We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I WILL BE BACK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I WILL BE BACK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Our family went to Royal Decameron Montego Bay at the end of May, after reading the reviews I went with an open mind. Usually we would stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and seeing this as a three and a half star I was expecting it to be more on the bad side but i was pleasantly surprised.

My daughter really enjoyed herself, so did myself and wife. The food was mostly good, they need a pastry chef but other wise from that is was good. My wife went to the spa and was satisfied, the good thing is, it cost half as what is would at the 4 and 5 star resorts. The rooms were basic but clean. The staff was pleasant. Morning Tennis was also great. I was also able to see plans land at the nearby airport, that was really cool being a lover of planes.

The few negatives to the resort are NO WIFI, they have two computers in the lobby which you have to pay $10US for half hour. The next as I mentioned before is the deserts not being so great. Last is, if you are on the ground floor near the pool it can be a bit noisy and if your is close to the entertainment area that can also be loud at nights so if you have kids you may want to choose a different room as the late noise can disturb there rest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonpierre88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    1,183
    395
    177
    126
See reviews for
428
1,247
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I've been to several resorts and as we pulled up to this one I was a little skeptical. It is definitely an older resort, and doesn't have the glam factor. It's also the smallest resort that I have stayed at which left me wondering if I would get bored within a few days.

Well I am pleased to say that I really enjoyed myself and would recommend it to others. The staff as mentioned by others are great! The food decent, and the activities plentiful. I went on this trip for my birthday with my friend and her husband and my boyfriend; now fiance! My boyfirend propsed at the resort, needless to say it was the best birthday EVER! The staff accomodated my fiance and his proposal plans, we had a seperate dining area out on one of the docks (at the far end, very secluded). The area was decorated with flowers and candle votives;so pretty. And we had our own personal server-it was perfect!

So the engagement news spread like wildfire throughout the resort, everyone knew, and we became a popular group (and because we knew how to have fun). We danced on stage, I had birthday shoutouts, we were in game competitions the whole nine! The entertainment staff is what makes the resort fun, shout out to April, Rooster, and the skinny one lol. Also shout out to Alecia our most favorite server.

Just a few cons...the bars had plenty to drink, but everything had to be mixed with rum, and it did not seem like they had a huge selection, or namebrand liquors, but what they did have was very tasty. We were in room 214 which for the most part was nice, but we had very teeny bugs crawling around the bathroom counter & window ceil, so we just took all of our items out of the bathroom, the bugs were always there-but only in the bathroom. Next advice, don't loose anything because you will never see it again, I left my camera case, and umbrella at one of the bars, and never got them back.

We chose to leave the resort to get a better experience of the land and boy did we! We went to the market which was a little scary but I did meet some nice people in there, but beware. They would get you to buy your own child if they could. But you can find souviners much cheaper at the market, by far (if you are a good negotiator like I am).There are no atms at the resort so we also had to venture out to find one. I did like that everytime you left the resort the security at the gate wrote down your room number to keep record of who left & when. There were also lots of security patrol on the streets. So if you decide to venture out, just be strong, and don't take no crap-say NO to offers that you don't want. And remember EVERYTHING is negotiable!

So with all that said, the pros byfar out weigh the cons! It is a resort for all people. We met so many friends from all over the world, and now friends on facebook with all of them :) This resort offers competitive prices, great people, & a great experience!

*Last shout-out to DeMarcus, Antonia, & Jason!!! Love Yall ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelpForYourStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked for 1 week all inclusive only one week in advance. It was very cheap and I was not sure it was a good idea. BUT i was totally enchanted!

The food is excellent! There is one a-la-carte restaurant and it is really good also (you choose between 6:30 or 8:30 and there was always availability when we wanted to go, and to maximum).
The rooms are clean, pretty big, and 98% have a balcony with ocean view, which really worth it!!!
You can snorkel juste next to the beach.
There are 2 small beaches and 1 mini beach. The sand is ok and the water is amazing. You can see very far since it's clear blue.
Employees were very friendly, the entertainment staff is wonderful! They makes you feel a great time there!
The bars are open from 10 to 2 am.
I did'nt go to the disco bar, it doesn't seem really nice but there is a free shuttle from the hotel a 11:30 that comes back a 1:00 or 2:00 to Margaritaville night club (10$ to go into the bar). Thursday: lady's night = free for the ladies.
The show are ok, it last about 2 hours.
The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport which is very appreciated!!!!!

I really liked this hotel and I clearly recommand it. What I liked the least is the beaches because it is very small, but since it is a small hotel you always have space anywhere you want to be. I thought i would be disapointed about the beaches but i was not (because you are almost alone on the small beach!!)
The tours were not as we expected. Too much touristic and the way to go to duns river was too long, we had to wait a lot, and on the falls, we were about 300 people climbing at the same time so it lost it beauty! But maybe if you are 4, deal a taxi so you can go straight there or go anywhere you want!

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room! It worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carodadelido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

just returned from a 2 week stay at RDC, it was not as nice as they reviews had said, it is very dated and could do with been updated all over, some of the staff are rude and have no manners, some of the bar staff where so miserable, they were ok if you where tipping them all the time, saw a lot of that going on, we where in rm 309 which was very damp, bed damp when you got into it at night our clothes went mouldey, the beach is man made very grittey sand, food was very good, beer was watered down, went out on a tour with zipp as took notice of the reviews dont use him as he is a rip off worked out not much cheaper than the tours from the hotel, jamacia is so poor they are begging for fags and money all the time, did not feel safe on the hip strip and as for the market in down town montego bay, do not go their, if you get approached by some one called david or any other name he may use, he says he works at the RDC but he does not and he offers to show you around then wants to be payed for it, the maid stole money from our rm not a lot but thats not the point, when we asked her if she had seen it she took it from her pocket and gave it back and said that she thought it was her tip, complained to the hotel who said that she thought it was a tip, so no matter how small amount money it is do not leave it leave around, i would not go back to Jamacia as i think it is not that a great place and they are much nicer places in the world. it rained for 10 days but did have 5 really hot days.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irshdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here for a week on a girls holiday with my friend and we were so glad we chose it. I really could not fault the hotel for anything (except my friend said the hairdryer was a bit naff and wish she had taken her own).
It's only 5 mins from the airport but the arriving aircraft didn't bother us, infact it was a bit of a game spotting who's plane was coming in. The location is great and you are within a 10 min walk from local shops, restaurants and some pubs including Margaritaville.
I couldn't comment on the evening entertainment as we didn't go, but there is plenty to do during the day and it's not hard to find your own entertainment if you want.
The food is fantastic (and I'm fussy) and we never went hungry. The food in the a la carte is especially yummy though service there is a bit haphazard. Drinks are available 10am - 2am and you can even get some premium branded drinks as part of your all inc.
The staff are fantastic and really make your holiday a great one. I would love to go back to Jamaica and I would love to go back to the Decameron - it really was a fantastic holiday.
Unfortunatly however we did find the excursions/taxis very expesive so we didn't do as much as we had planned. Oh well, will have to keep that for next time.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nic78Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

It's not very fancy but, all the rooms are ocean front, clean, nice size.
The staff is always helpful. Lots of nice bars.
Your right in the heart of Montego Bay.
We've been there twice.
Food is okay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank breezebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

we went to this hotel, booked last minute and we didnt no what to expect, wen we arrived we were so happy. this holiday was definitley one of the best holidays we have ever had. the staff are wonderful. daneka and rooster made our holiday :) there is lots to do and your right on the hip strip. we only stayed here for 7nights. next time we are going for longer ..... loved it xxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jeza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,850 reviews
14.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing