We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Historic Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Delicious Italian/seafood fusion food. Only restaurant in Ocho Rios we visited twice. We also met the owner Eva both times we were there. Great city view. Had both lunch ($80) and dinner ($130) for 3 people. Paid with credit card and the waiter asked to be tipped in cash as he would not get his tip for 2 weeks via credit card hmmm... Still enjoyed it very much a must visit. Oh ya clean bathrooms.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lexy23_505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your so complimentary review!
Yes, I do remember chatting w/ you and feeling very flattered that you made it a point that we were the only restaurant in Ocho Rios that you decided to come back to, thank you again!
Sorry about the waiter, I just fired one, for misconduct. I am sure this was the ‘bad apple’ you are talking about.
Re: Bathrooms, yes, I even like to put fresh flowers in them…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    191
    56
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Authenticity”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food sent me to Heaven, waiter super friendly and courteous. My husband and I highly recommend Evita's.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
I am glad you went to ‘heaven’ and … came back … to compliment us on the food and the service!
I will certainly tell the waiter and the cooks, to keep up, the good work!
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely little Italian restaurant, located on the hills above Ocho Rios. The food is great and waiters are great at helping you select appropriate portions :). Very reasonably priced and lovely setting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luciana_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Luciana for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated and I will certainly convey your compliments to the waiters and cooks, too!
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view but so so view.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant lies on top of a hill overlooking Ocho Rios and the Caribbean Sea. The view is stunning, the restaurant is beautiful small, cozy very pretty and romantic. The food is so so , no real flavor. I has the Carib Alfredo and requested sauté onions and mushrooms to be added. Still bland. This was a shrimp, lobster dish for $21 US dollars. Compared to Olive Garden , I would say Olive Garden food is better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiki2175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your compliments on the restaurant and view.
As I stated in a previous reply you really cannot compare this restaurant an Italian restaurant in the USA, especially to the Olive Garden FRANCHISE, where everything used to cook and run the restaurant, costs half the price and, is NOT cooked to order, for each customer, as we do, here, but in bulk.
The Alfredo sauce we make here is with imported, REAL butter, REAL heavy cream and freshly grated Parmesan Cheese, not with a white sauce of milk, flour and added ‘flavor enhancing’ artificial seasonings.
So, I am really sorry that the REAL thing was not to your liking.
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's all about the ambiance”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is hillside so you get a great view of the city. I found the food to be a little pricey for Italian food. The food was okay, nothing fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimeSharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you think the menu is a ‘little pricey’ but unfortunately, despite the fact that I try to be very competitive, most of the ingredients we use, except for the fresh vegetables and seafood, are all imported as Jamaica does not produce, ie: parmesan cheese, mozzarella, olive oil, veal, prosciutto, semolina for the good pasta. Even the veal and beef we serve, have to be imported as, the quality here is substandard. Not to mention, all the china ware, glassware, silverware, kitchen equipment etc. also, have to be imported.
Unfortunately customs, duties and distributor’s mark ups, double all the costs ….sigh….
I am also sorry that you thought the food was ‘nothing fantastic’, I wish you would have let us know immediately so that I could see how I can improve the dish you had or, possibly, the old adage ‘different strokes for different folks’, can be applied, in this instance..
Jamaican Jerk chicken and Jerk pork, cooked roadside, on a tin sheet or discarded steel drum, w/ wood from the local trees, are of course much cheaper….
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing