We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good, go at night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good, go at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Get every appetizer on the menu and two kinds of meat, plus two drinks for less than US $20. The food is legit and the bar & grill is right on the beach, giving it a cool vibe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,935
    687
    226
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SALEM, MA
Level Contributor
218 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Bang Bang Lulu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sorry can't get song out of my head when I think of Scotchies. Band was playing as we were drinking our Red Stripe..

Jerk chicken? Good could have been moister and a little spicier
Red Stripe? Cold
Band? Fun
Weather? Warm
Pumpkin Soup? Spicy and to die for.
Presentation? Really? Wrapped up in tin foil? We were eating it there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RUDIMAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome jerk pork!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Only 5 minutes away from the Jewel/Riu resorts. Get a cab and grab some great food! The jerk pork was amazing (and I'm not a pork fan). Half a chicken, 1/4 lb of pork, some rice and beans and two beers were $20.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TG1982R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Scotchies is a really cute Jamaican restaurant. A lot of tourists come here so I'm glad to say we have been there. I did find the chicken to be pretty dry and kinda flavorless. The prices are great and its really neat to see how they make jerk chicken here. Beware of the really spice sauce. I would try it again although it was a big bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claylex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really great Jerk Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were on a shopping excursion to Ocho Rios and our driver recommended Scotchie’s as a great place for some authentic Jamaican food. We were there on a weekday and the place was very busy. It's all outdoors, with a Jamaican village theme and huge barbecue fires roasting jerk chicken, pork and fish. You order everything a la carte and it's quite delicious. It's set back a bit off the road and not signed well but make sure you go if visiting Ocho Rios. You haven't experienced Jamaican Jerk food until you visit Scotchies. And the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GL99977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing