We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another Planter's Punch Please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOT SUMMER SAVINGS!
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Planter's Punch Please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The beach bar waiter just dropped off my daily Planter's Punch, as I sit on the beach saddened that this is the last day of my honeymoon at the outstanding Jamaica Inn.

The Jamaica Inn is a must visit for all couples. Mary Phillips, the Manager, has created an atmosphere that is not to be missed. The staff is so amazingly friendly, you will call them your friends when you leave. My wife and I are already trading emails and taking pictures with our new friends like it's the last day of camp.

A typical day here starts with a quick trip to the exercise room followed by a gigantic breakfast served on the porch of the room facing the beach and ocean. A few hours on the beach, then it's time to his the beach bar and say Hi to Teddy. You'll see Winston walking too chopping coconuts for the guests to drink out of. Lunch is served - order the Taste of Jamaica for your daily dose of jerk chicken. Head back to the beach, take out a kayak for a little bit, jump into the ocean or the pool, take a nap on the hammock, then head to happy hour for drinks and cocktails before dinner.

Dinner is outstanding night after night. Sure you can venture off the reservation but you don't have to. Dinner under the stars on the veranda cannot be beat.

Grab a drink at the bar and say Hi to Patrice, Palmer, Reggae, Kamar, Damar, JT and the rest of the guys working at the bar and restaurant. They're more than happy to accommodate your every need!

The Jamaica Inn provided us with the most wonderful week we've ever had in our lives. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    101
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
116
713
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Every positive review is accurate. I have been to Jamaica 6 times, and JI was by far the most relaxing place I've visited. The beach is fantastic - secluded and clean. The rooms are all convenient as the resort is very small and contained. My wife and I stayed in the Blue Cottage (#35). It is like a cabin on Lake Michigan. Large bedroom, functional bathroom, dressing area and covered porch. Because of its location in the middle of the resort, I got the opportunity to meet and befriend the beach staff, including Marvin and "Smurf." Great crew. The restaurant(s) are very good, with nightly entertainment. The beachbar is fun. Teddy and Rupert hold court. After 24 hours, I felt like I belonged at JI, and everyone knew me by name. Croquet on a perfectly manicured court right next to the beachbar makes for cheap entertainment (one could always know when Americans tried to play - they complained about the British layout, and used their mallets like putters). Americans were in the minority. Most were from UK, Canada and Australia. Everyone becomes friendly - in part because of lack of passive entertainment like TV, and partly because everyone feels special being on the property.

Only one complaint - spotty WiFi. But I noticed after 2 days that along with no TV, email could wait as well. By the way, there is a TV room when the need arises (like watching the Hoosiers in the NCAA tournament). There is a TV in the bar as well - but management will only permit its use during major events (Super Bowl, etc.).

I am already planning a return visit - it was that good !

Room Tip: Again, I think the Blue Cottage is perfect. Also recommend the rooms overlooking the water on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simonandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an all too brief visit to Jamaica Inn and cannot wait to return. The resort is lovely and located on a perfect beach. The food is very good as are the drinks.

But it is truly the staff that makes this property so special. They just want to make sure you have the best vacation possible. Everyone is extremely helpful and very pleasant.

We were able to stay in two (2) different private cottages on the property and they were both fantastic. The spa has some great treatments, and being able to relax with the sound of the waves below, is an amazing experience.

We met people who had been coming back for many years, and everyone could not have been nicer. We are already looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: There honestly is no bad room. It just depends whether you want a private cottage or one of the del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kwins0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 days last week at Jamaica Inn and couldn't be happier. Wonderful people, great room, outstanding food, beautiful grounds and great service all around. The place is not wild and crazy, but that is great. We "chilled" and enjoyed everything about the place. The beach was great, and never crowded. And the attention to detail and customer service were truly outstanding. The food was very good - If it is still on the lunch menu, make sure to try the gazpacho (I had it at every day).
Kudos to Peter (one of the owners) and all of his staff for maintaining high standards and truly caring about their guests. We'll undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having travelled to many destinations, Jamaica Inn is ideal for that those who just want to get away from it all. Excellent accommodation and service from the staff. You must stay in one of their virtually over the water rooms. Kudos to Mary Phillips, the G.M., who is the consummate host. A must visit for travellers looking for a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Room beside the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank olympiadmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently returned from yet another stay at Jamaica Inn. Have been guests at this property almost every year since 1995. Jamaica Inn has always been an excellent property but has only become better under the guidance of Mary Phillips, general manager. The property can best be described as "understated elegance". It is quiet, almost seductive. The beach is one of the best and least crowded in Jamaica. While I have tried hundreds of times, the beauty of the properety simply cannot be fully captured in photos. The rooms are functional, the connecting verandas are spectacular with each presenting a slighlly different vista toward the ocean. Breakfast on the pavilion simply over powers the senses. Cocktails on the balcony are a must and dinner under the stars and served by candlelite can best be decsribed as a "unique" experience. Perhaps the finest asset of this property is the staff. Their warmth is sincere and contagious but they always remain professional in every way. Dining room service is impeccable, on a level seldon found in the states. Over the years, many of the staff have become good friends and returning to the Jamaica Inn really is like visiting family. We look forward to again being "welcomed home"!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank glenn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I tried to take some photos of this resort and none of them could come close to capturing the true beauty of the Jamaica Inn. The same goes for writing a review. This place is indescribable. My wife and I spent a week there, and we can't wait to return. It's like we stepped back in time. The elegance, the white table clothes, the decor mixed with the landscaping the beauty of the beach and the wonderful people added up to a memorable experience.
We stayed in room 45, a premier verandah directly on the beach. Every morning we were greeted by breakfast served right on our front porch. We'd spend the days camped out on the beach while Rupert (35 year employee) would serve us drinks, whenever he wasn't busy ruling the croquet court. A waiter would take our food orders and set our table for lunch. There was afternoon tea and a cocktail hour before dinner with proper attire (jacket for men, dress for the ladies) was served. After dinner we'd sit on the terrace have drinks and listen to music. All of this may sound stuffy (croquet, tea, dressing for dinner) but it is not. The Inn has a charm from days gone by. The owner (Peter) and the manager (Mary) made it a point to take an interest in you. The staff was awesome top to bottom. We aren't that adventurous and didn't venture off the grounds, but those who did loved the food at local restaurants and the various activities such as Dunns River Falls.
There is a price that comes with this experience. The Jamaica Inn is not cheap, but it is well worth the money. Your visit will be one that you will never forget. The moonlight couples massage was one of the best things that we have ever done.
If you go, I'd suggest
Get the All-Inclusive Package (meals, drinks and taxes can add up)
Get the Premier Verandah Suite
Get the Couples Moonlight Massage (85 minutes)
Bring cash to tip - although not required, these folks deserve it(far better service than we get in the States) and appreciated it (they appreciate you appreciating them.

Only negatives
It is a haul from the airport (1 1/2 to 2 hours) but the drive is kind of fun.
There is a bit of hierarchy to getting the right beach chairs
BUT all in all it's wonderful

Room Tip: Premier Verandah---All Inclusive is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank toddayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you Toddayo for such a wonderful review of Jamaica Inn! We truly appreciate you and all of our other reviewers taking the time to write about their experience here. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us. For your next trip, please note that just a shirt with a collar for dinner is required (a polo shirt would be just fine), if you would if you would rather not wear jacket. To make your next trip even better, you could consider doing a private car transfer with us or though your travel agency. It will be a lot quicker and more comfortable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
84.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermosa Cove, Villa Resort & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing