We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BASIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
MD, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BASIC”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It's not really a resort or a spa. The rooms aren't the nice. The sheets are worn and the pillows are flat, beds are average. My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night. We got a room with two double beds close to the pool. We had a battered up dresser, a very dirty sofa and two old chairs in the room.
The property itself is located a little from the Hip Strip maybe a 3 min walk. Its rather small but they do have a pool, a bar and a restaurant. There is wifi access around the pool area depending on the location of the rooms you may get wifi in your rooms.
The bar is by the pool deck and they play music there during the days and late evenings. Most guests gather here as there isn't much to do around the hotel itself.
The hotel is good for a stop over or if you're on a really really tight budget but I wouldn't waste my vacation time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    53
    30
    43
See reviews for
23
69
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I traveled there with a large group for a church mission trip and I will admit it was a good experience. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner Gloriana and she is the sweetest woman you can ever meet. My room had a nice working shower, decent a/c and no bugs. It it just two blocks from the beach and was in my opinion a great place. But do ask to see the rooms first as others in my group weren't as happy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howler235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgraded rooms you can check it out on out website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I needed an inexpensive room for one night in between resorts. I got a recommendation to stay here and it was a terrible choice! I paid a small upgrade for a mountain view only to be on the same side as the highway. There were rocks, no mountains! There was traffic noise the whole night. The room had a king bed, and also a twin bed...weird! The bathroom was outdated and scary. The hot water did not work and I was scared to walk on the dirty red carpet. The only good thing was the bed was clean and when I finally fell asleep, it slept ok. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Afrazierus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed one night and it was frightening! After driving from Ocho Rios, we were tired and desperate to find a nice, inexpensive place to rest for one night that offers wi-fi. Our room was in the rear, away from the noise, unfortunately, that was as good as it got… That room had certainly seen much better days, it felt unclean and I was afraid to use the bathroom in any capacity. There were no windows, with the exception of the bathroom, which we initially overlooked as it seem a bit surreal. It rained outside and inside the room. First thing the next morning, we checked out as fast as we could.

Room Tip: I don't believe any good rooms are available here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NovieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgraded rooms you can check it out on out website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is very dark and tired.The staff have no warmth certainly not Jamaican style. I only stayed one night after a stay in Kingston and flying from Mo Bay to London and was glad it was no longer.The room was small and contained 2 double bssseds which looked past their best.The beds were made up with the sheet on top of a blanket. I did not feel that the blanket was that clean to have against my skin so had to remake the bed without the blanket.The furniture was old and dilapidated and the Tv had no remote.The Tv was on the wall and controls were on top of the Tv and it was placed at a height which made it difficult to operate.The restaurant had quite a large menu but when I went to have dinner most things were unavailable. I gave up and went to Toby's for dinner and breakfast.The towels provided were completely threadbare.The impression seemed all about taking your money wth no concern for the comfort of the guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Was only in for 1/2 a day, as had friends staying there. (Before we all went to a rented villa). Rooms were ok - price was apparently reasonable and had working A/C. Beautiful pool area though, and the staff at the bar were very nice. I think you sort-of get what you pay for. This is a hotel which is not too fancy, but close to the strip and the beach. We, as I mentioned previous, stayed at a nice Villa. We ended up with no water for 3 days in the Villa while they had no water problems at this hotel. So maybe we should have stayed put. Ha!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose21Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgraded rooms you can check it out on out website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel. First night upon arriving and the last night before departure. A variety of folks stay here and the staff was helpful at all times. This is a value given the over priced hotels in the area. The Hip Strip is down the street which I found to be desultory at best with very aggressive hustling, trash and really bad sidewalks wihout a whole lot of choices. There is a small beach to swim across the street from the Sandals' Carlyle hotel which is within walking distance from the Hotel Glorianna. I would stay here again. I was grateful for a very hot shower and a comfortable bed after traveling around the island and staying in places that were abysmal or just OK and very over priced. Keep your expectations realistic here and enjoy the lush foliage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgraded rooms you can check it out on out website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Property: Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing