We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Waterfront, All Inclusive Except for the WiFi and In-Room Safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Sydney
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice Waterfront, All Inclusive Except for the WiFi and In-Room Safe!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Water front resort. Part two storey and part 4. All very nice as a classic "all inclusive" resort but lacking some friendliness; a legacy of a large resort with board walks and narrow beaches below concrete sea walls. A lovely location to watch the sunset.

"All inclusive" EXCLUDES WiFi (only available in reception for US $5 per hour) and in room safe at US $2 per day. Go figure!

Lovely large room and large bathroom. Good bed. Shower pressure just at best, adequate. Plenty of hot water. Air-conditioned, ceiling fan, cable TV, iron, ironing board. Our room at the end of a row of buildings, room 21, was very quiet.

Food for an "all inclusive" was very good in the buffet, (we were quite impressed) but the restaurant which you need to book on advance, was poor. The only possible reason you would bother with the restaurant is to control your serving portion as many of us tend to over eat at a buffet. The choice of drinks throughout our stay was very, very good with the exception of wine which was absolutely horrible.

Service was adequate and efficient but not overly friendly. Check in and check out was efficient but so it should, 4 staff, a couple of guests with nervous glances between all before a staff member would make a move. I guess the staff did not generally come across as friendly, rather just processors.

A nightly show in the resort was good. We didn't use the water activities but the list seemed extensive.

Room Tip: Stay ground floor in the Sunset Building between number say 6 and 21. Number 1 is closest to the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    1,248
    422
    190
    131
See reviews for
454
1,312
109
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this resort over the Easter weekend for 12 days with 2 other couples. The resort is fairly small but it doesn't lack anything. There were more than enough beach chairs to go around (you don't have to get up super early and reserve them, and it didn't seem like many people were doing that). There were hammocks to lay in or chairs on the pier. There wasn't alot of space to take a walk but if you go off the resort you can walk down the hip street, I found that you didn't get approached as much at night.
The ride from the airport was very short, the guide will tell you that it is 10 minutes but it didn't even take that long.
Check in was easy, there were however only 6 people that arrived at the same time as us so I don't know if it might take longer with bigger groups.
The beaches were nice but the biggest swimming area was off of a break wall with a water trampoline and some floating loungers. The pools were both small but nice, one had a swim up bar.
The food and drinks were great. I am vegetarian and pretty strict (I won't eat anything if I don't know what's in it). So I didn't try any of the soups or stews that they had out. There was tons of fruits and veggies out at every meal. There was also pasta that could be made to order, they cleaned out the pans between order which they don't always do at other resorts. For meat eaters there was always lots of options with local dishes added: goat curry, jerk chicken, ox tail etc. The a la carte was good but only had one menu with limited options and only one vegetarian option. But the food was delicious and the service was good. I wish that they wouldn't put ham in their chef salad though. They had a big drink selection at their bars with blender drinks, mixed drinks, wine and beer. The lobby bar will also make cappuccinos.
The rooms were a good size, they were basic but clean. They had large balconies that were great for watching sunsets. The only problem that we had was the noise. Our room was right by the entertainment and disco section so we could hear noise at night. The other couples that were there with us had rooms near the pool and they couldn't hear the noise at night. When we asked if we could change room we were simply told "no". But we were there for vacation so didn't dwell on that.
At this resort they charge you 5 dollars for an hour of internet that can be broken up, or 20 dollars for 24 hours which has to be used in a row. We paid for internet once but then found that the computers in the lobby were constantly connected to the internet, I don't know if this happens all of the time or if we just go lucky.
We booked a few trips for our stay. We tried to use our travel company (Transat) but they didn't have tours that fit our schedule. So, most of the tours we did were with the company across the street Jutta Tours. We used Richard every time and he was great and saved us money.
We used the gym a few times it was adequate some cardio machines, weight machines and free weights. With a TV, water cooler and A/C.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel it is a high quality 3 and 1/2 star hotel. They were constantly doing upgrade (varnishing stairs, fixing lights etc.), it was very clean and the service was great, especially the wait staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the entertainment or disco section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whoopi1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great resort! Five minutes from the airport and close to shopping and entertainment. The staff at the resort were amazing, from the front desk to the maids, bartenders and servers. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The entertainment staff were fantastic and provided activities and shows three times a day. There was a great selection of food at every meal and we never went hungry. The drinks were excellent, and the bartenders were happy to give you their "specials" when asked. The resort was clean and the maintenance crews were always out gardening, cleaning the beaches, or fixing and upgrading things. Everything was close to the rooms and our first floor deck was perfect....50 feet from the ocean. I would highly recommend this resort for all families, friends, couples or solo travellers!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Loved this resort, perfect size. The staff is amazing and the food is quite good too. Breakfast was my favourite. Omelettes made to your liking, french toast, fresh fruit so good. We preferred the grill for lunch which includes pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese and patties. The grounds are kept really clean and the rooms are quite big and nice. Our room was ocean view, just steps from the beach. Highly recommend 2nd floor ocean view room, spectacular. Loved everything about this resort. I recommend hitting the strip while your there. Lotsa shopping, restaurants, bars, Margaritaville! Old hospital park is amazing, loved it! Will definitely stay again, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Awesome place, friendly staff, clean, great food.. Quiet hotel no kids at all.. No complaints about the hotel BUT
I ended up getting what I thought were mosquito bites (3 in a row to be precise) .. When we came home the following day.. My husband and I were covered with these bites similar to mosquito bites (always 3 in a row)..
Doc says they were sand mites and they came home with us! Very frustrating and annoying .. But we did find out Jamaica has alot of sand fleas.. So be careful ... If u spot 3 bites on ur arm or legs... Ur doomed!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellissima65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel the week of April 10th. I was impressed. I think all the other reviews about the nice clean rooms, good food and excellent service are all very accurate. What I thought was great about this hotel was everything was just steps away. When you stay in the main building you are literally steps from the pool, the buffet and the water. If you are in the other building your are also steps away from the water. There was great snorkeling right in front of the hotel and the hotel is just a short five minute drive from the airport. If you are looking for a convenient location, amazing water, great service and rooms that literally are a stone throw from beautiful calm Caribbean water this hotel will not dissapoint! P.s. if our are a sunset person they were amazing here!

Room Tip: This is a small resort. Majority of the rooms are oceanfront and literally in less than a minute fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel, which was not overcrowded or too loud, is very close to the Montego Bay International Airport - just a 15 minute walk in fact, which makes the $20 taxi ride seem rather extortionate. Check-in was fast and efficient but there was a lack of detailed information about the general area and hotel amenities, which was a shame. Rooms are very nice but a word of warning for wheelchair users is that we only found one room that had a ramp and generally this hotel is not easily accessible as they rely a lot on manual wooden ramps to be put down. The rooms, which are of a bright decor, are well apportioned and clean. The beds, which have the requisite matress protectors, were comfortable. Aircon is noisy and unfortunately the walls and ceilings are quite thin which meant that the noise of our overweight neighbours above jumping up and down all night kept us awake - but I suppose we can't blame the hotel for rowdy guests. There is no mini-bar or fridges in rooms, which was a let-down, but the TV was good and had 100+ channels in different languages. Clock radios which could be power-cut-proof by including a battery, lost 4 hours a day which rendered them useless. It was a shame that no mineral water was provided in the room because some of our neighbours were afforded this privilege - when we asked at the front desk, they said some would be sent but it never arrived.

The bars are excellent with a good selection of drinks and cocktails, as well as popcorn. The staff who man the bars are polite and cheery and although the American guests insist on throwing $1 bills for every order, the staff do not expect this, which is nice as us Brits are not compulsive tippers. The restaurant is casually managed and the food is hot and good quality, but falls down in terms of the choice of food available. The worst thing this hotel does is rationing of Bacon at breakfast which is just outragious and means that if you want a rasher or two on your plate you have to queue up for ages behind guests waiting for complex eggs and omelettes to get it!

The pools and in particular the sea are very nice indeed and there are more than enough loungers and beds/hammocks for everyone.

Check-out was efficient too and the best thing about this ALL-INCLUSIVE resort has to be it's prices which are very reasonable.

The "Hip Strip" is just outside, which is another benefit. Down-town Montego Bay is a short stroll and it was nice not to have been hassled too much on our many walks. This hotel, without a doubt, has the perfect location for a beautiful Jamaican Sunset.

Room Tip: Ground Floor by the beach - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartUK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,368 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing