We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value - Would Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value - Would Recommend!”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at the Decameron from Dec 18-26/09.

Checkin Service - We had a crowded shuttle, expecting a long wait, that was not the case at all, went smooth with no complaints.

Rooms - We stayed in the old part of the hotel Room#11, I liked this area because it was very quiet. Rooms was large, high ceilings. Furniture is outdated, but really it didn't matter to us! Bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard, sheets were fresh and clean everyday. Air conditioner was turned on when we first checked in, worked the entire time with no problems. The Bathroom was large. Shower area was a perfect size, closet was also located in there. The only complaint that I would have about the bathroom was the consistency of the water during my showers. The perfect time to have a shower is before 730am. The water turned cold after 5 mins, lasts between 45 sec to 2 mins~! If you can shower late at night or early morning, you probably would not encounter this problem. It became rather annoying! The TV sound was distorted, but hey I was not there to watch TV~ Power went out a couple of times. Safe was broken, but we didn't need it. The housekeeping staff were always courteous, carefully moved our stuff around their cleaning. We left money, misc valuables, $3000 camera equipment, etc laying around, nothing went missing, never did I question if anything did!

Grounds - There was always staff painting, sweeping, laying flooring, and misc upkeep the entire time we were there~! Hotel is older, but the simple upgrades made it extremely comfortable. I was never inconvenienced by anyone.

Food/Bar/Grill/a la carte/ - The Food is to die for!~ Salad Bar was great, lots of variety, fresh fruit, yummy salads. Different theme every night we were there, Jamaican Night was the best =). Huge variety at all meals, Omelets, Sandwich station, Grill at back were my favs! The A la Carte - book your reservations early in the day, 2 seating times (630/830). Good Service, quiet, nice variety of means (try the ribs), fish was over cooked, but I am picky when it comes to cooking fish~! Wine isn't the greatest, but again I am picky. Very intimate and worth going a couple of times! Beach Grill - is great, especially if you are hungry between meals! Open until 12, good service, food ok, but hey its the basics! Hamburgers, Hotdogs, Fries etc...TIP - Red Stripe on Tap, Pop machine. Good for a quick drink if your at the far left beach. Bar Service - I MISS YOU Keimeisha (aka Fluffy). TIP these ppl! They work for $50 a week! I can't say enough about the service, gets busy after dinner, try the lobby bar if you want quick service! Pool Bar - great especially after a long day in the sun and you want to cool off, Closes at 5 =(
All the serving staff were great - never bad service (only when buffet is busy, can wait for drinks, coffee etc). Chevroy was the best waiter!~ again TIP these ppl. 500 Jay is only about 6.50! Get lower denominations~! They will treat you like Gold and remember what you like to drink and will hand you another one before you even ask for it!

Entertainment - great shows, more for adults. Marva, Sunshine, Zulu, Chris, Orlando, Natasha, all great! If your plan is to relax on the middle beach area, don't be surprised to find one of these staff pulling you in for an activity in the pool, relay races etc. Its fun if you do it a couple of times. Glitters is fun, Orlando is the better DJ and takes requests!

Beach - Not bad, get your places early! Leave your towels draped over your spots! Good swimming, I enjoyed the left beach the best - its quiet and not a lot of ppl there! If you sit waist high in the water, fish swim around you. Floating docks are great too! Water temp - its like a bath! Warm, refreshing. You can't walk on the beach after dark, Jelly fish are a big problem at night!

Security - Impressed with this! Front gate is guarded, entire grounds are monitored 24hours a day, Guests have to log in and out. Always someone around.

Misc - lots to do on this resort! Gym is moderate, didn't try the tennis courts, sort of tucked away!

Location/Locals - We walked around for a bit on the first day and visited some stores, markets. Vendors are pushy, make a deal with them, every stand is the same, they will follow you until your ready to go in there store. If your not interested a simple no thanks is sufficient. Take a JUTA taxi - we rented a taxi for $180US for 4 ppl, went to Dunns River Falls, Bob Marley Museum. WORTH it - he brought a cooler, let us pretty much do what we wanted. It was an 8 hour trip....more than reasonable. If maryjane isn't your thing, you will notice A LOT of ppl selling, haggling you for it. Again just say no, if they persist say "respect".....

Overall Impression - This hotel was great, perfect for couples, singles, group of friends, parents with teens, not really designed for small kids, say 6 and under. I would go back to this little Gem in a heart beat! I miss it already! 7 days is a good time frame, but 10 would be perfect. Stay at this resort you will NOT be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xenalare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    1,257
    427
    192
    134
See reviews for
458
1,324
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My daughter and I returned to the Royal Decameron again this year for Christmas and this year even surpassed last. The hotel is conveniently located from the airport and allows individuals to leave the resort and walk in dowtown Montego Bay. Shopping was good and the people helpful. The Bobsled Cafe is minutes away and it was a pleasure to meet one and get autographs from one of the members of the Jamaican Bobsled team! The entertainment crew at the Decameron are exceptional - energetic - cheerful - polite - really make your day. The food was unbelievable - I can't think of anything we lacked. Thank you everyone for another great vacation and a terric Christmas vacation. Will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lea1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week over the christmas period. A last minute booking with some trepidation as normally tend to stay at 4* plus and not the biggest fans of all inclusive. However the Decameron exceeded our expectations and highly recommend to others.

The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport so easy transfer. You do see the planes arriving from the beach but the noise is not intrusive and no flights seemed to take place at night. The hotel is at the start of the strip of bars gift shops and restaurants which are within easy walking distance. With the exception of Marguerita (upmarket restaurant with superb food) we didnt try any of the others. We were approached constantly asking if we wanted taxi ride or ganja. However the atmosphere is never threatening and the strip is well policed.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room which had a good sized balcony with a sea view. Not luxurious but clean, comfortable and spacious. The plumbing was a weakness as the shower would sometimes drop in pressure (though not temperature) and the toilet flush wasnt strong. The cleaners were very good in making our room back up.

There are two restaurants one a la carte and one buffet and also a snack bar for burgers etc during the day. The a la carte restaurant was disappointing as there were only 4 or so choices for each course with food very simillar to the buffet so it didnt seem to provide anything additional. The buffet had a very large range of food at all meals and the food was of good quality. My wife was disappointed that some food items such as avocado did not seem to be replaced when gone and the fish choices were very restricted but overall very commendable. Short order cooks were friendly and waiting staff were quick and polite in providing water, coffee and drinks at the table.

The hotel has several bars and again staff were very friendly. Service was extremely prompt and drinks were not watered down.

There was a wide range of activities laid on by the hotel ranging from evening discos to quizzes and games by the pool. One of the key advantages of this hotel though is that there are so many different areas this is never invasive. Note that the beach is very shallow and it is not possible to stroll along it as there are promenades that jut out.

Gift shop and travel agents at the front of the hotel with a small but well equipped gym as well.

In summary, highly recommended especially when price and star rating taken into account. Friendly , clean, good food and nice location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BackintheUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just got back from the Decameron, MoBay. It is my new favorite resort. I have never seen an animation staff that worked that hard and made everyone feel great, from the littlest to the eldest. They made our vacation really special. For those that criticize, all I can tell you is go with the mindset that you are on Jamaica time, and go with the flow and relax and enjoy. You can nitpick to death anyplace. The resort was great, with great staff, treat them kindly, and they more than reciprocate. If I had to find a complaint, it would be very hard pillows and it would be wonderful to have coffee makers in the rooms. But the rooms all have an ocean view balcony to die for, which makes up for the pillows and coffee makers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trishgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

THE service was top fight,the staff was EXCELLENT !! THE location was great,right in the center of everthing. The rooms were clean. I had a wonderful time.the young lady named Happy workd for the Royal is just that Happy,she always have a smile,she loves the kids.She's the BEST.and don't forget James and he's brother the two of them are quite a pear and they are CUTE !!! I WILL RETURN NEXT YEAR!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALVENAw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

All round great resort for 3.5 star rating, it was our first all-inclusive trip to Caribbean and turned out really good...couldn't have asked for better. Hip Strip is great...JTL tours were very punctual and the guides make it very enjoyable.

Zipline tour is a must experience through the rainforest...Freddie - best guide ever!!
Duty shopping in Ocho Rios is great.

A tip - Absolutely do NOT take your digital camera to Dunn's River Falls if you plan to climb the 900 ft falls, ziploc bags don't always work, you will be neck deep in the water. A waterproof camera is the best option.

Hotel hospitality is superb...always greet with a smile and happy to help. Main Dining is great food..especially the Barbeque Pork with Jerk Sauce.

Not a fan of the night shows at the hotel or the Al La Carte Restaurant...but our personal choice...a lot of guests enjoyed it.

We will definitely go back...Ya Mon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arpita_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We spent six nights at the Royal Decameron Montego Beach and found it to be a marvelous bargain. Overall, it was a very relaxing experience around workers and guests who were always in a good mood. I will highlight the positives:

Very, very close to the airport. The airport shuttle was quick. Plus, watching the planes land was interesting.

On the ‘Hip Strip,’ so you don’t have to pay for a taxi to go shopping, to Margaritaville, or the Bobsled Café.

Many relaxation areas, like daybeds in the foyer, hammocks on property, and mattresses by the sea.

EXCELLENT maid service (I’m still wondering how she got all the sand out of the bed. I’m thinking fresh sheets every day.)

Variety of food, including some very tasty fish dishes and nice vegetables, beans, and rice.

Bartenders who give the utmost in customer service. (I found them even more entertaining than the ENT Crew!)

And because it was a bargain, we could go off-property and spend some money without feeling like we were not getting our money’s worth from the all-inclusive resort.

Here are some tips:

Bring some rainy day activities. We had travel-sized Trivial Pursuit and Pass the Pigs games that we played when it rained.

They have grapefruit juice. (I’m not into sweet cocktails, so I’m glad we asked for it.)

When I asked about a room with a mini fridge, the clerk said that only the garden-view rooms had the fridges. We kept our oceanfront room and were so happy we did. Some of my favorite moments were mornings on the patio, having coffee that we brought back from the dining room.

You can use US dollars for everything (even on the Hip Strip) and you will get change in US dollars. We took $100 in one-dollar bills, for tipping, and some cash in larger bills. When we ran out, we used the ATM for Jamaican Dollars. We tipped the bartenders, waiters, and maids daily and gave larger tips to the band and ENT staff at the end of our stay.

And go to the Pork Pit for Jamaican jerk. It is up the hill (you can take a taxi if you don’t want to walk) but it is not to be missed. Skip the Burger King. The burgers at the hotel are better.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SangSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#12 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
138 reviews
29.9 mi away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
989 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing