We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Made our Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evita's Italian Restaurant

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Historic Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made our Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Bahia Principe Runaway Bay we ate here for our wedding anniversary. The hotel food was OK but eating here made us realise what we had been missing.
Extensive and interesting menu. They knew it was our anniversary and gave us a great table and even sang to us at the end of the meal.
Food was fantastic, service was excellent (only 4 tables in use on a quiet night though), and loved the ambience including the live music. Views were wonderful. Would highly recommend this - owner was very friendly and welcoming. She has some great stories of the history of the restaurant.
I had the spicy shrimp risotto (with scotch bonnet). I like spicy but not too spicy. Being freshly prepared they were able to meet my requirements. Could not really fault anything. One of the most memorable of our 31 wedding anniversaries! Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
I am really happy that coming to Evita’s, made your Anniversary even more special.
It was great meeting you, seeing you so happy together and enjoying Evita's food and ambiance.
Wishing you many more happy years together, I hope that you will make it Jamaica and Evita’s again, in the near future…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    180
    53
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
“Best Italian in Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service was a bit slow but we chalked it up to Island time. The food was outstanding. Very good, authentic Italian dishes. Owner, Eva ensures everyone leaves satisfied and is a very sweet woman

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Brian, for your so nice review and compliment!
Will keep up the quality of the food and certainly try to improve on the ‘Soon Come’ Jamaica time…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely view -- food so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The ambience is very nice and it is perched up on the side of a mountain, so has a lovely view. But the Jamaican food was nothing special (note: I was starting to get tired of Jamaican cuisine, which isn't my favorite). Unfortunately, the service was also lukewarm.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that what you chose, from our very extensive Menu, was not to your liking and that the service was not up to your expectations.
I wish it would have been brought up to the waiter’s or, my attention, so that I could improve on it…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very good food. Excellent views. Eva was even there one night and came by our table to say hi. One of the best attributes might be the genius plan they came up with to offer a free car transfer to and from your Ochi hotel. We went twice in one week.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank denvermikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you, Mickey, for your great review!
The idea of free Pick up & Return was thought of, when all the hotels in Ocho Rios, excluding two ONLY, went ‘All Inclusive’ and how more difficult the decision becomes, to leave the resort’s free meal AND also pay a taxi to taste what else Ocho Rios has to offer….
A few other restaurants, especially the ones catering to Jamaica’s visitors, have found it necessary to follow suit.
Hoping to see you again in Jamaica and at Evita’s I say: Arrivederci!
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service was exceptional. The wait staff, (I believe her name is Carmen) was so friendly. The owner took the time to speak with us. The driver, Douglas, was very professional and drove us from our resort to the restaurant and back to the resort. We felt safe and secure as we drove in the evening. The food was amazing!!! It was the best meal we had during our stay in Jamaica. Make the time to and try the food. They are are also kid friendly. A special thank you to the driver, the wait staff, the chef and the owner. The prices are very reasonable as well. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rdeo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much, for your fabulous review and, I will certainly let Carmen, ‘Doughie’, the other wait staff and cooks know, that you really appreciated their hospitality!
Also thank you for promising that you will return, we are all looking forward to making your experience at Evita’s, a ‘happy one’, again…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing