We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time with KnowJamaica!”
Review of Know Jamaica Tours

Know Jamaica Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Know Jamaica Tours: we are the best transportation /tour guide provider throughout the entire island of Jamaica, there are others around no doubt, however if you really want the best where you are guaranteed value for your dollar don't hesitate to look Us up! Yah Mon we operate from all resorts throughout Jamaica and from all cruise ship ports. Booking with us is easy as 1, 2, 3!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Time with KnowJamaica!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are a family of 5 that visited Ocho Rios during a cruise on the NCL Pearl. After reading the many positive reviews I had booked the Dunn's River and River Tubing tour through Marva's website. After booking on-line Marva contacted us right away through email and gave instructions on how to meet at the port. After we docked we went to the port as directed and met Carlene, our guide. Carlene was excellent and we had a great time. Dunn's River was really fun and the River Tubing was awesome. She also brought us to a nice, safe spot for lunch and shopping. We ended our day at Mohagany Beach, which was small but a nice spot to spend an hour swimming and relaxing. Carlene was very flexible and let us map out how we wanted to spend time. Marva went out of her way to come and meet us at lunch. I would highly recommend Marva and her team. I found them to be reliable, knowledgeable, and made our day in Jamaica a really fun time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Theojohn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    21
    8
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro brazil
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Javia Shaw showed us the real Jamaica, took great photos, shopping , beaches...
I weoud like to thank them.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank s0ut0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Grace is just Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just returned from a Carnival cruise to Ocho Rios and other ports. I found KnowJamaica through this internet source and was totally pleased with this tour!
Our guide Amazing Grace made our tour the best we could have asked for.
Marva met us immediately at our requested hour of debarking our ship and introduced us to Grace.
I had visited Ocho Rios a few years ago, and chose to just laze at one of the beaches. This trip with my friends and husband I had wanted to see more of the Island.
I had some ideas of where we wanted to go, Grace supplied the rest.

We went up to Spice Mountain, looked in on Dunn's River Falls and went to the beautiful botanical gardens. She drove us into neighborhoods to see the true life of the people of Jamaica and was so informative on all aspects of culture and spirit of Jamaican people.

This made our trip to the Caribbean- we were amazing at her kind and patient ways. Amazing Grace is justly knick named!

Don't hesitate to use Knowjamaica for any tour- they are just wonderful to deal with and try to reserve your time with Amazing Grace!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beschroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The only way to go!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just got back from a cruise which ported one day in Jamaica. We hired KnowJamaica Tours ahead of time to be our trasportation/tour guide for the day. The bus was on time and very clean. "J" was our driver and he was great!! We were able to fit in everything we wanted to do and he even took us to a great little coffee shop while others in our group were visiting Rose Hall across the road. I would suggest know jamaica tours to anyone visiting the Island and will use them again if we return in the future.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Stampinerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Know Way Better to See Jamaica”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

WOW, GREAT, and THANK YOU, We can't say enough about the amazing day we had with Knowjamaica tours. I saw all the reviews and had to check into it and shortly afterward got a phone call back from Marva and she helped us with all the details. Our son is only 5 1/2 and only 46" high; so that unfortunately stopped us from going to many of the attractions (Mystic Mountain, zip lining, etc.). So we were looking for a tour company that would first come to our resort (Breezes Trelawney) near Falmouth and go at our schedule. We were unsure how our 5 1/2 yr. old would affect a full day excursion; we went from 8:30am to 5:30pm to the Ocho Rios area. Marva gave us some great suggestions and helped us tailor the tour best for us. We wanted a mix of the touristy places to go, the adventure things to do, to see some culture and meet some of the wonderful people of Jamaica. We got all this and so much more; our driver: Javia and knowjamaica made us feel so safe and secure. Javia gave us so many facts and trivia about the sights we saw as well as taking us to places we didn't expect. The one thing we realized quickly is that if you go off the main highways, you need to have a PHD in driving (Pot hole dodging), and trust me the drivers from Knowjamaica know how to drive like no one my husband or I had seen. If you don't read all this review please read about Lulu and the view point we were taken to at the end; we won't forget it.
The day started out with our driver "Javia" being there before we were, even though we were actually early; he met us with his huge smile and asked if we were "Irie" and ready for the day which my son replied "Ya Man" We were first planning to do Dunn's River Falls at the end of the day, but after some consideration, thought it might be better at the start of the day when our son would be fresher. Javia agreed and took us there first, of course with some beautiful view point's/photo stops along the way. He also took us to a wholesale place where we could buy a variety of things (it's where the locals go); we mostly wanted rum and Tia. Looking back I wish I bought more as it was the cheapest place we found the whole week; believe it or not the next cheapest was the airport for liquor.
When we got to Dunn's River Fall's, Javia walked us down to the entrance, thankfully as we only brought our American Express card (we had left everything else in the van) and they don't take it there. Javia made sure we were on our way and told us where to meet us when we were done. This was our second trip to Dunn's River Falls and is definitely a must see. Our son did the whole hike up the falls which is a 600 meter climb on somewhat slippery rocks (don't forget your water shoes) and some cold water. Please note* (he wasn't the only child there was 2 others, one younger and one older, both got carried at some point by their parents; so you have to know your child if this would be right for them). The guides were great but you usually get 2 guides and each expect to be tipped separately; so remember that at the end. You will also get someone videotaping your experience; the cost when we went was $40. Our tip is if you're going to want the video, be at the middle to end of line, you get more time on the video. Our last tip is watch out for the crafter's market, they were the most aggressive/pushy vendors we met over the week, even to the point of asking our son his name and carving it into a wooden sting ray before we could say stop - then wanted to charge us $35US; either be ready for them or buy elsewhere. When we were all done, there was Javia just waiting for us with a smile and asking if we had a good time, which our son replied again "Ya Man".
We were then quite hungry after our hike, so Javia took us to "Ocho RIos Jerk Centre" for lunch; awesome "Jerk" we had the mixed plate.
After lunch we reminded Javia that we wanted to go to a school, so that Ethan could see some children from Jamaica his own age and see what their school is like. This is one part of the day we will never forget; the principal welcomed us with open arms, the children grabbed our legs and were yelling "Tourists, Tourists"; and the teachers are amazing. The printing we saw the 5 year old children doing was better than what I was seeing with the grade 2's back home. The school gets minimal funding and often gets a lot of their supplies from the tourists. We brought: pens, pencils, scribblers, markers, scissors, erasers, glue, colored paper, etc. The only thing we didn't bring enough of was crayons, paint supplies and age appropriate reading books.
We thought we would have time to tubing and Dolphin's Cove but realized very quickly that we wouldn't; so we chose to do just the tubing as we knew our son would love it. So we were then taken to great tubing company on the white river, by this point we were ready for a rum punch and a beer which they had there and we were lucky as it was a quieter time and we were the only ones so we got a private tubing trip and our guide "Vivian" had a great voice and guided us down perfectly. We got to stop half way where they had someone take our picture (which we could buy if we liked); buy some crafts or a cold beer. They also had a swing and rope for our son to play on. You could have the choice there of the bamboo rafts or the tubes; if you have children or want a more exciting ride, pick the tubes (no worries though, it's still not that fast either way and the tubes have a bottom on them so you don't fall through).
Our last two visits (or so we thought) was a bank in Ocho Rios and to see Margaritaville. All I can say is that Javia is an expert driver, OMG you don't see crazy drivers until you've driven in downtown Ocho Rios. If you go to any bank, make sure you bring your identification (a driver's license will do). Margaritaville is in a mall like atmosphere with some great shops on the way. Margaritaville is a bit expensive but you kind of expect that, but so worth as least one person having a margarita while you're there. Our son loved the water slide, which was quite long but there was life guards and jackets so everything was quite safe. Margartaville has a beach that the locals use and you can see a bauxite storage facility and boat piers. We thought our day was done, but Javia and knowjamaica had one last surprise.
We were taken up in the hills south of Ocho Rios, to a beautiful viewpoint of Ocho Rios where we got to meet "Lulu" (a great coconut carver). He was just sitting on brick wall just carving coconuts. He had fresh coconut beside him which he offered to my son, Javia ate some and offered it to us first and our son then went to eat the whole coconut that was left - he loved it. He asked our son if he wanted to try carving in the coconut husk and with help did one line in a bird. Lulu told us he was carving a bird feeder and that he would have it done when we were done checking out the view. What a view it was, so beautiful and a nice walk. When we came back (maybe 15mins later), Lulu had this beautiful bird feeder out of a coconut and husk, with 3 birds on it. Yes we bought it, probably one of the nicest things we bought on our trip and we saw it being made. Afterwards Lulu opened a new coconut for our son to drink the milk and showed him how he carves down a new coconut. What a great end to the day. We still had the drive back to our hotel, with the views of the lush country side and hills with limestone markings. Overall a day at our own pace (which was quite busy), with amazing scenery and a phenomenal host. We would recommend Knowjamaica tours to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MB2andE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Know Jamaica Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Know Jamaica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing