We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delitious piece of Italy in Jamaica”

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Historic Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delitious piece of Italy in Jamaica”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

we are very skeptical about Italian restaurant in a foreign country, but after 15 day of Jamaican food we wanted to try evita's and it was an incredible discover for us. We took fettuccine with lobster and shrimps, and grilled salmon fillet... Everything has been delitious!
Great location (even if please choose to get here with taxi cause there are no light on the way), great food and great services (in 15 days this place has been the first one with fast ordered and with clear payment with credit card).

Amazing....absolutely to try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you Virginio, for this GREAT review.
Your name makes me assume that you are Italian and I know how much Italians appreciate good food and service and therefore, my staff and I, are even more appreciative of your kind words.
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    191
    56
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

While staying near Ocho Rios a week ago, we had the pleasure of dining at Evita's. What a great restaurant! Up in the hills overlooking the city, even in the evening, the view is fabulous. The ambience and professionalism of the wait staff is top notch and the food is really out of this world. Loved the risotto, and my husband said his steak was one of the best. Had the pleasure of meeting Evita, herself, and what a grand lady she is! The pianist/singer was wonderful as well. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant and joyful evening.

Ron & Jean Jolliffe - Brookfield, WI

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanJ786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you Ron & Jean for your so complimentary review.
I am really happy that you had a great evening, all around including the ‘risotto’ and steak, which, here in Jamaica, many a times, are very ‘tricky’ to cook just right….
See you again, I hope, in Jamaica.
Ciao,! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

after having a bad start to the holiday.
Evitas is a step out of the hussle an bussle of ochi town,
Tranquil , good italian food to make a nice change from jerk, a jazz player on the piano, great customer service. Lovely Restaurant!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you Helen for your so nice review and I am happy that Evita’s made your vacation more enjoyable.
We will certainly try to keep up the good service, food and ambiance!
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great View of Ocho Rios”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The view overlooking Ocho Rios is great. Some nights they have music. Up on hill close to Ocho Rios. Food is nothing special

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank yellowhummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you thought the food was not so special.
I wish you would have said something to the waiter and I am sure that whatever the shortcoming was, we could have remedied it …next time!
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Italian in the real Jamaica”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tucked away up the hillside of Ocho rios it's not an easy find but well worth the search, everything authentically prepared Italian by chefs that have been there for ever. A beautiful Charming old restaurant with a balcony that sit right over the town in the top of tropical trees with scent of the perfume from the flowers wafting up in the air while you enjoy your "anything you order" make a night of it there's usually a live performer and a salsa night. Once again one of the best things you can do while in Jamaica.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
Yes, Evita’s setting has been compared, once before, as being almost in a tree house as, we are ‘perched’ on the hillside and have the view of Ocho Rios, above wonderful, lush tropical trees…
The musician also, soft, melodic and not ‘intrusive’, is getting a lot of praises, too.
Hopefully, you will make it Evita’s and Jamaica, soon, again!
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing