We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, stunning hotel”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing service, stunning hotel”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

An incredible hotel. Oozing character and history, Jamaica Inn is a fantastic destination for anyone looking for privacy, high quality service, outstanding food and total relaxation.

There were 4 of us, staying in Cottages 3 and 4. These vast suites had huge balconies, infinity pools and their own access to the sea, and were totally private. If we had wanted to, we could quite easily have not ventured out the whole week.

My parents in law were lucky to get an upgrade for a few days to the White Suite, which was simply incredible, and even larger than the cottages. This had a huge pool, it's own garden and grounds and a walkway leading to a stunning private bluff with a double sun bed.

Service was first class. The chef and kitchen went out of their way for my mother in law, who has a severe allergy. We always find this a problem anywhere else. Meanwhile, the first couple of nights we heard a bit of noise coming from the resort round the corner, with music going on quite late. We mentioned this to Mary, the general manager. She promptly called the police commissioner and we didn't hear a peep again! Mary was always out and about with her two lovely dogs, making sure guests were enjoying themselves. Her and the staff were simply awesome, and always smiling!

The food was delicious. Lobster, fresh fish, jerk chicken, refreshing salads, tropical fruit and Blue Mountain coffee, it was always scrumptious. I always stuck to the Jamaican food, but there were many other options available, all tasty and stunningly presented. I am now suffering jerk withdrawal as a result! The same applies to the cocktails, whether down with Teddy on the beach or while waiting on the terrace before dinner.

A few things to point out. Evening meals at the restaurant are fairly smart, so trousers and collared shirts for guys, luckily not black tie though!
We hired the boat to take us to Dunn's River Falls. It is definitely worth seeing this, but you need to take cash with you for not just the boat trip, but also the entrance fee at the falls, along with tips for the boat guys, and for the guy who will accompany you up the falls (taking photos). We didn't realise all this and had to dash back to the room when we got back. It worked out v expensive in the end. It is actually very close by road, so it would be much cheaper to get a taxi.
You will hear a lot of crickets and tree frogs at night at the cottages. You zone out after a while! The time we went (December) also meant we got no sun on the decks of the cottages, so went down to the beach for that. The beach is huge, with loads of sun beds and plenty of space. You also benefit from the cocktails being whisked round!
The drive from the airport (Montego Bay) took about an hour and a half in traffic.
Keep your eyes peeled for hummingbirds, especially along the back of the hotel.
Room service is only five dollars, we should have made more use of this!
We were shown round Cottage 7, it was huge, very modern. The White Suite was something else though. If you can, stay there!
It is definitely not for young children. We only saw adults. Most people kept themselves to themselves.
If you go, have an amazing time, and have a red stripe for me!

Room Tip: Go with the White Suite or Cottage 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swempo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    118
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
860
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

When you look up relaxation, a stay at the Jamaica Inn HAS to be in the definition. I can see by reading the other reviews that I am not alone in my enjoyment of my time spent there. Even though the weather was fairly mediocre, it did not dampen our enjoyment. I loved being electronically disconnected. The service is impeccable, food great, grounds gorgeous, gracious room. It lived up to all the things that everyone told me about it....and that does not always happen. I fear that soo many great reviews will set my expectations too high....not so, the Jamaica Inn delivers.
We were in room 33 and loved it. I do not think there is a bad room in the place. Each has something wonderful to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our time at the Jamaica Inn was outstanding! The check-in was smooth and efficient and when we were taken to our accommodation we were blown away. Cottage 7 is extraordinary in every way! The views from every window are of the turquoise sea below and the amenities are plentiful. Our favourite part of the cottage was the infinity pool that is set on a cliff overlooking the sea. It is extremely private and a very romantic spot.
The food was excellent and the staff, incredible. We especially liked getting to know Patrice and Kumar who both went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of.
The beach was very private and we liked that no matter how full the resort was there was always ample space to relax and read a book or sun tan. There was not much to do at the resort itself, which suited us as we were looking for total relaxation. There were however, boat rides offered to various attractions if you felt like keeping busy during your stay.
The only part of our stay that did not exceed our expectations was the spa. The staff was just as lovely but the services I had (a facial and couples massage) left much to be desired. For one, my face was inflamed after my facial due to some sort of reaction and I was charged extra money to get my inflamed and burning face under control. At any other spa they staff would have apologized and tried to get me comfortable at no extra charge, to say the very least. My husband and I enjoyed parts of the couples massage, but other parts such as the ear lobe and ear massage—were strange to us.
The spa aside, the Jamaica Inn is our new favourite spot in the world!! We are excited to go back to this special place next year and be blown away all over again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in room 25 ocean front suite. You walk right off of the outdoor living area on to the beach. It couldn't be any closer. It is a quiet romantic place. The Wi-Fi worked well. We were able to stream SEC football live during our visit. The place is spotless. The area was secure, and the service fantastic. I don't think you could do any better, this was the best island resort I have ever visited! Everything worked great in the room including the airconditioner and water pressure. Perfect!!!!! We chose not to use the all inclusive meal package. There are plenty of places a cheap cab ride away to explore. Don't use their cab service or airport service, you can get a driver very cheaply on foot.

Room Tip: Room 25 was a perfect location. Downstairs rooms allow room service to delivery easily without entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriShrimp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A truly amazing experience. Look no further if you want to disconnect from the world, enjoy good food and relax. The staff is amazing. My wife missed the scheduled garden tour, so the grounds keeper gave her an hour + private tour. The view from the West wing Premier Verandah Suite is priceless. Teddy is great company at the beach bar. If you want a high enery party environment, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to reconnect with your spouse, make reservations now.

Room Tip: West wing premire veranda suites offer private verandas that face clear water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aallen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Private Beach is great,,, you have to have stayed at another place to really appreciate this experience,, they treat you with special care,, even the maid and yardmen,, if you see a bad rating at this place,, then someone is missing one of their 5 sences

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

When you return to a place you perceived to be perfect there is the danger it never lives up to expectations.

This was our 3rd visit to Jamaica Inn, and it was just as good as the first. Before our second visit I remember thinking "will it be of the same high standard?" No need to worry, we were treated just as well by the extremely efficient staff who can’t do enough for you; they are all ambassadors for Jamaica Inn

The only difference after visit three is that now the staff have become friends, and it really is like “coming home”.

I could go on and on about how perfect JI is, so I will just say that I fully endorse all the positive comments that other visitors have made about Jamaica Inn on tripadvisor

A few words to sum it up, location, quality, friendliness, relaxation, It really is a unique place, try it for yourself!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be the same quality, its just the location and therefore view that changes. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,546 reviews
53.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
57.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing