We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went to the nightclub with my boyfriend and after being excited all day on the Wednesday and looking forward to going, my first issue was finding out on the free shuttle that the one price entrance fee was $25 and not $15 as hotel staff had told me. We still went as this would include all you could drink for the night.

However, when I asked for a pina colada, I was told that the only drinks being served were either beer or a Smirnoff vodka mix. So all you can drink is really all the beer/vodka you can drink. Next, after finishing my vodka drink in a very small plastic cup, I left it on my table and went to the bar for another, but the snippy bartender lady (the other bartenders were nice) told me to bring back the same cup next time! in an angry tone and with a bad look. I thought what the f..., considering I had just paid $25US for this "fun time" and instead was being talked down to!?! I could not have regretted my visit more at that moment.

On a positive note, the dj was good and watching the locals dance was entertaining. I also discovered that while I may not care for the apple and blueberry vodka's, I like the coconut flavor but really, really love the passion fruit flavor. I even bought one at the airport on the way home, and no it was not Smirnoff but Skyy vodka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nadine922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

IT was very disappointing reading your review, and we apologize for the less than pleasant experience you had during your visit. The information provided by the hotel staff was an error in communication, and steps have already been put in place to ensure that the right information is communicated to all hotel staff and relevant persons. We have also addressed the error in communication with regard to the available products under the "All You Can Drink" banner, to ensure that no mistake is made, and that there is not a recurrence of the situation which you experienced. We have also noted your comments regarding your service experience, and wish to assure you that this is not indicative of the high service standards we maintain throughout our operations. We have shared your comments with our team for improvement. Despite your experience, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the music provided by the DJ as well as some of the beverages. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that you choose to come and see us again for an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,189 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

As unusual very good a fun place with a cheese burger in paradise. Staff were friendly and service was good the margaritas a full power.

1  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for your positive review. It has always been our opinion that there’s nothing better to accompany a day of fun (or relaxation) in the sun that delicious margaritas and tasty food (especially the Cheeseburger in Paradise). In addition to our menu offerings, we do our best to provide an atmosphere that is relaxing and entertaining in addition to superb service from our team. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that you won’t be a stranger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We tend to avoid chains and like to go to places where we can experience the local scene. But in our stop here, we got a more friendly and open introduction to Ocho Rios from the staff than at any other stop. Drinks are overpriced, food is average, but a fun place, and we were there on a dead afternoon. Location is perfect, if you can catch it on a busy night it's the place to be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kitka2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

We're happy that despite your skepticism, you chose to come and see us and enjoyed your visit. We have noted your comments regarding our food an beverage offerings, and have shared same with the relevant teams for review, as we are never satisfied with just average. We believe that no business can survive without offering top notch service, and we are proud of our team and their dedication to making sure that all who visit us feel welcomed and enjoy warm, friendly service. Thank you for visiting, an please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Despite being advertised as a family friendly Margaritaville, the focus is all on drinking here. We had to say " No thank you" multiple times as the staff persistently tried to get us to buy shots and everyone applauded those who took part in the drinking challenges. This is fine if you want a bar scene but we were there with kids so it was a little surprising. Food was mediocre. One bright spot was the very friendly server.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MountainGoats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting and or your feedback. Typically, we do our best to provide an atmosphere that the whole family can enjoy; from the music, to the amenities and much more. Admittedly, there are day when we have a mixed crowd consisting of those that require more "high energy" entertainment, and this can sometimes get a little on the PG-13 side, but we keep things under control as best as possible. We're happy that you enjoyed the service your received, and have forwarded your comments regarding our culinary offerings to our team for review, as mediocre is not a true reflection of our operational culture. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that you give us another chance to WOW you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to dine and relax in the daytime. It comes alive during the days when Cruise ships dock in Ocho Rios. :) The best part about it for me is the exciting parties that they host at night time. The mix of local and tourists in the cool open enviroment and the vibrant DJ's make Margaritaville and excelent location for people looking to party and have fun. :)

Thank Onelove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

It was good to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our daytime activities in addition to our eclectic selection of music at night when we transform into Club Ville. We do our best to offer great food and a wonderful atmosphere during the day that segues into a real party vibe at night, and we’re happy to hear that you had a great time. Thank you again for visiting and partying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing