We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When my husband and I went with our friend to Scotchie,s he told me to try the fish since I don,t eat meat that often. He said it was really good so I did, my husband tried a bite and was going to get a second helping he said when he looked I was eating the plate ( I don,t usually eat everything on my plate) this was one of the best meals I have ever eaten

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,159
    770
    248
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food - hot jerk”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A typical for Jamaica eating spot that was little more than an outdoor grill with some tables, the food was excellent and the price reasonable. Others in the group felt the jerk was not "authentic". I honestly didn't even try the jerk sauce as it was way too spicy hot. But the chicken and the pork were moist and wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Best jerk chicken on the planet! You must visit this restaurant during your visit to Ocho Rios, Jamaica. Food was really good and cheap!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jerk Heaven”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Best Jerk chicken/pork on the island....by far!!! Very close to the resort and you could walk if you had the mind to. I ran every morning along this route and felt save every time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjsback9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our tour guide took us to this restaurant and said they are the best restaurants in Jamaica. The jerk chicken was wonderful, cooked over logs in a firepit, and you have to try festival pastries that went so well with the meal!! So good! We visited the restaurant while on a cruise and my teenage sons felt this was the best food we had on the whole trip! We are still talking about our experience there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisha44Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing