We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended family vacation August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Having previously stayed at the Sunset Beach resort in 2012, we decided to upgrade to the Oasis at Sunset next door. The main advantage to upgrading is the proximity to the watermark, the beautifully manicured grounds, and the exclusive dining options at the Terrace and Blue Mahoe restaurants. We had a large group of 18 and were able to use those facilities, while the Sunset Beach restaurants could not accommodate more than 7 people at a time. The food is excellent, but plan on at least an hour for meals. If you are in a hurry the Banana Walk buffet is an excellent option and has lots of choices. Our room was comfortable with 2 firm double beds and a set of bunk beds for younger kids. The AC worked great and the housekeeping staff is excellent. The bathroom is a bit small and could use some updating, but you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. The highlight for kids is the watermark's slides and the lazy river. The daily drink specials are great and they definitely don't skimp on the rum :) The service staff at the restaurants was phenomenal, especially Judy Ann, Manley, and Shanovan, while Albert at the Terrace always found a way to seat our big group. The entertainment was also outstanding especially the Silver Birds steel drum band and their unbelievable dancers. We will definitely return again in the future and upgrade to the Oasis again.

Room Tip: The family rooms are larger and include bunk beds for small children, as well as a king or two doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Oasis at Sunset in Montego Bay for 10 days excellent service, Our room was on the east wing, room E208 to be exact facing the ocean ,the rooms are well kept ,bathroom were clean very day our housekeeper Kesha did an excellent job .
All the staff were very polite and always willing to go that extra mile , wanted to say Mrs Clarke you are the best from helping me with my renter car to our last day stay could not have done it without you .....
The food ,entertainment etc were all great ,we had a wonderful time .
We will definitely retun .!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the hotel are excellent!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything about the service is true! What an amazing staff! The level of care is unparalleled and they truly treated our little girl like a princess. From Chef Conrad to Nadine to Albert, etc. they made us feel like family. If you have any doubts about this place, don't. Book the trip. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: get the oceanfront room. easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakarot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We traveled here 7/25-7/30/14. We traveled as a group of four adults and 6 children ages 12-3.
We had pick up at the airport by the hotel shuttle. It was a quick fifteen minute drive. Upon arriving we were greeted warmly. We were immediately impressed with the beautiful views from the lobby. We were asked to be seated and were all given cool towels (even the kids) and cool drinks. The kids were very happy, we explained after traveling a few hours with six kids another drink may be needed and they promptly returned with drinks with rum for us adults!!!
We had adjoining bunk rooms in the west wing ground floor. Very convenient as the water parks was just right outside of the door. If you opened the sliders, we had a small patio which looked onto the wedding gazebo and the ocean was right there with a nice view as well.
The room: This room had two double beds and a bunk set. My family has children 12, 10, 9. it seemed to be very cramped for us, and hard to manage changing out of clothes etc. The room is very basic nothing fancy.....CLEAN. As you read all over here, the bathroom is VERY outdated, chipped paint, on walls, inside tub. It gives you the feeling of being "dirty" but it was clean. The fridge was stocked daily with Red Stripe beer, water and local soda. There is an in room safe. The maid came daily, (sometimes late in the day) and the fridge was stocked daily.
Food: Food at Blue Mahoe was very good, Terrace was also good. The buffet was good but after awhile you just get tired of buffets. The Jamaican restaurant at Oasis side was awesome and gave beautiful views of the sunset!
Water park: what can I say , the kids spent hours here and never wanted to leave. It was clean. I found the swim up bar was a little gross on the Sunset side. Down side is, there is no wait staff to bring you drinks pool side. DO BRING YOUR OWN CUP.... they will refill it at the bar as often as you want!
Beach: gorgeous...bring snorkel gear! You can feed the fish early in the morning by grabbing some bread and feeding right in the water. We used the catamaran (free) the kids loved it!
There are nightly shows to keep the family entertained. There is a glass bottom boat ride which the families both loved!
In closing... this place caters to the CHILDREN! If you have little ones, they treat them like royalty. They were very kind to us as well, but the children were so happy. They were all very happy and pleasant to deal with. Nicoise mad a big deal for us as we were celebrating 3 birthdays in our group. There were balloons in our rooms, and special treats at dinner.
DO TIP!!!!. They are genuinely grateful and will remember you if you need anything later. Have fun!

Tips: As I mentioned earlier, bring your own insulated cup, they serve all drinks in small 10oz cups. Second, there is a beach for Oasis guests only, but it is a little hard to find. To get to this beach you have to walk through the east side of the building and through the white fence. There are showers as well folks with towels and water for the guests. They will even stop by and take drink orders for you. Best of all, there were very few people on the Oasis beach, so finding shade on the beach was very easy.

Room Tip: If you have children, choose the west wing first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KarenMom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a wonderful time last week in Montego Bay. Our trip started out a little rocky because of an oversight on our behalf. Lorna Clarke and Shadae took the necessary steps to help us with our situation. They worked with us and made the rest our stay an enjoyable experience. The food was wonderful, the rooms were clean also the children enjoyed the pool and the beaches. Everything was superb. If I ever want to visit Jamaica again, it will be at this resort!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lorna and her staff at the Oasis are absolutely amazing! Throughout my stay I was able to experience 3 of the 4 room types, the standard club room, the family club room and the Oceanfront junior suite. The standard room is very basic. The family club room is perfect for your family, with rooms close to the main attraction, the giant water park! The family club room also has bunkbeds which I thought was very thoughtful. I think it is perfect for a family and extremely convenient. The main difference for me between the junior suite and the standard room is the much larger much nicer bed. The Oceanfront view is ok, although if you really want the view, you should get the beachfront Cabana! You cant beat the all you can eat food and drinks, which is delicious! Really adds up with a family and the restaurant manager Albert is a wonderful guy. The biggest downside to me for this place is the Wifi. It is very spotty if your lucky enough to get it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ModelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the oasis at sunset and This place is the best. The service is by far number one. They treat you like royalty. You will forget all your worries here I highly reccomend this resort. I have to mention kerryann the waitress. Omg she is the best

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supremeteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
9.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,978 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
584 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Cove Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

Address: 1 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Freeport, Montego Bay 33565, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: $259 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Cove Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an all Sun Club resort, Sunscape Cove Montego Bay offers an enhanced Unlimited-Fun(R) Caribbean escape, where everything is included. These charming beachfront accommodations, featuring 122 newly renovated rooms with chic decor and a Caribbean flair, are surrounded by Montego Bay Marine Park, Jamaica's fully underwater national park, on a private peninsula along a white sand beach. As well as enjoying full access to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay next door, where you will find dining, bars, lounges, the expansive Pirate's Paradise Waterpark and more, you will also receive special check-in and checkout with concierge service, complimentary room service (7 a.m. - 11 p.m.) and an upgraded mini-bar refreshed daily. Kids will enjoy cartoons, milk, cookies and other special treats in their room. Two restaurants and two bars, as well as a Sun Club Lounge with complimentary Wi-Fi are available exclusively for Sun Club guests of Sunscape Cove and Sunscape Splash. Eight dining options, seven bars and lounges, the Explorer's Club for Kids and Core Zone Teens Club, daily land and water activities, live music and local entertainment provide Unlimited-Fun(R) for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunscape Cove Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing