We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good tour!!!”

Yaaman Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Food & Drink in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have something very special stored for our adventure enthusiasts as we are a 18th Century Estate agricultural property full of rich history and culture sceneries. Formerly known as Prospect Plantation, Yaaman Adventure Park invites you to grab a front row seat to partake in a true adventure with mother nature, and all of the memorable activities that we have to offer in Jamaica. Fasten your seatbelt and prepare to feel the excitement on the mud buggy ride! Enjoy an Open-Aired Carriage Ride, and become an expert local chef. Hop on Horseback Riding adventure, ride on a camel, and swim with dolphins.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good tour!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The plantation tour of Prospect Plantation is around a 1 1/2 hr tour via tractor pulled cart. Our guide Jackson was very knowledgeable and hilarious, he kept us laughing and smiling all the way. It is a lovely, lush estate with lots of history. With a wonderful view over the lush jungle down to the ocean. The guides hit on just about every aspect of Jamaican life; one even climbed a coconut palm like a monkey. Lovely old house with antique furniture, interesting history.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Volker T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    10
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing, little real information shared; could have been so much more”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Billed as a tour of a working 18th-century plantation, my wife and I were hopeful that we'd get some insight into the reality of agriculture on, you know, an 18th-century Jamaican plantation. Unfortunately it failed for us in that regard nearly completely. From reading these reviews we knew that it wasn't truly a working plantation, but we didn't realize how little actual information would be provided.

Our guide, Donovan, spent at least 50% of his time making bad jokes that got old VERY quickly, a couple of which were pointed toward a young teen girl on the tour and were borderline creepy. He provided no insight into farming or harvesting techniques of the crops that were actually grown on the plantation when it was a working plantation. He provided no insight into the type of worker who might have been working a plantation like this one, or what their working conditions or daily life might have looked like. He provided no insights into the economics of the trade the plantation at one point participated in. He mentioned that the plantation looked totally different when it was being actively farmed (it's all mostly forest/jungle now) but didn't elaborate in his description or point out much in the way of historical points of interest on the plantation aside from the main house. We would have liked to hear things like: "here's where the workers lived; this whole area was full of fields of x crop and workers had harvest it and move it by hand over to this barn for storage, where it needed to be dried using x technique". Things like that. We heard none of this. I assume the plantation was worked by slaves but maybe they were hired workers or indentured servants or something; whatever the case, it was never described or talked about.

There were a few small fields of crops that Donovan would point out and identify and offer a brief bit of info about the crop (I learned that pineapple plants produce just one fruit per year, for instance). At one point we stopped to get a closer look at a variety of tropical fruits, see a man climb a coconut tree, and get a taste of coconut. This was a decent overview of some local fruits, though none of these items were things that had anything to do with the Plantation itself. The man who climbed the coconut tree was very odd and kept mumbling lots of stereotypical jamaican-y "witticisms" under his breath ("that's right mon", "dontcha know mon") while Donovan was talking about the fruits. It appeared to be his schtick in order to try to elicit tips but it felt fake, was distracting, and did not charm us.

If you're expecting an experience that's even remotely like a Colonial Williamsburg or something similar, don't. Because it's not even close. A couple times Donovan mentioned that the plantation was owned by a particular family for a long stretch and they farmed all-spice, so I tried to follow up with a question along the lines of "during what years was this plantation owned by them and when was that farming done?" and he was unable to answer that or even give an approximate year range. Trust me, it wasn't a "gotcha" question.

The best aspect of the tour was when Donovan let us off at the main house of the plantation. The house tour was pretty short, but the woman leading it provided much better information about the family, house, and surrounding gardens. We still didn't get a good sense of what life was like at the house, but there was more content here than anywhere else on the tour. The gardens and the house were beautiful, and it was cool to see that the house was originally built as a bit of a fort. The house was a definite bright spot.

Another bright spot was a stop at a scenic overlook where you could see a river down below (I think it was the white river, though I could be wrong). Donovan pointed out some area where squatters either do or used-to live (it wasn't clear) and told us a bit about a hydro-electric power plant that was erected in the valley to provide power to most of the parish. It had little to do with the plantation itself but it at least provided some context and historical narrative.

I don't think it's useful to think of this as a tour of an 18th-century plantation, it's instead a display of a few items that Prospect Plantation thinks will be interesting to tourists, including: ostriches, camels, bees, tropical fruits, and a small mixed drink. None of the above have anything to do with this having once been an 18th century plantation, and most having nothing to do with Jamaica. I actually asked Donovan about whether the camels or ostriches had any special significance to the plantation and he said "the tourists like them". By the way, even if you are actually dying to see ostriches or camels you're not going to get a good look at them or learn anything about them. We barely slowed down for any of them and certainly no information was provided about them.

Incidentally, some of the grounds are now used as a preparatory school. The bit of information we got about this school and the way the Jamaican school system works was pretty interesting. I would have enjoyed hearing more about the school and/or seeing some of its grounds (I'm not sure how possible that would be since the school still needs to function as a school). Whatever the case, we appreciated the chance to get a small insight into "real Jamaican life" and I'd encourage the management at Prospect Plantation to consider incorporating more information about the good work that appears to be going on at the school.

Prospect Plantation has beautiful grounds that (I assume) are rich with history. Unfortunately it's been turned into a fairly pointless tourist-trap. My recommendation: don't waste your time or money on this one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank azinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very informative. Lovely House, lovely garden, lovely grounds and the staff are excellent!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

You really learn about Jamaica's history, not to be missed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aine-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Camels were awesome! Yaah Man!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This tour is about one hour ride from Falmouth each way. Royal Caribbean does not offer this tour. We booked it on the internet including transportation. We left Falmouth about 11:00 am ship time and our tour guide made sure we were back by 4:00 pm. If you want to see old world Jamaica,this is a must do tour. You will ride a Jitney (open air carriage ride pulled by a tractor. The personnel are friendly and accomodating. You will make stops and see the pineapple grove, sugar cane field, Cocunut cultivating and a tour of the Plantation House overlooking the Bay.You will be amazed at how many famous people have been to this plantation and the variety of trees on the property.We went June 12 and you are almost always in the shade and we had no bug problem. The camels were awesome as were the two Camel Caretakers. The camels were well behaved, did not smell and you could tell they loved there Caretakers and are well taken care of.
Each of us rode a Camel. It was a fun ride. Stopped many times and they took pictures for us. You might even find the video on facebook. It is a little off the well publicized tourist attractions, but the boats do not always have the best tours.Yaah man!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinopurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaaman Adventure Park also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Yaaman Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing