We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst!”

Market in Ocho Rios
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.99*
and up
Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour
More Info
$50.99*
and up
Ocho Rios Highlights Tour
More Info
$170.00*
and up
Blue Hole and Ocho Rios Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #42 of 68 things to do in Ocho Rios
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I swear all your going to here is...
"come to my shop, Let me show you" and the next guy "No, come to my shop it's different, let me show you"...But all the shops will have the same products...You better haggle because everything is over priced and sometimes cheaper at the hotel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sirr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    48
    98
    52
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't be intimidated!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's a bit overwhelming. You're the only blonde, white female for miles around, and suddenly you're in the middle of the very noisy market, with locals trying to sell you everything from souvenirs, to fruit, to flip-flops. It's certainly not the worst market I've been in, but not the best either. I bought some honey from a friendly rasta guy, but it tasted a bit like rum flavoured honey - probably because it came in an old rum bottle!!! You need to be a tough cookie in this market!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not for the timid”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

If you get nervous from super pushy and aggressive local vendors, then beware. These people seem to think all tourists are rich and try to sell you as much as possible. Never accept the asking price. You can usually get stuff for a lot cheaper. It also helps if you want to bundle items to get a better deal. A lot of the stuff there is allegedly "homemade"; however, I saw the same stuff in various resort shops. Some vendors appeared to have legit homemade items. Usually wood carvings/crafts. Each vendor will want you to buy something, so browse around first and be blunt either them if you're not interested. Don't be bullied into wasting your money. If so, you'll blow all your money within a few minutes. Don't let them see how much money you have. Try separating your money into small groups in different pockets so you can easily say "that's all the money I have". It was neat to "shop" off resort, but it was still a tourist trap and not as authentic as it could be.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No place for new tourists.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went on a shopping trip here, the local craft flea market people are realy aggressive, selling a lot of iffy items, only go there if you are tough and can handle this kind of sales practice. We went across the street to the shops instead, were a lot better, but they all sell the same things. This a pretty dumpy part of town, so watch your money and valuables.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shopping”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The market area has lots of options for buying gifts and nick-nacks but the locals can be pretty aggressive with the selling techniques. Some of them basically put stuff in your hand without you even asking to see it. Bargaining is not only acceptable but completely expected. Usually they'll take less than half of whatever the asking price is. If they say $50 then it's probably worth $15 to $20.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market in Ocho Rios also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Market in Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing