We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem that never waivers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A gem that never waivers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I had our honeymoon at this hotel 35 years ago. We think the world is a grand place that needs to be explored and never go to the same place twice. But this hotel is our only exception. We have returned time and time again.
Why? Because of the staff. They can read your mind and are attentive when needed and leave you alone when that is appropriate. Many are so dear to us, we think of them as family. You cannot stay at this Inn and not totally unwind and relax. The Inn is one-of-a-kind in this age of mega hotel chains with impersonal service. It is old world charm and grace with a beautiful beach that is raked every morning (trust me, I get up early and see Chris and Albert out there working so hard clearing the entire beach!), stunning gardens, polished tile floors, history whispers in the library, the best breakfast with freshly baked breads, pastries, coffee and tropical fruits, served on your private terrace, comfortable beach chairs with plenty of shade, antique filled guest rooms with a housekeeping staff that deserves an award themselves for what they do. The waiters, bartenders, bus staff, front desk, drivers, Rupert on the croquet court, all make your stay superb. They don't build hotels like this anymore. So go there and make yourself at home, and then be treated like family and return, time and time again. Thank you all again for another "welcome home" vacation. We will return. You are simply, the best!

Room Tip: We stayed directly on the beach this time and loved it! On the beach wing and the view was beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    110
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
796
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Jamaica Inn is one of the most charming, romantic and beautiful hotels I've stayed in for a long time. The rooms are super comfortable with little touches like iced water, fresh flowers and washing powder making a difference. The manageress is an exceptional hostess and leant a very personal touch to the place. I had an outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea and could hear the waves crashing at night. Instead of windows there are wooden slats that one can leave open if not too worried about privacy. This meant that in the evening some noise could be heard from the carpark but not bad at all. The only negative point would be the slow and intermittent wi-fi in the room. If you have the cash - the presidential suite is aaammmmaaazzing. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindalazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had been to Ocho Rios in July to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. This place was outstanding. We were in the room with a private patio overlooking the sea. It was amazing! The other facilities are also very good. We went to the SPA twice and it was a bliss! Hope to visit this resort again. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Advisor7118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Probably the best service from a hotel ever. The owners met us several times upon arrival and departure. The cottages on the water were amazing. The spa is set on the cliffs of the ocean and provides an unbelievable experience. nirvana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevewarrenalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wrote this on Facebook on the eve of our wedding anniversary and i wanted to share my message to Jamaica Inn with readers on Tripadvisor:

Dear Jamaica Inn,
Just a quick note to say "thank you" for such beautiful memories.
Our wedding on November 12, 2009 was absolutely perfect and our memories of that day will last forever.
We miss you all - take care of each other.
Regards,
Shirley and David Barran



Reply: Jamaica Inn

Dear Shirley & David,
It is so wonderful to hear from you!
We hope all is well in Toronto.
You are most welcome. It was an absolute pleasure taking care of you for your special day!
Your Jamaica Inn Family misses you and we hope to welcome you home soon.

This review is so long over due -
Jamaica Inn is the absolute best. This hotel is really a home away from home and you are treated like family from the moment you arrive. We loved our stay and cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBarrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

After passing Sandy on the way down to Jamaica, we arrived at J.I. to the same great services and smiling faces as usual. They are a true team, effectively working together to ensure their guests are provided the same high level of service, hurricane or not. Same amazing services, great food and people. This place is top-notch. Dedication to services, but not stuffy.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, beach and water overlook rooms are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Jamaica Inn is my favourite hotel in Jamaica and the Caribbean bar none.

It has been a successful hotel for years and years, and other hotels around clammer to find out "what is the secret of the success there?"

Well the secret is - a beautiful location with a wow of a beach, large and spacious rooms that are tastefully decorated and kept up, staff trained in a highly unobtrusive manner (which you will only find at TOP hotels around the world....if you see staff and management "chatting up to guests too much, be warned, this is not a top notch hotel!!), excellent, award winning gourmet food, a delectable afternoon tea (famous), old world glamour, etc. etc.

I believe it is perfect for a honeymoon, family vacation, anniversary or just weekend with your loved one.

The kudos are owed to the past GM who had the most eagle eye around, and the current GM, Mary - who ensures she is there 24/7 and has given her life to the hotel - as well as the owners, Eric and Belinda Morrow who also have great taste.

Don't hesitate to think about "where to stay in Ocho Rios or Jamaica" if you are looking for an outstanding experience all around.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of beach are lovely, but also try the newly renovated villas too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMP1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.3 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing