We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
West Chester, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The ocation is great you can walk outside the resort and shop. You will get confronted by the people trying to sell you their goods but the futher up the strip you walk they are not accosting you in the street. But you don't feel in danger, just sometime annoying. The resort itself was very clean but needed some updating. The staff made up for the lack of newness. The food was good with a variety each day, mostly Jamiacan. But you're in Jamaica LOL. We were in the Presidential suite and the views were magnificent. However, the suite needed some maintenance in one of the bedrooms and on the last day we all had to be moved to 2 reg. rooms as there had been a hugh storm and the roof was leaking pretty bad. On the whole for the money it was worth it. However if I went again I would like to try a one of the newer resort, but the staff and the service couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: The rooms near with the lower numbers (201 etc.) are very noisy at night when the shows are going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    1,257
    427
    192
    134
See reviews for
458
1,324
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the past 5 years years on trips to JA. This hotel isn't your fanciest resort, but it's all inclusive - complete with GOOD food and drinks. The shows aren't Broadway level but they are appropriate for the resort and the price you pay. Customer service was excellent, you really get to know the bartenders and entertainment staff since it's a smaller resort. Great place to meet people and make long lasting friendships. And since it's on the least expensive side, you can stay for a week and not break the bank. The best part about Decameron is that it's on the STRIP and walking distance to clubs, restaurants, shopping and five literal minutes from the airport.

You should note that it's not the fanciest of resorts, so yes the elevator only accommodates one person with luggage or two people without, and hot water may be an issue on some days...but hey it's Jamaica! Can't beat the deal and the great time you will have!

Room Tip: Ocean view on a high level is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

09 Sep 2013
"Good time , will be back for the fourth time"

Third time at this resort.Jamaica is unique. We had an unforgettable time. The 7 am wake up swim in clear water and the night show were keeping us alive and wishing to live forever this kind of life. The hotel is clean , premises are well maintained , NOBEL , Sharlette , the lobby desk personnel and the room maid were great . The new entertainment manager (Sidiqi – sorry for wrong spelling) it’s far beyond the top notch TV shows guys. A few glitches in their entertainment schedule did not ruin anything , because they still have Dimitri and his few young guys around who will squeeze the last drop from their imagination to keep up the guests’ mood .
The resort is small, the food variety is not fantastic, but they have great cooks who will do the best to make you happy. Just ask. All over we had a great time and we’ll be back for the forth time in the last three years.
Definitely, 3.5 stars are correct addressed. The single think which we were not happy was the Wi-Fi. Across the street , there is a small bar/pastry shop which will provide free Wi-Fi only if you order a coffee or a cookie. This suppose to be a lesson for DECAMERON management , not to charge US $20 for 24 hrs without the right to split those 24 hrs in small increments.
The strong points: staff/crew/beach, swim/entertainment
The weak points: internet access

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sor246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from my stay here. Nice room with a fantastic view. Lovely staff, & a clean hotel.
My only disappointment was on my last day, hearing the General manager speak to a member of staff inappropriately & I found this demeaning & painful to see. I did try to make my views known but waited an hour at the front desk to speak with a manager but they were always busy or just on the way, but never arrived, By this time I had to leave. This kinda ruined my lovely time here.

Room Tip: I had room 12. Wonderful views & a huge patio to chill & look onto sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mashupgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I think the hotel as good rooms ok not 5 star but comfertable,staff super cool nice food and allways good vibe ill def be back.Front of house staff very helpful friendly country they need alot of business reminds me of transkei south africa

Room Tip: definitely upstairs I think allways awsome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CintsaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want all the frills, this not the place for you. However, if you would like a beautiful location, good food, all inclusive, clean hotel at a really grat price then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Al of the rooms are ocean view but ask for a second floor room because the view is even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff. Food was delicious. Close distance to hip street. Rooms are nice but AC not in perfect condition. I will definitely considered staying here again next time I visit montego bay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#12 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
139 reviews
29.9 mi away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
989 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing