We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hands down, The BEST restaurant in Jamaica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini Restaurant

Toscanini Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an authentic Italian restaurant located just outside the resort town of Ocho Rios, Jamaica. The property is an original plantation house that also houses an art gallery featuring famous local works of art.
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hands down, The BEST restaurant in Jamaica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I live on the island, in Negril, all year around. I have never come across a restaurant as good as Toscanini anywhere else in Jamaica. My boyfriend and I went for our first anniversary dinner, and it couldn't have been more romantic. Only a five minute drive from the Ocho Rios strip, we arrived to the restaurant to discover the building was over 150 years old. How cool is that! The setting was low-lit, and with soft reggae playing in the background, we were able to sit outside and enjoy the sound of the crickets. The service was excellent, we were greeted warmly by the bartender and waitress. The head chef (and maybe owner?), who seems to be Australian, gave us easy and clear directions on the phone, and also came out towards the end of our meal to say hello and check that all was okay. Love that, what a special touch. There are lots of places in Negril and Montego Bay that are rated #1 on Trip Advisor, but only because they don't have a restaurant like Toscanini to compete with. You'll be so pleasantly surprised to see an American/French/Italian/Jamaican list of food choices; dishes such as escargot, pate, and duck are offered on the chalk board style menu, and they are as executed just as well as any high-quality New York City restaurant. Try the shrimp appetizer! And the wine, oh the wine, was so much better than any other place I've been in Jamaica. It's obvious that everything is imported, which indicates how much the owner of this small restaurant truly cares about the quality of his menu. We paid $160 for two people, and trust me, when you've spent as much time eating out in Jamaica as I have, you'll understand that it's well worth the price. Thanks to those at Toscanini for making our anniversary a memorable one. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    85
    15
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good customer service,very flexible people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

my kids dream about this place everyday,customer serv is great,food up to par,the laddy went through each of the meals with us she is very friendly and will try to please you as much as possible,but she has a problem with coughing she need to fix it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shanikatrailfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a former home owner and now regular vacationer in Jamaica, Toscanini is truly a restaurant that lives up to its reputation one of the best in Jamaica. It's hard to do great Italian on any of the islands but..as a child of italian american parents and grandparents, Chef, you do an amazing job! On a personal note, looking forward to your return, Leila. Proud of you!!

xoxo,
Joey & Rich

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlori1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastastic eating a Toacanini restaurant, Ocho Rios, JA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

On the 12 March 2013 my husband and I visited Toscanini restaurant, Harmony Hall, Ocho Rios, Jamaica to a surprise birthday meal arranged by our son-in-law and our daughter. We were welcomed by Lella Ricci, a most friendly, informative, and lively host. She guided us through the menus and told us about how the food was sourced, how it was cooked, and the various spices used. The whole experience of the evening was wonderful. We enjoyed lobster, beautifully prepared and presented, Mahi Mahi and other lovely food. Toscanini restaurant was a marvellous place to eat and we would definitely return.

Our meal was to celebrate a special occasion and all expenses were paid without us knowing anything about costs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 694melc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant that we never would have expected in Ocho Rios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has received a lot of positive reviews and when you visit it's not hard to see why. The reception, service, food and setting were all excellent.

The food is as good as you will find in top Italian restaurants in Europe. Despite what must be immense attention to deal, everything appears effortless (the sign of truly great service).

Lella personally explained the menu to us and was a pleasure to speak with. She suggested we visit Noel Coward's Firefly (which we did, and was fantastic) and even put us in contact with a local guy named Horace to drive us there for a good price. We subsequently used Horace (a great guy) to drive us to Strawberry Hill.

All in all, a very good restaurant and one that you should go out of your way to visit while in Northern Jamaica.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndPulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Toscanini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing