We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little pocket resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
angola, ny 14006
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little pocket resort”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great little pocket resort, we stayed there for 7-nights Mar.22-29, 2013, location is everything, the resort is 3-5 minutes from the airport, the resort is very compact, you can walk from front(street) to back(beach) in less that 5 minutes, about the same from end to end along the sea shore. This is a former Jack Tar Village, that will give you an idea a of the age of the facility. Overall the grounds and buildings were in good repair, freshly painted, good furnishings and housekeeping. The tiles floor/walls in the bathroom needed work.
We requested a second floor room in a quiet area, specifically in the separate Sunset building, we were given room #33, nice room, clean, king size bed, bed a little firm, pillows flat and firm, room had a small table with 2 chairs, and a lounge, good balcony, 2 chairs, great views. A caution, we did have hot water, and good water pressure, but in the morning it took a least 5 minutes to get hot water, good towels.
Entertainment, we never got to it, by the time we finished dinner around 8:00 PM, the show didn't start until 9:30, and from the sound we did hear, it seemed pretty loud.
Water sports, pretty limited, some kayaks, one 13 foot Hobie Wave(main only-tiller bar no stick), can only be used if the "Captain" sails it for you, a couple of windsurfers, I think a couple of paddle boats, and snorkel gear. Snorkeling great right off shore, within 20-30 feet of shore, the reefs are quite extensive, a lot of colorful reef fish.
Overall staff was great, Jamaicans are a friendly people, a few grumps, but the exception rather than the rule.
Food, the single biggest failing of the property, breakfast and desserts were the best parts of any of the meals. Lunch and Dinner were often similar, Jamaican cuisine was featured: most of the food was overcooked, vegetables were stewed, meats were tough, hard to cut, especially with a butter knife. Be careful when eating pork chops or chicken, many small bones, often the meat was not trimmed, chicken had the skin on, even in sauce. To rap it up, you could find something to eat, but should you have to search for something you like, or can eat?? The beach Grill was going to be our salvation, unfortunately the hamburgers/cheeseburgers were so dried and overcooked, they had absolutely no taste.
Would we go back? If you can work around the food this resort is a bargain, its location is excellent, snorkeling is excellent.

Room Tip: Sunset Building is separate from the main building, a lot quieter, less busy. Second floor rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    1,247
    422
    190
    131
See reviews for
454
1,312
109
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I am actually sitting in the lobby of the Decameron Montego Bay as I write this review. We are leaving today, our check in was great and our room ready. We arrived around 8 in the evening. Our rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The rooms could use updating but still very spacious and comfortable.
On our second day I went to the front desk to purchase the key rental for the safe and experienced the same as one of the previous reviews. Very rude front desk clerk. Nothing like our check in, I asked the rude clerk her name and I believe she said chichi. Rude no eye contact standoffish the checkout was fine. I first came with no cash assuming it would be charged to the room. ... My fault then came back with a 50 dollar bill to be told there is no change. She was rude and very unaccomodating. Like I was inconveniencing her. Checkout was ok the guy signal led to check us out while he was on the phone. But I said I had questions and he was seemed fine with hanging up the phone to check us out and answer my questions.
The bartenders were great. ... A big shout out for GEORGETTE! She is absolutely the best!
We did a day trip to Bob Marley Museum and Occho Rios. If you have a few people I would recommend a taxi/van for the day. Can be cheaper and at your pace. Zipp and Lloyd both treated us well. Ask for them by name they are associated with the resort.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1515ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our first time in Jamaica and we were looking for a Jamaican experience not a resort experience. Wow did we get it. This place is amazing. The location is second to none. We do a fair amount of travelling and our time here is up there with the best. Smooth transition from airport to resort...5 minutes. Check in was quick and staff very friendly. I have read here that some think the staff are not friendly and we found the opposite. They always answered our questions with a smile and always had time for a chat. Our room was oceanfront as all are. Amazing view. The food was too good...i have never eaten so much on vaca...everything was so tasty.The bars, shows, pool and beach were also perfect. we went off resort to walk Hip Strip many times and had a blast. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: had room 2...ground floor..loved it...walk out door to beach 15 feet away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in the Royal Decameron hotel for two weeks in September 2012, and it was amazing, the staff are very friendly, the hotel was spotless, The views are so beautiful......... Although there are a few bad points...
The entertainment team were good but they often did the same things every night which got very boring, The food wasn't great either not to everyone's liking.The night life in the hotel wasn't very good either, but overall I would go back to Jamaica but not to this hotel, its more of a relaxing holiday than a activity and partying one.
Oh yes and watch out for the men at the airport...do not let them take your things they will expect a big tip!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Overall I went to Jamaica not only to get some sun but to experience the Jamaican lifestyle and there cuisine and they didn't let me down. The main thing new visitors will notice is the beaches are small, and there's not a lot of restaurants. probably 2 or 3. Although the buffet is where it's at. The food is over the top amazing. Jamaican style all the way. The entertainment is caribbean style and the best. You'll probably see dance moves you never seen before. Off the resort is also great. Everything is right outside the resort less than 5 minutes away. It doesn't get any better than that.

When you get out of the Airport, you're about 10 minutes from the hotel. If you're expecting a Grand, very stylish, very fancy trip, this is the wrong place to be. If you want the full experience of Jamaica and what it offers, this is a great place. I am going to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Beach is smaller than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spreewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corunna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall, it was great for us. Let me explain. There were 6 of us that went together flying from Toronto. We did not start off on the right foot (at the resort).

Our flight landed at 9:25am in Mo Bay. After clearing customs and walking into the warm Jamaican air we found Lindsay McFarlane from SNL tours (who we hired previously to going to Jamaica). More on Lindsay later.

Lindsay dropped us at the resort which was 4 minutes from the airport. We really loved that aspect. We check in and were told our rooms would be ready by three. So we got changed, found some food, some drink, and some entertainment for the rest of the day. We return to the front desk around 3:30 and only one of the three rooms were ready. It wasn't until 6:30 that all three rooms were ready. It would not have been so bad waiting for our rooms if the front desk staff was more friendly and informative. Would have been helpful if they would have explained why it was taking so long ie; we want to have you guys close together (or something to that effect). We found it difficult to even be noticed. The front desk had no interest in even making eye contact. Maybe it was a bad day.

While I'm talking about staff, most bartenders were the same (even with tipping). Not a lot of interest in making eye contact or acknowledging, but in Jamaican time, you still got a drink. The entertainment itself was good at night. There was not much going on in our end of the resort during the day. The entertainment staff was mediocre. Pretty amazing that we had more fun with the maintenance staff and security. Between Nelson, Marlin, Aubrey, Mr. Cool and Ch____ thank you. You guys were absolutely incredible. And for "the pasta lady," You rock!

The resort itself; Our room was always tidy and the housekeeper was kind. We stayed in room #'s 2, 5, and 23, all in the sunset building. The view was perfect and the sunsets were always beautiful. We spent a lot of time watching the planes come in, catamaran's on tour, and people out snorkeling. The beach(es) was very small but serves its purpose. We never had any difficulty finding a chair to relax on. The food was great. Always something new to try. Disco was the only bar going on after 11pm.

Took about 20 minutes to walk from our resort to Margaritaville (which we did in the daytime and the night time). We always felt safe, never had any issues, even when we walked home from there at 2am. Go to the Pork Pit! It was about 10 minutes further than Margaritaville, but it was awesome. Wait until the airport to get liquor, it was cheaper than the hip strip (even with bargaining). The hip strip was neat to see. It was great getting to chat with locals. If you don't want to buy anything from them, tell them that and they usually back off. Not many of them were overly aggressive.

Now onto Lindsay McFarlane. He was the best part of our trip. We hired him to take us where we needed to go. He was knowledgeable, easy going, and great to talk to. On the Sunday we (6) went to Chukka to ride through orange and coconut fields on Dune Buggies (so much fun), we went and ate at the Far Out Fish Hut (awkward at first but delicious), to a beautiful secluded beach, and then to the Luminous Lagoon (also recommended). On Monday we (2) went to Firewater (pretty cool), Cool Blue Hole (a MUST SEE), Dunn's River, and to Scotchies (a local restaurant *delicious*). We had an amazing day and this was our favorite day all week. Then Wednesday, we went Deep Sea fishing. Came back with 7 Mauhi Mauhi. Got to cook up and eat one of them. It was sooo good! And the tour itself was awesome. We came across a pod of hundreds (literally) of dolphins. It was sooo cool!

We spent more time off of the resort than on the resort which could have altered my opinion. I would return to Mo Bay in a heartbeat. I'm still undecided if I would return to RDMB. It was good for the price.

Any questions, don't hesitate to ask!

Room Tip: Sunset building was great if you like it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for our vacation - March 10 - 16, 2013. We did not expect to be overwhelmed by this hotel due to the pictures. The pictures on internet do not do this hotel justice. Its a beautiful hotel, great service for the most part, wonderful resort!

We had one bartender named Chris who was completely rude to us. We ordered the infamous "Chi Chi" drink and he stated very rudely to my bf that he was not saying it correctly and refused to serve him. We went to another bar in the resort and ordered the drink again and were served. We asked the second bar tender how it was pronounced and he told us we were saying it right? Needless to say we all together avoided lobby bar to avoid j*ck*ss bartender thereafter (who was working our entire stay). Other then this we noted that the staff worked very hard and were very polite.

The resort was very clean and under maintenance. Though I could imagine some people would have been annoyed by all the painting and maintenance going on at the resort - it did not effect our stay at all and the resort looked immaculate as a result. The Jamaicans work very hard. During our staff I believe a owner or manager was in from out of town - we noted a gentleman who was staying at resort wearing Decameron logo on his shirt. We were told by another guest that prior to this managers arrival the service was much slower, however we have absolutely no complaints and would return to this resort in a second.

The location beats any other resort in Montego Bay hands down. Was very close to airport but plane noise does not bother resort what-so-ever in fact, it was quite the site watching all the different sorts of planes land throughout the day. Hotel is located on hip strip so it is not much a walk to see Montego Bay strip and downtown. (BEWARE FANTASY MARKET - when u leave the resort a guard will ask you for your room number and where you are going, just outside the gate there are people waiting to take you "shopping". They will bring you to market place which is safe but very overwhelming, good to see but leave your money at the hotel for this wander session). I have never seen people pressure you into buying things so badly elsewhere).

We got to see all other Montego Bay hotels from our tour buses, other ones very far from airport and town and appear completely "ghetto'ish" just outside the resorts. I dont believe I would stay at any other hotel regardless of cost in Montego Bay.

Great value! Well done Royal Decameron!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C and all ocean view rooms have great views! We stayed in 217 - was perfect. Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdumont03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,360 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing