We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was one of the most modest all-inclusive vacation spots my boyfriend and I have stayed in, but by no means, the worst. In fact, all we needed to have a good time was there-the beach was well-kept, clean, plenty of shaded areas to choose from, good food, drinks, and service. Huge thanks to the wonderful staff who checked us in at 10 am--when check-in time was 3 pm. Never felt too crowded, room was clean, very close to the airport--who could ask for better? We rented kayaks, paddle boats, snorkel gear, all available and free of charge. All in all, a great value--highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lcdubric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 3,278 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife stayed at this resort from Feb 23 to March 1st. We booked this vacation thru bookit back in October, and were looking forward to this vacation. I kept reading the reviews for this resort as time got closer for our vacation and got nervous about some of the reviews that were coming in. The major issue seems to be when arriving at the resort it is overbooked and they want to ship you to their sister resort an hour away. Well this is exactly what happened to us when we arrived on Saturday afternoon at 4 oclock.. They claimed to be overbooked and wanted to ship us to runaway bay an hour away and then on Sunday ship us back, so basically waste a day traveling and unpacking between 2 resorts. Well my wife talked to the customer service rep at a different desk and told him this was unacceptable, after 15 minutes of heated discussion the service rep, stated there was nothing he could do, and my wife said she needed time to think over our decision. So standing there in the lobby they were serving us drinks and my wife started to cry, well within five minutes a room just magically opened up. On the upcoming list of arrivals that the resort had our names and 2 other parties were highlighted on their sheet as people to bump and it was thru places like bookit they were bumping, not thru travel agents so im not sure why that is but thats what happened.
Once we arrived at the room it was very nice and clean, and had a nice view of the ocean.. We laid on the beach for most of our stay and had a great time. The beach grill on the resort had good food something for everyone. Now back to the room service, we were usually out of our room by 9 in the morning and wouldnt return till 4 typically, and out of our entire stay they only got to our room twice.. The other days we just told room service not to bother and just give us towels and we would make due. Im not sure if the staff is understaffed or just slow but this would explain why people arriving at the resort are getting bumped since check in time is 3 and rooms arent getting cleaned until 4 or 5 in the afternoon.
We had a good time the staff was very nice. We did leave the resort a couple of times to do some shopping. Locals try to sell you crafted items and can be aggresive but if you tell them firmly no they will leave you be.
One other thing this was our third trip to Jamaica and first time at this resort. We always enjoy the reggae music, but this resort does not play any of that, its more modern day american music top 40 music, so if you are wanting that genuine Jamaican vibe this isnt the place for you.
All in all for the money it was a decent place to stay but traveling 10 hours to get there and to hassle about getting a room was a real turn-off. We will be going back to Jamaica again next year but will not be going back to this resort. We are not real picky people but if you pay for a vacation 5 months in advance they should have a room for you when you arrive, or at least explain to you that the cleaning staff has not got to the room yet to clean it and please wait.. I will gladly pay the few extra dollars to stay some where else.
Also when you get there they do have hidden fees such as a 2 dollar a day safe charge and then room tax which was an additional 36 dollars for our six day stay.. This is a honest review so take it for what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

4 of us went for the week of Feb 21-28 to get away from the cold of Michigan. Did it have all the bells and whistles of other higher rated, more costly all inclusives? No, but it had everything we needed. Friendly and engaging staff, clean rooms, breathtaking views, and plenty of places to relax. I will say our AC and alarm clock didn't work properly, but we never mentioned it to the hotel staff, so no big deal. Elishia at the swim up bar made our week. Everyday she was one of the first people we saw and she always had such a great attitude! We would definitely go back if we had the chance!!

Room Tip: lower end rooms from 100-114 are situated near the pools, so these are great for daytime fun, and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For the money you spent this resort is great. Someone was always cleaning or painting something....we actually saw someone clean the buoys one day.
The buffet was great, always something different and sometimes the unusual. It sounds crazy but the soup and bread are thebest! I will miss not being able to have tht everyday!! ( even though the soup is just a broth) The ala carte resturant was really good (the coconut curried fish was the yummy) it also had the best service the entire trip. I have seen a lot of reviews saying that the service was below average.... And it was. I am not sure if it is a royal Decameron thing or a Jamaican thing. Everywhere we went it was second rate service, they wanted to talk amongst themselves before helping you get a beer or order. The one bartender that was always smiling and laughing was the pool bartender (I think her name was Elisha). She was great!!!
The entertainment staff tried their best ino making it more enjoyable...participating in the activities were fun - they all happen by the pool bar. The night shows we entertaining - those happened by the buffet.
I thought being so close to the airport would be loud and noisy but it was quite enjoyable watching all of the planes fly in!! One more bonus for it being so close to the airport!
The hidden fees I mentioned in the title are as follows: towel card, use of a safe, mini fridge in room, extra bottles of water, hotel tax, wifi ( only in the lobby), use of hotel phone ( to even make your phone have a dail tone it cost $20). Pretty nuts for n all-inclusive. But you get what you pay for and if that is the worst that happen to us, then th is fine.
Our room number was 39 ( thanks to another review we requested that room) it was in the sunset building. We were so happy with the room. We were 15 feet from the beach nd the sunsets from that room were amazing! You did here street noise in the morning but you are next to the street so it is to be expected. We were on the second floor I we left our patio door open every night to have the once an waves drown out the background noise. The only complained about the room was defiantly the beds and pillows...they were hard as rocks. We tried to fluf them put but it didn't work.

A few tips aboutthe resort : request a room in the sunset building - you won't be disappointed, ask for a sheet of paper with the meal schedules on it - they don't give you one and it is a guessing game when food is served or done being served. Go to the nightly entertainment @ 9:30 - it is always different and funny. Get the bread- sounds crazy but it is always yummy and try all the flavors! My favorite was the breakfast gingerbread! Get the soup- this is another one that sounds nuts, but it is really really good! Don't be discouraged by the subpar service, just relax and enjoy the company in front of you.

Tips about Jamaica (many we learned the hard way): when you get ff the airport ignore all of the people selling you bus passes or trying to talk to you. Head right out the front doors and ask someone for a cab - tell them you won't pay more that $15. (they don't have meters so price is negotiated before get in -all of the busses are for resorts that are far away and RDMB is only 5 minutes away.
If someone is trying to sell you something a simple no will work if you don't want to be bothered. Don't stop and talk to them they will keep hounding you.- do not let someone lead you to a destination, all that they want is money. Just keep to yourselves when traveling off the resort.
The red license plates are the only cab. The white license plates are regular cars . They will flash a badge saying they are legit, but they are not.
Don't go past margaritaville at night.
My last tip - GO TO YS FALLS!!!! It is a long long trip, it can be expensive, if you get motion sickness-take some pills, it s a must see and it is so much fun!!!

Room Tip: Sunset building. Room 39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hmst310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family travels quite often and this resort was ok but should not be classified as a 4 star because it is not at all.Our family stayed here in January for a wedding. They overbooked the resort as well and offered our party accommodations at their sister resort which we declined! I have been noticing in the other reviews that overbooking is a trend here. The rooms were very dated, we had to pay for a fridge to be brought to our room which we inquired about before our trip and was told it would be no extra cost! The wait staff were very pleasant always, the staff at the front desk were very lazy, it took very long to get anything done we had to ask for things 4 and 5 times and charged us $for some BS charges on our room!
The grounds were nice and well maintained. The food was good, the ala carte was almost exactly the same as the buffet. The 3 man band was amazing and actually I thought it was better than the resort entertainment. The beach was beautiful the water was crystal clear and the beach on the left of the resort by the snack shack was amazing for snorkelling. Lots of sea urchin so wear water shoes they hurt when you step on them.
The flea market across the road is terrible, they try to work at you too aggressively more than any other place I have been. The hotel store has comparable prices anyway so if we go back I just wouldn't even bother going to market.
All in all I would visit this resort again because it is close to the airport and is pretty fairly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went to the Royal Decameron, Montego Bay for my daughters wedding on Jan 19 to sat 26 2013. The staff was fantastic the food was very good and the staff and management went out of there way to give my daughter and my new son-in-law a fantastic wedding. The wedding planner, Jodian and her staff did a remarkable job! I would recommend this hotel any day. It is an older resort but it is a great place to have a holiday. Some people you just cant please; if they don't have something to complain about there not happy!! It's one of the best resorts we've ever been to and we will definitely be back! Thanks! Niagara.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently returned from my stay at the Decameron in Montego Bay. I will not return. We checked in on Saturday to be told that they were overbooked and were shipping us off to the sister hotel in Runaway Bay. We lost the rest of our afternoon dealing with them. They transported us and we checked in there. The room was small and dated. The next day, there were no beach towels available. We were going to Dunns river. We decided to take room towels, there were none available. We took the ones from our room. One was ripped. We returned at 2:30 there were still no room towels available. Unbelievable!!! We checked out and returned to Montego Bay. Dinner was good. I like island food. Entertainment was horrible. No island music. Why do I want to listen to regular music in Jamaica the birth place of reggae. The staff was nice. There wasn't much to do in Montego Bay, we rented a taxi to take us to Negril on Monday. Driver took us to the cliffs and to the beach. Water was crystal clear, beach was wonderful. I will return to Jamaica but not the Decameron.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#15 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,416 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Cornwall Beach
Royal Decameron Cornwall Beach
#17 of 63 in Montego Bay
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#25 of 63 in Montego Bay
616 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $186 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing