We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great B&B - wonderful staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked one night here and were very happy. It was an average size room, with full bath, safe, nice closet, etc. Great wifi. If I was here for a week, it'd be a bit cramped. But for our needs, it was perfect. Pictures are accurate. Food is delicious and served in a beautiful setting. The walk into town is do-able but not for everyone. Secure entrance to the property from the street and then again into the main building and each room. The B&B is at the top of a hill, the town is at the bottom The walk down is done one of two ways. Option 1 is along a steep, windy road. Option 2 is down steep steps that seem slightly creepy. We went down the steps but came back up the road. Only negative I saw is that our room had one entrance via a glass door. If I wanted to the curtain closed for privacy, I lost all natural light into the room. Having a sheer over the door, rather than just a curtain, would have helped tremendously. But, that wouldn't stop me from staying her again. What really makes this place stand out from our other stays in Jamaica is the staff. Top notch people own and operate this B&B. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thyme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
93
224
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent 3 days here before moving to Sandals. This is a class act. They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Very cleanly and safe. Breakfast was fresh fruits with a choice of freshly prepared items. Pool is exactly as pictured and views of the harbor were perfect. It is within walking distance of Margaritaville. The Pelican was close and a great place for dinners. In retrospect -- we would have preferred our trip to have been longer at the B&B but the remaining 4 days were already booked for us. Audrey and Gladys took care of the rooms and our needs and were very accommodating. Peter and Elaine were the owners and went above and beyond to answer any questions on Jamaica and we will always consider them as friends. Beds were comfortable and privacy was given with bathrooms in your unit. Love love loved this place and Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomar410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Polkerris is situated in such a lovely location with an amazing view of the ocean, sunrise and sunset.
All staff there are incredibly friendly and make sure you are completely comfortable and satisfied.
I will not bother looking for other places to stay in Jamaica. Polkerris is perfect!
The taxi and tourism company that work along side Polkerris are wonderful also. They make your stay in Jamaica the best it can possibly be.
Many thanks to the owners and team at Polkerris and to Sid and Devon for showing me the true gem that Jamaica is.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinekatoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days at this B&B and we loved every minute. Peter and Elaine are wonderful hosts, seeing to every need you might have. They answered all questions from where to eat, which beach is the best, whose cab to hire and respected your privacy yet became friends. The pool was amazing, food was awesome, and great location. You can't go wrong staying with them. Elaine loves to play scrabble so we play the game on our iPads across the miles. They run a very clean and safe B&B, doors lock behind you so don't lose your key. very good place to go with friends and family because they have lots of room and it is like you all have your own private pool with gorgeous view. I highly recommend the Vista de la Bahia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthkwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything that has been said about Vista is spot on. Spotless, great breakfasts, hosts who are available 24-7 and will move heaven and earth to get it right. Tablecloths, linens, everything was first class. Close to the beach at Doctor's Cave and a short walk to several restaurants. Save thousands from the all-inclusives and spend some on getting a driver to take you to other restaurants, shopping, Martha Brae rafting, Glistening Waters and anything else you want to do.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: People who have trouble with steps may have a little trouble as two rooms are on the second floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyounglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Polkerris and certainly agree that it is everything as advertised and more. I am not going to repeat what has already been proclaimed by the other reviewers but will mention several things that are uncommon these days even in the finer B & B's. We stayed in the room with the king size bed on the top floor that faces the Bay. The lighting in this room was superb and quite a contrast to many accommodations where in the name of protecting the environment you get a couple of bed side table lamps with a 40 watt bulb. The bar of soap provided was a full size bar like you would use at home and not one the size of a silver dollar. Fresh towels were provided automatically each day. A safe was provided in the room which you don't often find in a B & B. Security was top notch with locked gates and security cameras everywhere. Jeremy and Clarissa have the right model for a successful B & B!

Room Tip: The room with the king size bed on the second floor has the best view of Montego Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Upon returning to Jamaica which is our island home we felt really welcomed. Our very large family took over the entire property. We arrived on one the 25 December to a wonderful family buffet prepared especially for us. What a treat since this was a holiday. The accommodations were perfect. We are also in the vacation rental business and know how difficult it is to cater to the demands of guest but this beautiful husband and wife team did it with such ease. We can not thank them enough for making us feel so welcome and attended to our needs from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The perfect vacation. Just a short walk away from the shopping area. We were able to keep up with our exercise routine. The beach and park was so close which we had the opportunity to enjoy. Oh yes, Pier #1 the ultimate New Year celebration which we had to walk home after since no taxis was available. Luckily it was less than a mile away. This property is positioned in the perfect spot to enjoy the ships sailing in and out by day and fireworks in three different spots by night. I can go on and on about the way this place made us all feel. The memories are priceless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,047 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
560 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing