We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What A View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BiBiBips

BiBiBips
Ranked #78 of 105 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our Chukka guide stopped here for us to get lunch on our way to Dunns River Falls.
What a pleasant surprise! I'm not a drinker, so i asked our guide as we walked in if there was a place i could "smoke" before i ate. She pointed to the stairs leading to the roof terrace area. As I leaned against the railing I could see for miles and miles out into the Caribbean sea, seeing the Cool Running's catamaran tour and all the little ants snorkeling out near a reef. Felt like i was on top of the world! The water is so crystal clear I could see the sea floor and all its textures and ridges, blues and greens! "No sharks spotted!" lol
After my "smoke" i was ready to eat! As I sat down I realized that the view our table was just as incredible as the one on the roof! There wasn't much on the menu, and everything is slightly to moderately overpriced. I mentioned to the waitress that i found the Curry Goat was rather pricey, and asked if its possible to have the portion size increased? (hey we're in Jamaica everything is negotiable right?) She politely said she would talk to her boss, and returned a few moments later with a smile and a "No problem man".
I would say the food was good no more no less, but the view, atmosphere and the accommodating service are what makes me say its a MUST SEE in Ocho Rios!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee,WI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for a drink to enjoy the view, but do yoursekf a favor and skip the meal!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the only bad part of a wonderful trip to ocho rios. I wad convinced ( and after reading some reviews im sure) this place must have a local menu..and a tourist menu. I had the lobster..which was 34$ us, and came with not good french fries, my husband had jerk shrimp (19$) which were extremly tiny and had maybe 7 shrimp. Rum and pineapple 7$. There were 4 of us, and our bill had a 25$ tax on a 130$ bill! I did not experience a tax like that anywhere else on the island. And they only take cash. All said and done we spent 170$ on lunch for four, with only 1 cocktail a piece and the food was tiny portions and less than average! Definately the worst meal we had in jamaica. It was very disappointing as it otherwise was a wonderful day. Our taxi driver recommended it, but later admitted he had never eaten there.
I will say the view was AMAZING! probably the best ive ever had at any restaraunt. It would be a wonderful place to go enjoy a beer at the sunset!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our tour guide at the Bob Marley tour reccomended this place, and it was great! Breathtaking view overlooking the ocean and fresh, delicous seafood!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Crump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbo, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"great view"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spend a day at the mahogany beach so we took the the stairs from the water up to this restaurant for a great lunch with a wonderful view!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as one time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The first time I went here, it was very good (probably more than 5 years ago). I went one or two times after that and the quality had dropped. Maybe they're back on track. I'm only speaking from my personal experiences back then.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BiBiBips also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to BiBiBips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing