We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the waiter....”

Rainforest Adventures Jamaica
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.98*
and up
Jamaica Bobsledding Tour
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A must on the list of places to explore and activities to enjoy in Jamaica, the eco-friendly Mystic Mountain, 2010 Tourism Excellence award-winner for Ocho Rios attractions, is an unforgettable rainforest adventure for everyone in your family. A trip to Mystic Mountain in Ocho Rios, St Ann, could take you towering as much as 700 feet above the rainforest above the picturesque shoreline, affording you a captivating bird's-eye view of the town, cruise-ship pier and turquoise waters as far away as St Mary. If you prefer, you could choose to zip line among the trees or bobsled down the mountain meandering in-between shrubs and trees.The rainforest tour, which is spread over 100 acres of lush lands and rated among the best experiences to have in Jamaica, provides you with an up-close glimpse and thrilling experience in a Jamaican rainforest near the beach. Plus, it gives you the chance to explore your adventurous side on one of four activities, including the SkyExplorer, the Bobsled Ride, the Canopy Zip Line and the unique Mystic Waterslide.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arkyland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only the waiter....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Bob sled was great! Zip line could've been a bit steeper... was rather tame, almost boring, but at least our guides were entertaining. And the Skylift was relaxing with wonderful views of the sea and flora and fauna of Jamaica.
However, Melvin the waiter in the restaurant and the mysterious half cooked meat that was on a 'hamburger' keeps this from getting a full excellent review. Our Tranopy Tour on August 23, 2013 was to include a lunch of either jerk chicken or a burger. The burger meat was very thin yet undercooked and looked suspiciously like some mixture of things other things than beef. None of us ate it. Had to ask 'Melvin' 3 times for refills on our soft drinks, yes he acknowledged us, finally we got up and went to the bar to get them ourselves, only to find out they were $3 each. Only ONE glass of soda was included with the meal, no free refills, but that wasn't mentioned by anyone until we were asked to pay for them.
Been there, done that. Won't visit the restaurant IF we return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Star R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,441
    660
    213
    42
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Can be arranged via your tour group or just ruck up on the day via your own transport.
It's all about the money, bring lots

Go early before the groups of tourist arrive!!! Definitely ensure you do it on the day the cruise ship is not in Ocho Rios!

The ski lift up to the top of the mountain is quite leisurely and you can see Ocho rios bay. I believe tower 11 is where camera is mounted for photos of you which will be ready for you when you reach the top. (Ker Ching $$$)

The first thing we went on was the bob sleighs excellent fun (height restriction apply , but they were relaxed ) however you can tether one car to another so your child can ride in one behind yours and you control the speed.
Tip ... Go fast as you can and it is fun. The tour entry only allowed for one ride. We bought a few more "gold" rides you cannot only have 1 ride you will want more. (Ker Ching $$$) remember also photos are taken and optional.

Zip wire over the tree tops, fantastic time with the staff and the children. You may have to wait as the zip wire is set off in groups. So be early and avoid the queue and waits. It was over all too quickly but great fun.

Bring your swimwear with you as you will want to swim in the pool with the amazing water slide.
The kids loved it, the view of Ocho Rios was exceptional from both the pool and the restaurant, the food was ok but not exceptional.

We did not have time to do the walk or spend time looking for the hummingbird, Jamaica's national bird

Excellent day for the family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun but short ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

dont book this through your resort, get a taxi and pay for the attractions at Mystic mountain on site. we got ripped off through our resort. anyway, the bobsled is fun but short ride, over in like 1 minute. folks are very nice at Mystic Mountain, i would recommend you do it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Voorheeskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you're scared of heights then don't be put off going up mystic mountain. The chair lift is a little nerve racking but once up there the views are spectacular and there's so much to do. Our boys loved the bobsled and insisted on having another go. The pool is delightful and the waterslide is great fun. Get there before lunch and have some jerk chicken in the restaurant overlooking Ocho Rios-magical. Thanks again to Errol Bowen from Travel Jamaica Tours for recommending and taking us to such an awesome place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Way overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great time doing the Tranopy tour of Mystic Mountain. It is a once in a lifetime sort of thing. But the bobsled takes about 45 seconds and the zipline takes about 30 minutes. For $150 a person this excursion is way overpriced. I think Mystic Mountain should consider allowing Tranopy purchasers to do unlimited bobsled. This may have made the excursion a better deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepy832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Adventures Jamaica also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Rainforest Adventures Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing