We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & peaceful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 43 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent & peaceful place to stay!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in April of 2012. What a great place to relax! The owners were very gracious and the place was amazing. Such a contrast to the hustle and bustle of the resorts that I stayed at for the beginning part of my trip. The location was excellent, only a short walk from the Hip street and the beaches. If you are looking for a place to relax, while still being in the middle of everything this is the place to stay. Coffee and breakfast in the morning (custom made to your taste and wishes) were also excellent and I fondly remember the Jamaican taste and this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vloikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
96
226
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had the most wonderful time here.
My days began with a refreshing dip, a few steps from our bedroom into the gorgeous sparkling blue waters of the pool, followed by a healthy, delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking Montego Bay. A place that I will always remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable, clean, convenient and SECURE.
Our last stop in Jamaica was made most agreeable by the warm welcome offered by the owners Clarrisa,Jeremy, and the staff of Polkerrish in Montego Bay. We were greeted with a cool drink of limeade and very comfortable accommodations. The owner was very solicitous and went out of her way to make calls on our behalf to ensure our safe travel to an from our side trips. The breakfasts were excellent ( we tried the typical jamaican breakfast, the steak, moist muffins, and the french toast).  The coffee was good to the last drop and the fresh guava and pineapple juice combination was lovely. The panoramic view overlooking the Caribbean, and the relaxing pool with orchids, a small waterfall and fish pond, just a stones throw from Doctor's Cave beach, made this the ideal location for our family. We have found a home away from home!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and secure. Be sure to take the leftovers from your breakfast back to the fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoeIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful property just up the hill above the 'hip strip', but you'd never know it! Warmly welcomed by owners Jeremy and Clarissa, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Comfortable rooms, lovely terrace and pool area and attractive landscaping, with a great view out over Montego Bay. Breakfasts were wonderful, I thoroughly recommend the jamaican choices which were memorable.
We hope to come back, and would not dream of staying elsewhere. Unreserved recommendation for anyone looking for an alternative to a large resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We love everything about this place. The lush vegetation and serenity is such a treat after the hustle (and getting hustled) of Mo Bay. We stayed here Sum Fest weekend and loved coming home to our little retreat on the hill. The proximity to the hip strip without the noise is great. The humidity in July is rather cloying so we appreciated the pool as a reward for making the sojourn up the hill! The decor and comfort of the rooms was really special. The B+B cats made the place all the more homey.
Another reviewer noted the cluster of men at the Rehab Bar at the foot of the steps leading from Polkerris. Well after 10pm these guys and many more locals convene with their grills and jerk stands and cook stellar cuisine! Jason provided us with steamed conch, steamed snapper with callaloo, and conch chowder. This is the best meal we had in Montego Bay. Next stay, we will bring Jason's food home to Polkerris and feast.
The owners were pleasant and gave us a lot of space. We enjoyed this, as it was our first B+B experience.
My only suggestion to the owners is to provide more hooks for hanging towels and clothes. We spent a lot of time at the beach and pool and had sweaty clothes to hang. There was a large closet but we lacked a place for things to dry. The decorative treatment over the shower bar precluded this. We ended up using the posts on our 4 poster bed (a sin).
If we ever get a chance to go back to Montego Bay, we wouldn't think of going anywhere else but Polkerris.

Room Tip: We liked the second story for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolK512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here after spending a week as leaders at one of the Jamaica Baptist Union youth summer camps. We were shattered and it was great to spend the first day of our break just chilling by the pool and watching the goings on in Montego Bay below. You also get breakfast by the pool. A short walk from the strip and the centre of Montego Bay. A great alternative to the soulless all inclusives which are located out of town. Would recommend to anyone. It's a partner B&B to Polkerris so if one is fully booked then try the other.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you want to avoid the big all inclusive places then this is the place to stay in Montego Bay. Right in the centre and within walking distance of the strip. Have stayed there twice, one of those stays being a last minute, late night stay after the car radiator sprung a leak on the way back to Kingston. We were accommodated no problem. Would recommend Polkerris to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,069 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,388 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing