We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustiine, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden paradise!!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The reviews on this site do not do this bed and breakfast justice. This place is truly outstanding by any measure. The view is fabulous and I am sure that there is no better view in Montego Bay. Also, the staff are exceptionally efficient and welcoming. Furthermore, the rooms are excellently appointed and clean. However, my favourite part of the stay was the tasty fruit platter and jamaican breakast which was served every morning on the patio. If I could award six points I would. I will be sure to be back and to recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
92
221
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My fiancee and I just returned from a short few days in MoBay, and the Vista de la Bahia is a real gem -- a great find just a few minutes walk to the hip strip. It is quiet, clean, has beautiful views, and just may be the best value in town. Peter and Elaine, the owners, are extremely gracious and have created a lovely home away from home for anyone who doesn't go in for the crazy prices and crazy people at most all-inclusives. We loved it, and we're actually going back later this month!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If an "all-inclusive" hotel is not for you and you wish to see something of the real Jamaica and it's people, then we must recommend the Polkerris, at least for part of your stay. Whilst we were there they achieved #1 review in the Carribean - If there is anywhere better in the world then I would like to know!
Jeremy and Clarrisa were perfect and very kind hosts and thier staff were always polite and friendly. You will see from other reviews how wonderful everything was from breakfasts to bedrooms. Our abiding memory has to be sitting on the balcony watching the sunsets over Montego Bay.
This was supposed to be the "trip of a lifetime" with little chance of us going again, however, we are already wondering whether we could repeat it sometime. Who knows?
If you are hiring a car beware of Dhana who let us down and were rude. Chalis are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: They are all nice in different ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had the pleasure of returning to Polkerris for the second time in a year. Simply said, the accommodations are lovely and the hospitality provided by Jeremy, Clarissa and their staff is wonderful. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda_and_Fronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Polkerris. Clarissa, Jermey and the entire staff make you feel hospitable. The breakfast is always delicious. This has been our second stay and I would recommend this to every one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

To start, Jeremy was responsive with my multiple email questions and happily arranged our airport transfers.

When we got in, the place was beautiful and clean. The wide verandah had a beautiful view of the Bay and our room was clean and very comfortable. When we checked in at 11 am, our room was not ready yet so Clover immediately served us with sorrel juice. What a nice welcome.

Breakfasts were also delicious. We started with fresh fruits and juice. Then, we were given a choice of eggs and bacon (or pancakes etc.). I opted for typical Jamaican breakfast. The saltfish and ackee were so fresh, as were the fry fish. Clarissa was a gracious host and she even made sure that the fry fish I tired was a whole fish as opposed to just filets.

The location was also perfect. It was above hip strip so it was accessible to bars and restaurants and Doctor's Cave Beach. But, it was also high enough that we did not hear any of the thumping music from hip strip. The walk from Polkerris to hip strip was safe because we went through their other properties as a short cut so we felt safe walking home from the strip to Polkerris at night.

Overall, it was a lovely stay thanks to the owners, Clarissa and Jeremy, and a lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I cannot express how wonderful my stay was at Polkerris. The owners Jeremy and Clarissa made my husband and I feel so warm and welcome. I felt like a VIP. This was our first visit so we tried two different rooms: the queen room and the king room. The king was quite bit larger. Can you say walk in closet, mini fridge stocked with filtered water and a filled ice bucket provided nightly. Everything sparkles at this hotel - eating off the floor would not be a stretch. The botanically exquisite pool and pond with waterfall - oo la la.

The absolute best part of my stay there was the delicious breakfast on the balcony whilst facing the incredible ocean views. Breakfast was beyond ordinary: fresh fruit (not of a can) juicy wedge of Papaya, whole peeled banana, slices of pineapple, half of a grapefruit - pith removed- and pulp prepared for eating and that's the starter. Security was no joke here. Jeremy and Clarissa worked very hard to meet your needsI love this place, I cannot wait to go back. I may try for the summer. Wonderful property, wonderful host and hostess, wonderful staff. Eat every meal at the Pelican Grill and go to Doctor's cave beach and Margueritaville. All these places are within walking distance.

No Hip Strip noise will disturb you incredible sunset views. It adjacent to the Hip Strip just not too close to have to listen to reggae house club music all night long.

Room Tip: The King room is the best. Spacious, walking closets and the King Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
2,003 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
3,129 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.5 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
5,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing