We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After years of visisting JA I found a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 36 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After years of visisting JA I found a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

My mother was born in Jamaica and we have been returning for years, but this year we found the gem that we had been missing. Elaine and Peter were so welcoming from the first moment we felt at home. Rooms are very clean and equiped with all you need, beautiful accomodation that rivals any hotel and I have been in many. Food is wonderful if you decied that you want Jamaican one morning and the next eggs and bacon your wish is there comand. The best bread and butter pudding I have had in my life so far.
Near to all aminaties, frendly staff a relaxing, quiet place to stay

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbelrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
92
220
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We highly recommend the Polkerris & Vista de la Bahia Bed and Breakfast. The houses are located close to each other, and the facilities are run by the same family. We stayed in both houses, and found the facilities to be excellent. The photos on the web pages truly show the beauty of the houses and the surroundings. We highly recommend this place to anyone seeking a well appointed, clean, and serene retreat. The place is best suited for adults looking for a quiet stay, and is not suited for partying. The breakfast is excellent, and so are the hosts. We found the place on the internet, and were so delighted when we arrived to this truly beautiful B&B. The owners arranged for Mr.Dixon to be our driver. He is also excellent and reliable, and we recommend him as well. Dr. J and T from Canada.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TEXAS
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

This is a little late in writing as my husband was susposed to write the review but I am writing it instead. We were at the Polkerris over Thanksgiving, 2008.
This is a wonderful place to stay, so relaxing. We had the king bedroom with view of the ocean, a little room/closet with an icebox and waiting ice for cold drinks and and where you hang your clothes. No complaints on this room.
The breakfast was simply great, you would get a call in the morning and asked what would you like to eat, like porridge, yummy french toast, bacon, potatoes, fruit, a bread ball(don't know what it was called) and many other things to chose from.
When we first arrived we were greeted by the hosts with a delicious Jamaican drink . They are the nicest hosts and always made sure we were okay. The maids also were friendly and wonderful. And boy they could clean.
This place was absolutley the best, and we would definitley stay here again and the view from the verandah was beautiful as it looked over the ocean. You can relax around the pool if you just want to hang out, the town and Doctors cave Beach was only about 5 mins away. Had a great meal at the owners restaurant The Pelican. We also ate at the Twisted Kilt in town which was fun and owned by a New Yorker who is a giant of a guy. I am only 5'2" so he was a giant to me.
There is a back way down to the town thru their other property across the street which was handy but a lot of stairs for those who may physical issues. The cats were finally getting used to us as we went the back way when I called out to them and one of the cats at Polkerris became friendly after she had no choice but to let me pet her and after that we were buddies.
We can't wait to go back and stay at Polkerris, hope we go again soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

After a rocky few nights at a B&B in Negril, the Polkerris was an amazing relief. Tucked away on a quiet street right off the strip, the Polkerris is very well maintained estate with an unrivaled view of the bay. The staff and owners were extremely courteous and even allowed us to check out late. Breakfast is served on the terrace each morning, made to order. The gardens were beautiful, the pool was relaxing. Margaritaville is in walking distance, which is the top night club on the strip. Restaurants are also pretty close. No private beach access, but there is a quiet public beach that is close by. We only stayed one night, but plan to return asap!

  • Liked — Sunsets were great, staff was very nice, but the value was superb.
  • Disliked — No private beach access. Didn't stay long enough to enjoy fully.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSIguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We just returned from a five day stay at Polkerris, and are just bursting at the seams with positive feedback. First, this B&B is truly a hidden gem. Make sure you have your confirmation or correspondence from Peter or who ever you book through because customs at the airport did not recognize the address of the B&B and we had to show our correspondence and explain in detail our plans to get through. Peter also had a ride from Mr. Dixon arranged for us at a cost of $15. That is a reasonable price for the MoBay area and it was nice to be worry free. However, there are also hundreds of taxi drivers waiting and wanting to offer rides if you opt out of arranging it with Polkerris. Once we got to the B&B any airline related traveling difficulties we had were immediately forgotten, because the B&B is an oasis. The room was ready and cold ice and drinks were awaiting us. Polkerris is picturesque, pristine, and still homey. I cannot imagine anyone not finding their rooms and accommodations anything but perfect. The pool is wonderful, the rooms are up to date and exceeded our expectations, and the glassed, open-air living area and breakfast veranda is so great it is difficult to justifiably describe. Each morning and every evening, we would just sit on the veranda in awe and take in the beautiful views of the see and bay. The breakfast each morning was fabulous and hearty. There a many choices, both American and traditional Jamaican. The fruit is wonderful. The coffee suburb. The French toast was some of the best I’ve ever had. There was more than we could possibly eat each morning, but loved all the choices. The refrigerators in the room offers a great, cost efficient option for a buying light lunch items and the supermarket (which is all anyone could need after the huge breakfast) and for chilling Red Stripes if you feel inclined. We enjoyed having a Red Stripe on the veranda in the evening and looking out to the ocean and twinkling lights of Mobay. The location is also wonderful. The walk to the hip strip and Doctor’s Cave beach is only a short 5-10 minutes away. Clarissa and Jeremy are kind and very helpful and willing to help whenever asked. Although they live right next to Room 6 (the room we stayed in), we felt that we had plenty of privacy. The only thing to be aware of before visiting, is that the climb to the Cliffside B&B is quite extensive. If you have mobility problems or have small children you have to carry, you will have to plan accordingly. The stairway and climb up and down is nice and great in its security purposes, but you may be huffing and puffing once you reach the top. Also, in our room there was not an outlet in the bathroom. For me, it was easy just to move out the main room. But you may wish to pack a small mirror if you will need it. We HIGHLY recommend Polkerris. You will find nothing that exceeds Polkerris in the surrounding area. The B&B far exceeds any hotel or other guest house that we saw. If we return to Mobay, we would not stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — The view, location, hospitality
  • Disliked — Water pressure, the climb
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

What a beautiful place! We were fortunate enough to spend the last two nights of our Jamaican honeymoon at the Polkerris. The property is immaculate. The colors are bright and there is a sweet smell of jasmine in the air. The first night we stayed in the King room which was wonderful. There is a huge comfy bed from which you can peer through the window and gaze over the Mountain tops and down to the beautiful Caribbean Ocean. The second night we stayed in a room downstairs which was equally awesome if not better! The patio door opened up to a wonderful little garden area with a porch and two nice chairs to lounge in. Every morning there is a incredible meal served, complete with fresh fruit and juice along with coffee and your choice of food. Since it is the same owner the food comes right from the Pelican bar. Our favorites were the ackee and salt fish and the escovitch fish. In short we highly recommend the Polkerris to anyone up for relaxation at a beautiful little B&B.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — Everything was spot on!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

Great place to relax, read a book, take a swim, enjoy a liesurely breakfast, and savor a great view of Montego Bay and western Jamaica. Wonderful owner and friendly staff made our stay superb. Drop down the hill for dinner at the Pelican (jerk chicken recommended) but otherwise, enjoy the relaxing quiet of this centrally located bed & breakfast. A very well-kept facility- clean pool water, rooms well-appointed and everything in working order.

  • Liked — safe, relaxing, friendly
  • Disliked — Montego Bay has activities
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmkurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#20 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing