We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almond Tree Restaurant

Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 111 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Trinidad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was very good, the food was tasty but the portion sizes are small if you are accustomed to a US or European meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank YolandeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service at an affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The service here harkens back to a by-gone era but the prices were very reasonable with entrees ranging from $12.00 pastas to $30.00 lobsters done any way you can imagine. You won't find a better view over the Caribbean from a restaurant in Jamaica. Casual is OK but you'll also be comfortable in that Tilley jacket or dress you bought for special occasions.
Don and Glynis

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Disappointed. They have a lovely view but the food and presentation just was not there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindahannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have been visiting this restaurat since i was very little and have to say it is the most beautiful restaurant in the world. The setting is amazing and will warm your heart.

The food is good for a reasonable price but just watch the bugs! Unfortunately since the seating is outside and you are in Jamaica you will get bugs and the odd owl flying around the place!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst service and horrible food with a nice atmosphere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Frommers gave this restaurant a good review so we thought we would try it. Sorry we wasted our money and time at the Almond Tree. As we entered the restaurant, no one was there to greet us to guide us to where the restaurant was. We went down a hallway, down some stairs and down some more dark stairs to find the bar area which was cool and has chairs hanging by ropes. Finally, someone asked what we wanted and we said we would like to eat. We were sat down and it took 15 minutes before anyone came to welcome us or take a drink order even though the place was almost empty. When we called for our rsvp, they did not inform us that it was "grill night" and we had to chose from grilled fish, steak, or pork (not bad we thought) grilled over charcoal. So we ordered drinks and waited for someone to take our dinner order. 35 minutes later, someone came by and asked how we liked our dinner...I said no one has even our order and we haven't even eaten yet. He sent someone over to take our orders. i ordered my steak medium rare and it was served to me burnt, tough and with a lot of fat and tough grissal. A dry baked potato and broccoli came with it. I can get that crap in America. We were hoping for snapper, plantains, jerk chicken, lobster, peas and rice.....something with Jamaican flavors. Staff was very rude. The manager was mostly interested in engaging with a few single women than taking care of his customers. It took another 30 minutes to get our bill. I totally understand the things move much slower in Jamaica and this is why we vacation there but this was terrible. The staff was rude, not attentive and did not care that the food was not prepared well. Upon leaving the restaurant no one said goodbye or thanked us for dining with them. Don't waste your money at this place. There are much tastier and nicer places to dine in Ocho Rios. STAY AWAY.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank didiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing