We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do these people know the meaning of customer service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do these people know the meaning of customer service?”
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We were shown our room and found the first one to be a little musty and as such requested that an air freshner be placed in the room.

The front desk staff were less than receptive to our request. And after checking in we realised that it was actually the bed linen which was the cause for much of the odor. We requested that it be changed and removed from the room and were subjected to sum it up in one word - Abuse.

  • Liked — The price seemed reasonable
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bella365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    53
    31
    44
See reviews for
24
71
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I was called to Jamaica on short notice for a medical emergency and decided to stay at Hotel Gloriana because of the reviews on this website.

I was not disappointed! The hotel exceeded my expectations. It was clean, the staff was fantastic, the security, the front desk, the housekeeping staff and the restaurant staff all treated me great. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk to the tourist strip, 10 minute walk to Doctors Cave Beach and almost directly across from a police station so it is safe, even at night (when you use common sense)

The room I was in was one of the cheapest, $40US/night. It consisted of a king sized bed, washroom with shower, television and telephone. I was spotless and smelled great.

The hotel itself looks small from outside but once inside you are in a courtyard environment with a nice pool and nice mature palm trees. There is a mini mart on the property and a good souvenir shop.

The only negative I found was the price of food and drinks in the restaurant. One morning I had just coffee and a glass of orange juice and it cost me $7 US!! Looking at the cost of food they had afterwards I ate on the hip strip and since I had rented a car downtown (although that method might not be good for everyone)

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay at while in Jamaica this is the place, even a stop over before a stay at a resort.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — restaurant prices
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbugcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

nice quiet establishment fron the afrot desk to the gardner ground keepers. my housekeeper rosie is a pleasant and hard working person, ms gloria herself is a superb hotel owner and takes out time in her busy schedule to talk and most important listens to all that stay on her property. i love the new entertainment that they have there now and looking forward to next stay in december and i pray to bring a lot of people from the motor city with me. regina t. lawson detroit michigan 3133965345

  • Liked — location near the hip strip and near the airport and the hotel and it offer was nice
  • Disliked — no beach it is around the corner which was a nice little walk
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravinsrelief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Property: Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing