We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour and overall experience!”

Yaaman Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Food & Drink in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have something very special stored for our adventure enthusiasts as we are a 18th Century Estate agricultural property full of rich history and culture sceneries. Formerly known as Prospect Plantation, Yaaman Adventure Park invites you to grab a front row seat to partake in a true adventure with mother nature, and all of the memorable activities that we have to offer in Jamaica. Fasten your seatbelt and prepare to feel the excitement on the mud buggy ride! Enjoy an Open-Aired Carriage Ride, and become an expert local chef. Hop on Horseback Riding adventure, ride on a camel, and swim with dolphins.
Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and overall experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked this tour based on the camel ride offered at the end of the tour. We weren't sure we were going to enjoy the tour of the plantation, but it was a rainy day, and seemed the perfect excursion. We were wrong! First of all, ask for Donovan as your tour guide. The man missed his calling as a comedian and absolutely made the tour. We learned so much of the history of the Plantation, got to try raw coconut, drink coconut water, and so much more. The camel ride at the end was a once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend this tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fletchlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The tour to Prospect Plantation was very interesting. Andrew, our guide, showed us and described the many trees and flora as well as some history with a bit of humor. We enjoyed the demonstration of the various fruits of Jamaica. We also toured the plantation house and remarkable gardens that surround it. The views of the north coast were amazing from the gardens. The jitney ride with "Silver' at the wheel moved us through the plantation at nice pace. Katy the camel was a photo favorite - seemed like she was a 'ham' and enjoyed the picture taking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sodakNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Was a good trip around the plantation, but would have liked a bit more of the history of the Plantation itself. Excellent views, but house visit not very exciting. Lovely talk on the fruits of the island with a coconut tree climbing demo and chance to taste some fruits with a guide with excellent dry sense of humour! We didn't opt for camel ride as not sure this is really their natural habitat and seemed very touristy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JillSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little bit of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went to the plantation expecting some of the plantation history, which we did get via a tractor drawn carriage. Our guide, Andrew, explained the history of the plantation very well, pointing out the local trees and why they were used. The plantation house itself was a bit of a disappointment, but the views were spectacular. We saw one of the workers climb a coconut tree, and he explained about the different fruits. You could also have a camel ride if you wanted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeremySpanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Prospect Plantation tour was an excellent excursion. Our guide Donovan was very funny and made the tour so much fun. The estate was very lush and the view from the house incredible. We sampled fresh coconut with brown sugar and it was wonderful. Coconut will never taste the same again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaaman Adventure Park also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Yaaman Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing