We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in room 25 ocean front suite. You walk right off of the outdoor living area on to the beach. It couldn't be any closer. It is a quiet romantic place. The Wi-Fi worked well. We were able to stream SEC football live during our visit. The place is spotless. The area was secure, and the service fantastic. I don't think you could do any better, this was the best island resort I have ever visited! Everything worked great in the room including the airconditioner and water pressure. Perfect!!!!! We chose not to use the all inclusive meal package. There are plenty of places a cheap cab ride away to explore. Don't use their cab service or airport service, you can get a driver very cheaply on foot.

Room Tip: Room 25 was a perfect location. Downstairs rooms allow room service to delivery easily without entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriShrimp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    110
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
795
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A truly amazing experience. Look no further if you want to disconnect from the world, enjoy good food and relax. The staff is amazing. My wife missed the scheduled garden tour, so the grounds keeper gave her an hour + private tour. The view from the West wing Premier Verandah Suite is priceless. Teddy is great company at the beach bar. If you want a high enery party environment, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to reconnect with your spouse, make reservations now.

Room Tip: West wing premire veranda suites offer private verandas that face clear water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aallen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Private Beach is great,,, you have to have stayed at another place to really appreciate this experience,, they treat you with special care,, even the maid and yardmen,, if you see a bad rating at this place,, then someone is missing one of their 5 sences

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

When you return to a place you perceived to be perfect there is the danger it never lives up to expectations.

This was our 3rd visit to Jamaica Inn, and it was just as good as the first. Before our second visit I remember thinking "will it be of the same high standard?" No need to worry, we were treated just as well by the extremely efficient staff who can’t do enough for you; they are all ambassadors for Jamaica Inn

The only difference after visit three is that now the staff have become friends, and it really is like “coming home”.

I could go on and on about how perfect JI is, so I will just say that I fully endorse all the positive comments that other visitors have made about Jamaica Inn on tripadvisor

A few words to sum it up, location, quality, friendliness, relaxation, It really is a unique place, try it for yourself!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be the same quality, its just the location and therefore view that changes. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I had our honeymoon at this hotel 35 years ago. We think the world is a grand place that needs to be explored and never go to the same place twice. But this hotel is our only exception. We have returned time and time again.
Why? Because of the staff. They can read your mind and are attentive when needed and leave you alone when that is appropriate. Many are so dear to us, we think of them as family. You cannot stay at this Inn and not totally unwind and relax. The Inn is one-of-a-kind in this age of mega hotel chains with impersonal service. It is old world charm and grace with a beautiful beach that is raked every morning (trust me, I get up early and see Chris and Albert out there working so hard clearing the entire beach!), stunning gardens, polished tile floors, history whispers in the library, the best breakfast with freshly baked breads, pastries, coffee and tropical fruits, served on your private terrace, comfortable beach chairs with plenty of shade, antique filled guest rooms with a housekeeping staff that deserves an award themselves for what they do. The waiters, bartenders, bus staff, front desk, drivers, Rupert on the croquet court, all make your stay superb. They don't build hotels like this anymore. So go there and make yourself at home, and then be treated like family and return, time and time again. Thank you all again for another "welcome home" vacation. We will return. You are simply, the best!

Room Tip: We stayed directly on the beach this time and loved it! On the beach wing and the view was beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Jamaica Inn is one of the most charming, romantic and beautiful hotels I've stayed in for a long time. The rooms are super comfortable with little touches like iced water, fresh flowers and washing powder making a difference. The manageress is an exceptional hostess and leant a very personal touch to the place. I had an outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea and could hear the waves crashing at night. Instead of windows there are wooden slats that one can leave open if not too worried about privacy. This meant that in the evening some noise could be heard from the carpark but not bad at all. The only negative point would be the slow and intermittent wi-fi in the room. If you have the cash - the presidential suite is aaammmmaaazzing. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindalazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had been to Ocho Rios in July to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. This place was outstanding. We were in the room with a private patio overlooking the sea. It was amazing! The other facilities are also very good. We went to the SPA twice and it was a bliss! Hope to visit this resort again. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Advisor7118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.3 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing