bathroom, dressing area and covered porch. Because of its location in the middle of the resort, I got the opportunity to meet and befriend the beach staff, including Marvin and "Smurf." Great crew. The restaurant(s) are very good, with nightly entertainment. The beachbar is fun. Teddy and Rupert hold court. After 24 hours, I felt like I belonged at JI, and everyone knew me by name. Croquet on a perfectly manicured court right next to the beachbar makes for cheap entertainment (one could always know when Americans tried to play - they complained about the British layout, and used their mallets like putters). Americans were in the minority. Most were from UK, Canada and Australia. Everyone becomes friendly - in part because of lack of passive entertainment like TV, and partly because everyone feels special being on the property.

Only one complaint - spotty WiFi. But I noticed after 2 days that along with no TV, email could wait as well. By the way, there is a TV room when the need arises (like watching the Hoosiers in the NCAA tournament). There is a TV in the bar as well - but management will only permit its use during major events (Super Bowl, etc.).

I am already planning a return visit - it was that good !

Room Tip: Again, I think the Blue Cottage is perfect. Also recommend the rooms overlooking the water on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simonandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an all too brief visit to Jamaica Inn and cannot wait to return. The resort is lovely and located on a perfect beach. The food is very good as are the drinks.

But it is truly the staff that makes this property so special. They just want to make sure you have the best vacation possible. Everyone is extremely helpful and very pleasant.

We were able to stay in two (2) different private cottages on the property and they were both fantastic. The spa has some great treatments, and being able to relax with the sound of the waves below, is an amazing experience.

We met people who had been coming back for many years, and everyone could not have been nicer. We are already looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: There honestly is no bad room. It just depends whether you want a private cottage or one of the del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kwins0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 days last week at Jamaica Inn and couldn't be happier. Wonderful people, great room, outstanding food, beautiful grounds and great service all around. The place is not wild and crazy, but that is great. We "chilled" and enjoyed everything about the place. The beach was great, and never crowded. And the attention to detail and customer service were truly outstanding. The food was very good - If it is still on the lunch menu, make sure to try the gazpacho (I had it at every day).
Kudos to Peter (one of the owners) and all of his staff for maintaining high standards and truly caring about their guests. We'll undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
2,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing