We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always as expected -- amazing!”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I are experienced travelers and have been guests at Jamaica Inn numerous times, and are NEVER disappointed in the service, and beauty of the inn. Mary Philips is an amazing GM and the under-the-radar elegance of this place is pure magic. The service is unparalleled, the food is sublime and the verve is incredible. Every day the weather on the terrace is incredible, as if you almost dare it it be less than perfect. If you want flash, it's not here, if you want dash, well this is extremely dashing, and you feel like nobility here. On a low key elegant vacation. Enjoy mon.

Room Tip: the churchill suite is to die and go to heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank karenkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jamaica Inn was fabulous. We were met by Mary, the General Manager, and her two adorable dogs. The greeting was warm and welcoming. We were then given a quick tour of the property and taken to our room.

Room: The room was so lovely. The room itself was simple, but very nice. (no t.v. - no clock) The bed was extremely comfortable.

Veranda: The room opened up to a beautiful veranda, which was huge, with louvered doors. The outdoor living space was the highlight of the room, with an incredible view of the beach and sea. The landscape around the veranda was lush - banana trees, and lots of greenery. (Unfortunately, there were also a lot of mosquitos, but they are indiginous to that environment)

Food and Drinks: The food was good, not great. The menu was overpriced for what it was, but decent. They had a nice selection. Maybe the all-inclusive option is better?? I do believe they have an all-inclusive plan, but as I'm pregnant, it didn't make sense for us, since I wasn't drinking alcohol. Meals, when requested, were delivered right to the balcony/veranda, so nobody had to walk through the room, which was nice. (very romantic to eat in the privicy of your room/veranda) Oh, you could also have lunch delivered to you on the beach!

Beach / Grounds: The beach and grounds were immaculate. The beach is intimate and secluded... so peaceful and gorgeous. There are plenty of chairs, palapas, and beach towels. The water was warm like bath water! The pool was also like bath water, and well maintained. The landscape everywhere was beautiful. We got a kick out of seeing almond trees, banana trees, coconut treas, and sea grape trees!

Ambiance: The resort is laid back, but quite elegant. It felt very secluded and private. It is the perfect place for complete R&R. The staff is extremely friendly, and make it a point to call you by name.

Just an FYI - Most people fly into Montego Bay, which is an 1-1/2 hrs from Ocho Rios. We made the mistake of taking a shuttle to the resort, which took us almost 4 hours, as they make several drops along the way. A private taxi is approximately $135, and well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Trance4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I loved loved loved this property! Gorgeous sand raked beaches-check, small intimate romantic ambiance-check, beautiful ocean views from clean well appointed rooms- check!
Lovely breakfast and dinner as well, only negative not a lot of food options and no access to tv or wifi. Excellent for a romantic get-away.
Spa was adequate, sky massage much better!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamaicaInn, Director of Sales at Jamaica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We would like to thank the reviewer for their lovely review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was great to have you here. Just to clarify, we have a TV room that is available at any time and if we have any major event sporting etc. we have a TV on in our main bar. Also, we have complimentary wireless internet available in all of our rooms and in our library area. We apologize if the reviewer was not made aware of this and hope that they are able to make use of these facilities on their next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

all the staff from bartenders , maids , resturant staff , playmakers , people at the front desk ! To managers to planning our next trip ! Everyone was wonderful n very pleasant to be around ! We got married at the resort n the wedding was amazin ! Wedding planner was also very wonderful ! We had an awesome time n will recommend the resort to anyone ! The entainment was also amazin ! Our whole trip was memorable ! We will miss all of you ! We couldn't have asked for a more welcome 2nd family ! Thanks so much , winter n robert younger

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassidy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After staying as several up-scale hotels and resorts in Jamaica, my wife and I found our favorite place to relax and decompress. Jamaica Inn is a boutique hotel is large enough to provide plenty of space, including a large private beach and swimming area, and yet small enough that you don't feel part of a herd. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed (though with no TV, which appeals to us) and each has a excellent view of the ocean. The service is superb, as is the food. The SPA was among the best we've visited. Once you enter the compound, you don't want to leave. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The main building has only two levels and faces north. The rooms in the middle on the second level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent hotel with lots of old world charm. Stayed in one of the waterfront cottages with its own infinity pool and steps going down to the Caribbean. Grounds and buildings are well maintained and the staff is wonderful. The general manager (Mary) is very friendly and goes out of her way to be sure you are comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank HermanMerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had planned this trip, our wedding and honeymoon here for several years. We were both hoping it would live up to the excellent ratings. We were not disappointed! Car service from the airport was very good. No crazy ride for us and a red stripe to boot! Once we arrived, it was like walking out into paradise. We were greeted and treated exceptionally well from the beginning. It almost makes you feel as though you are the only ones there. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. The private beach...glorious. Watching the boats from the Sandals resort nearby, stop in front of the Jamaica Inn to talk about its beach and history gave us a thrill...as though we had something that they didn't...and we did!!! The views from any room were excellent. We choose the beach wing verandah suite and we literally jumped the verandah onto the sandy beach. These suites are slightly more secluded than some of the other suites and perfect for us. Food...excellent and presented so well that it made you not want to eat it because it looked THAT good. You can choose to eat your meals in the dining area, on the beach or on your verandah. We loved that we could choose something different every day. For our marriage ceremony, it was just the two of us. We were allowed to use the point and White Suite because it was not rented that evening and it was everything we wanted. A couple of things that weren't perfect, but didn't bother us, were that the photographer that the Inn assigned to us was very pushy, intrusive and really only allowed us to take posed photographs. Another small issue was that my color scheme was dark blue and Ivory...and my flowers were literally beautiful white flowers spray painted a medium blue. Not that pretty and when you consider the foliage and beautiful blue flowers right there at the Inn, I was a little disappointed. So be specific if you are getting flowers. Also, the Jamaican Rum cake was good...very good. But not great. They also had a spray painted flower on top of it....we didn't sweat those little things but if you are a picky bride, make sure you are specific. I am sure they would have corrected this, had I asked. Would I go again. Absolutely! We spent 9 days there and if we could do it every year, we would! We would go nowhere else in Jamaica.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, there is nothing better than the white suite for it's views, privacy and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $351 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing