We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best Jerk ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best Jerk ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

All I can say it please go and try; it is the best thing Jamaica offers
There is a great selection and the prices are reasonable
Authentic mouth watering food

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VannyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,934
    687
    226
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“For pescetarians, it's decent, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the fish at Scotchie's and it was ok. It had a little seasoning, but definitely not robust and bursting with jerk flavor. I think I've had better jerk fish in Africa. The fish was grilled in aluminum foil, so it was not prepared the way the other jerk items were, grilled and seasoned whole over an open flame atop a huge hickory log which adds extra flavor during the grilling process. We were expecting a whole fish with with jerk season cooked into the fish on an open flame, marinated and continuously slathered with jerk sauce atop a hickory log, but what we got was some jerk seasoning placed on top of a fish filet, steamed inside the foil on top of the grill or flame. Not the same!! The chicken looked like it was being done right, but I can not attest to that. The fish was definitely decent, but not anything to call home about. However, I think the chicken or pork will probably taste better since it was being prepared like we expected the fish would.

I would suggest going for the experience. it's not terribly expensive, the food tastes ok and you can take a picture for your memories. Other than that, for pescetarians, I would pass

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neesa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The atmosphere is lovely and the food is delicious. One of the best places for real Jamaican jerk :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best jerk around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

There was nothing I did not like about this restaurant. It has beautiful grounds and the food is to die for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaspan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Everybody at our resort recommended this place for the best jerked chicken in Montego Bay our driver also agreed and took us there. We had the jerked chicken out was delicious. The service was great and very authentic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Akmckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing