We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 45 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting Jamaica. It is a perfect place to stay at the beginning or the end of a trip if you are flying out of Montego Bay. It is very convenient and close to the airport. (10 minute drive) It is also close to the 'Hip Strip' which is where a lot of tourist go. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the pool and beautiful view. I loved the breakfast every morning and the pool. The hosts are very kind and helpful. They make the place one of the best places to visit. We would love to come back and would make sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AubreeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 428 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

No doubt about it - this is the most beautiful bed and breakfast on the island. Charming and hospitable hosts, a spectacular view and the most delicious breakfasts all add up to a perfect stay. Thanks again for the great times. Mom and I enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Everyone looked after our every need and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrmrJamaican M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We highly appreciated the excellent service, cleanliness and the beautiful view on the bay, while having very fine breakfast by the pool.

Tips:
1. Use access to the main road by walking down within the property (ask the inkeepers).
2. Check alternatives to transport service proposed by the B&B (our driver may not have been the most outstanding one).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week for our anniversary and it was absolutely a dream. The quality and cleanliness of the accommodations is the same as a five star hotel in the United States. The food was the highlight of the stay. You can have American cuisine, but you have to try the Jamaican cuisine as well. Just a couple of blocks away is the "Doctors Cave Beach" which is phenomenal and includes food and drink service. Also close by is the "Pelican Restaurant", and my experience is that everything on the menu is awesome. Before visiting Jamaica I had always heard that you don't feel secure in many places you go. I found the locals to be friendly and never felt insecure in any place we went. The B&B is extremely secure with electronic key entry. If anyone other than guest wanted to come on property it just is not possible. Would recommend again and again and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEFFREY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We loved staying at Polkerris. It is only a 10 minute drive from the airport and an easy 10 minute walk from the beach. The house was big, beautiful, and had a gorgeous view. For the first 3 nights of our stay we had the whole place to ourselves, which was heavenly. The pool is refreshing and even better with a waterfall running right beside it. It was an easy place to relax, lounge, and rest. Jeremy and Clarissa were amazing hosts. They helped coordinate transportation, give directions, and really made you feel at home. Every morning we had our choice of pancakes, French toast, cod and ackee, eggs, bacon - you name it! We never went hungry at breakfast. The only thing of concern during our visit was that they do allow kids to stay and, unfortunately, there was a family with 2 loud, young boys on the last 2 days of trip. The boys woke up at 6 a.m., were quite loud, and woke me up. Being pregnant and exhausted, I was not amused. Obviously, it's not guaranteed that there will be kids there and, during the day, while the family was out, it was no big deal.

If we ever make our way back to Jamaica, we would stay there again in a heart beat. Seriously, the best B&B we have stayed in on three continents.

Room Tip: King suite on the 2nd floor overlooking Montego Bay is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Missastar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in April of 2012. What a great place to relax! The owners were very gracious and the place was amazing. Such a contrast to the hustle and bustle of the resorts that I stayed at for the beginning part of my trip. The location was excellent, only a short walk from the Hip street and the beaches. If you are looking for a place to relax, while still being in the middle of everything this is the place to stay. Coffee and breakfast in the morning (custom made to your taste and wishes) were also excellent and I fondly remember the Jamaican taste and this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vloikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had the most wonderful time here.
My days began with a refreshing dip, a few steps from our bedroom into the gorgeous sparkling blue waters of the pool, followed by a healthy, delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking Montego Bay. A place that I will always remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmsterdamJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 64 in Montego Bay
2,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 64 in Montego Bay
2,239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range: $126 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing