We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon - we originally planned only a few days, but ended up extending our stay to five days (which also nicely dropped the room rate). The owners were wonderful, and we had a fantastic time there. Each morning we had breakfast on the balcony, overlooking the bay (the little dumplings are great - ask for a few to take with you when you leave for an airplane snack; you won't regret it). It was a very relaxing place to drift in the pool, read, do yoga, and watch the clouds roll by. It was within walking distance to the Hip Strip and Doctor's Cave Beach, but we didn't spend much time there; it was the end of our honeymoon, and we wanted to just relax. Now that I'm back in the States, I dearly miss the wonderful view and the relaxing (delicious) breakfasts - their ackee was the most flavorful we had the entire time we were in Jamaica. If you're in Montego Bay, I'd recommend avoiding the plastic cut-out all-inclusive resorts; stay somewhere local where you get a wonderful feel for the community. Polkerris was a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room off of the pool, that had a view of the bay. I don't know the name of it, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiPilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
92
223
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Polkerris while we were in Jamaica. We spent the first 3 nights of our trip there and the last night of our vacation as the airport was only a few minutes away. The property is fantastic! It's gated for privacy, has incredible views of Montego Bay (cruise ships were coming into Montego Bay on Weds morning as we were having breakfast), and as you'll read time and again, the breakfasts are great (although we didn't try the Jamaican breakfast). Our room, Polkerris # 5, had a window view out over the bay and was very spacious. Jeremy was kind enough to drive us into town one evening for necessities since the airline lost our main luggage bag. The pool is nice, very clean, and a great place to catch some rays or just relax. If you are staying in Montego Bay, we would highly recommend checking out Polkerris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent the first four days of our recent three-week visit to Jamaica at Polkerris. Sitting on the huge sea-facing porch eating a wonderfully tasty Jamaican breakfast each morning and watching the ships pass by below was both amazing and relaxing. We loved the creatively-designed gardens and aquarium with their many varieties of fish, fruits, flowers and plants, the inviting pool and the indoor-outdoor ambience of the gracious house on the hill itself. Our king-sized bed, room and bathroom near the pool were large, beautifully furnished and very, very comfortable. Cissy, Jeremy and the entire staff were always helpful, and their warm smiles made us feel very special. We looked forward to returning each evening to our calm, Jamaican home away from home. Polkerris' relaxed atmosphere was the perfect beginning to our holiday and its designation as the #1 bed and breakfast location in MoBay is richly deserved. We wholeheartedly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar123ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I took mom on a vacation to jamaica, and we stayed here for 4 nights - we had 2 rooms. I just can't say enough good things about our stay here. This place is gorgeous - spotless and immaculate, beautiful and charming decor in large spacious rooms. We had windows with views of the ocean. The pool overlooking the bay is beautiful as well - i swam there. Staying here is like staying in your own upscale private villa overlooking the bay - very beautiful, spectacular views, very quiet and private. Elaine and Peter, the owners, are the most incredible hosts i have ever met - staying here feels like visiting old friends and family. They go out of their way to help with every possible need. The location is fabulous - you are barely 5-10 minutes to the hip strip, and doctor's cave beach. Lots of restaurant options nearby, including The Pelican, which has been around for over 50 years and is one of the most famous restaurants in MoBay. Since the same owners also own The Pelican, our breakfast every morning was prepared at Pelican and served by the pool - which meant we were spoiled by the absolutely delicious and healthy jamaican dishes and that fantastic view and weather. The B&B is perched on a small hill, so you can go down to Gloucester Avenue (i.e. hip strip) either the long way, down the bumpy road (takes 5-10 minutes), or the short way, i.e. down the stairs at the end of the property, which is a lot faster, more pleasant, and ends almost right next to the Pelican. The short way has about 70 stairs in all, and is very well maintained with railings, so even my senior citizen mom had no trouble navigating it. It's also very secure - you need cards to access the inside of the property, and there are multiple metal gates that stay locked on the short way. Couple of other tips about the location: 1. There is an arts and crafts market less than 10 minutes walk away. Once you go down the short way, turn left on GLoucester Ave and you will see it soon. Its far more interesting shopping here, buying directly from the artisans, rather than shopping at the touristy stores on the hip strip, which mostly all sell the same thing. And feel free to haggle on price - i bought 3 necklaces, that i negotiated the price down by between 33% to 50% from initial asking price. 2. There is also a nice spa, the Body Bliss Spa, about 5 minutes walk to the left once you come down the short way. Prices run about 1/2 to 1/3 of US prices for most services - its part of the West Altamont hotel. I would definitely stay here again - and thank you Peter and Elaine again for your incredible hospitality!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplefeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Vista de la Bahia. The owners, Peter and Elaine, and their staff made us feel extremely welcome. It was our first visit together as a couple and we will definitely return. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast by the pool overlooking the ocean...very relaxing. This B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Sissy and Jeremy's place for 6 enjoyable nights. We traveled with friends that have known the hosts since 1970. Our friends have stayed there many times and keep returning.
We felt right at home immediately. The setting is lovely and the service is exceptional. Wonderful breakfast each day with many traditional Jamaican dishes, as well as standard breakfast fare of your choice (generous portions). The grounds are beautiful and the staff is quietly busy all day long. They own the Pelican Restaraunt, which is just down the hill, highly recommend it for lunch, if you need it, or dinner. Some of the local jerk restaraunts are great.
A car for day trips is recommended, if you are there more than a few days. The beach at the bottom of the hill on the "Hip Strip", Doctors Cave was great. The "Hip Strip" is not really all that hip, but there are a few nice parts and it was very safe in the area. A must stay for B&B travelers!

Room Tip: 6 rooms at Polkerris and 4 at their daughters house accross the street. Daughters house is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pshatney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can only repeat what so many others have said - beautiful place, gracious hosts. Breakfasts include Jamaican dishes and are large enough to keep you going until dinner. Recommend either of the upstairs rooms beside the pool. Suggest a car rental as dining choices that are close by are limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.5 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing