We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

The Calypso Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The food was delicious and the service was great. The view of the ocean was beautiful. This restaurant is not part of the all inclusive meals and drinks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellant dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Went for a farewell dinner for family. I had read other reviews and thought we would give it a try. There are not a lot of great restaurants in Montego Bay. The entire evening was splendid. The staff were attentive and charming. The food was really good, great choice, beautifully presented and very good value. The Appetizers were fabulous. Pumpkin & lobster soup, served tableside from a pumpkin - very original. Duck Rolls, Coconut Shrimp.
Will be definitely going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you had such a great time and we look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and very good food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is not too easy to find a restaurant in Montego Bay that will combine great food, great ambiance and impeccable service but Calypso manages to do so. Whether one is eating outdoors or under the large pavilion the setting is lovely and the service is friendly and attentive. The chef who hails from Mexico but has been around the world and Italy in particular has devised an interesting menu with good choices. The spicy seviche as an appetizer is delicious and both the fish entrees and the duck are very well prepared and presented.
Altogether it is a pleasure to have a really good restaurant in Mobay and I warmly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for this great review and your appreciation not just for the ambiance of the restaurant but the effort we put into the menu. We actually have new items now that you might like to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Finally a Great Restaurant in Montego Bay”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ate there a couple of times this month, the food is world class and the service is excellent! All the dishes I tried were pretty good, but I recommend the corvina. The chef very honestly admitted that arrive frozen, nevertheless it taste as fresh a fish just fished. The wine selection is decent to be in Montego Bay and they serve one of my favorite red, the Primitivo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We have now put a new menu in place so please let us know what you think after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great lobster”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

nice lobster good service try the cantina malbec nice red wine.
had the lobster and chicken both very good, Val is the man

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Showme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the lobster and the wine and very happy that Val provided good service as usual. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Rose Hall, Montego Bay
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Rose Hall, Montego Bay
 
Hopewell, Montego Bay
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing