We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Jamaican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Historic Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

after having to et and drink at the Riu for days this was a real treat,,, real wine, real vodka martinis, real fresh food,, definately a go to

1  Thank kareninsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and, for encouraging people to leave their all inclusive resorts, for at least one day…this way they get to see and, taste, what else Jamaica has to offer!
Ciao, Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 536 of 834 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Three of us went up to Evita's in the evening and got a nice table on the balcony.The view isn't as good at night, we were told, but the atmosphere was relaxing and somewhat exotic. The food was very good. My rigatoni was overcooked, (that is true at many restaurants) but very tasty and that's what matters. I like it "al dente" but, hey this is Jamaica, not Tuscany or New York. The desserts were great and the staff attentive. We were even unwittingly serenaded by a local resident in the distance, who was singing in her home. It was a nice end to the busy day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review!
Too bad you did not ask for your pasta ‘Al Dente’ as we cook everything to order.
When we used to cook it that way for all our patrons we had problems as, only people who have travelled to Italy want it that way, so we had to add a few minutes to its cooking time...
Actually, my waiters are trained to make sure that is ‘Al Dente’ when they deal with Italians!
Re: the singer you heard, I have also heard her sometimes: I think she is practicing to become a local ‘star’…never met her yet…wish her all the best…
Ciao! Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was very good, great portions on everything and the view was very good the evening we went.

Thank Genia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you, Genia, for your great review!
Will certainly convey to the staff and encourage them to keep up the good work.
Ciao! Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband & I ate at Evita's last night for our last night in Jamaica. We seen all the wonderful reviews on here so thought we would try it. The garlic bread that started our meal off was amazing! We ordered mussels & calamari for appetizers which we were a little disappointed in. The portions were very small and not what we expected. Now our meals..... They were fantastic! I had a seafood pasta I with Alfredo sauce..... It was a nice sized serving and tasted like heaven! My husband had the lobster tail and it was a nice size with lots of flavour! The view of Ocho Rio is beautiful from the restaurant! All in all it was a good experience.... The view is worth it!

1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you Lisa, for your review and so nice comments.
Will certainly take into consideration you suggestions re: appetizers and keep up the great flavors (and size) of the other dishes …
Ciao! Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Jamaica Inn and had dinner here one night, mostly because we were underwhelmed with the food at JI. They picked us up at the resort, and it is a short 5-7 minute drive. We tipped $25 for the round trip. Evitas is in the hills above Ocho Rios, with a nice view, but nothing special. They have a huge menu and an OK wine list, not cheap but certainly less than our resort. Service was excellent, and the owner was on site. Give it a try while in Oho Rios.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and encouraging others to give us a try: it is certainly appreciated…
Ciao! Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing