We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royalton White Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royalton White Sands Resort
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Hotel is new so not many reviews were available. I had no issues with front desk, We were in our room in no time. The hotel is beautiful. The water park is a kids dream come true, the pool is great, rooms were small but livable. The food in the Italian and Steak House restaurants were great but the food in the main dinning room could be better, variety was lacking and taste was bland. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonpierre88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello gordonpierre88,

Firstly, thank you for having decided to visit Royalton White Sands. Thank you also for taking the time to share your review with us as these do help our team to make changes for the further satisfaction of our guests.

I am happy that you loved the Stake house & Italian food and service offered by our staff. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to the opportunity to do so in future.

Have a royal day!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,669
    1,278
    544
    223
    110
See reviews for
1,993
1,497
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went with a group of 6 adults and 5 kids under 6.

Pros:
-Resort was nice.
-Staff was friendly
-Kids had a blast at the waterpark and pools
-beach was small but nice
-pizza was good in the italian restaurant

Cons:
-Food was not at all gourmet. Would not go back because of the food. Service in the restaurants were slow. Room service very limited menu. My husband ordered a burger and the meat was similar to frozen patties you buy in the grocery store. I would not eat it at home and definately will not eat it on vacation. I did not feel the food was at all gourmet.
-Buffet had the same food. Couldn't eat it after 3 days.

We travel a lot and expected more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks stay at the Royalton.
First the Positives
Cleanliness is of a very high standard and on the whole the staff was helpful and polite, the complex was really nice, the rooms of a good size for 2 people, beach was clean and plenty of sunbeds.
Now the Negatives
We think the biggest problem was the food often cold with cold plates food not replenished quickly not a big variety of food, we found on a number of occasions when we returned to our table it had been cleared away including almost full glasses of wine and beer. Drinks took a very long time to get. We found it very irritating when we went to the steak house and Italian to be told they were full when there was plenty of empty tables to be seen, also keep the chain on your door as people seam to come into your room anytime night or day. But on the whole we had a really nice holiday but would we return I don't think so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davebill1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

As positive as I try to keep things, I just have to inform the public. I have never had Gastroenteritis all my life until I visited Royalton White Sands Resort. So rather than spending 3 days enjoying the hotel, instead I spent 1.5 days in the hospital- another major expense to this trip and by the time I arrived back at the hotel it was time to leave- disappointing.

I had ongoing diarrhoea in a short time frame that eventually left me drained to the point where I fainted. Luckily the nurse arrived the other 3 times I was about to faint so I never blacked out again. The ambulance had to come for me as there was no way I could walk. Yes, it was that bad and I was very dehydrated- I could have died.

My other other colleagues also came down with diarrhoea- 20 persons to be approximate and the numbers might have been more, but just not reported. The hotel really needs to revise their policy on food handling and preparation- something evidently went wrong.

To me the ambiance is gorgeous, staff great, but persons also come to an all-inclusive hotel to enjoy good food and that was highly disappointing. So for me I think this hotel is a thumbs down and if you do want to return from your trip relaxed and in excellent healthy, I highly recommend making a detour from Royalton White Sands Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Racquel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from July 8th to July 16th. The staff were friendly, courteous and thoroughly professional. The location is beautiful and well maintained. The staff at all the venues were well trained and always ready to help. Special thanks to Denise who worked at the beach pool bar. She took the extra steps to help me when I wasn't feeling well. I sincerely thank her and her co-workers for their kindness and professionalism. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Decide if you want ocean or mountain view. It will improve when construction is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello Helen F,

Thank you for choosing Royalton White Sands as your hotel destination. We thank you for your commendations of our resort, staff & service.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation & we do hope you come again.

Have a royal day!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the very warm and friendly staff have made this stay one to remember. The rooms may have some minor leaks in the bath but the maintenance staff were there to inspect within 20 minutes of letting the staff know.

The hotel is the perfect size, not large and the staff do a great job. Best spot is the caffe and gelato lounge with Chaldrick and Latonia always going out of their way to accommodate. Dunn falls and Mystic Mountain were great fun, with Peter at the coincerge arranging a driver for us.

Last but not least Ricardo and his entertainment team did a great job. Carl and Kein are excellent bartenders with interesting stories of Jamaica.

We fly back tomorrow (July 18) and have not come across any of the negative experiences mentioned in some reviews. Brilliant job management and staff of Royalton. Dhalia your long hours pay off!

PS - We had connecting rooms 612 & 613 which were pretty decent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CrashBash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Crashbash,

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and that everyone enjoyed our large pool area and amenities. Thank you for offering a five point rating and we hope you will stay again and recommend us to others.

Thank you for choosing Royalton White Sands.
Have a royal day!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I am currently at the hotel now. I've been her since the 14 of July. The resort is pretty and the food is ok. But the room I'm in is not that nice.My balcony door does not lock. I've asked for a blow dryer and I've been waiting for 2 hours. I told the front desk that I was on my honey moon and they did nothing to make this a special stay for me and my wife. I even asked for a room change and I still have not heard anything about that. I wish I would have stayed somewhere else. This is my third time in Jamaica and I will NOT be coming back to the place again. So if you get room 527 reject it. It's very small with a small bathroom. The tolet is so close to the shower that is hard to use it. I'm 6'5 and I need room. I leave on the 20th and hope my experience turns around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zacchary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Zacchary p,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the
perception that you had . We strive to make the resort a pleasant experience for everyone and it was very unfortunate that you were impacted by a rocky start.
Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance. We certainly appreciate having you as a guest and want you to return to our resort.

Best regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
13.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton White Sands Resort

Property: Royalton White Sands Resort
Address: Highway A1, Mountain Spring | Trelawny, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton White Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your All-In Luxury™ vacation starts on one of the Caribbean's most idyllic settings. "White Sands" beach in Jamaica is a powdery white slice of paradise, separating lush tropical gardens from the turquoise Caribbean Sea, just a 35 minute drive from the Montego Bay Airport. A warm reception and chilled cocktail set the tone for a week of extravagance. The elegantly appointed lobby offers a scenic view of the modern resort facilities. After a day of indulging in our extensive and unlimited reservation-free dining and drink services and partaking in our activities, sports, and entertainment program, guests will appreciate the comfort of our modern and spacious rooms. From Luxury Rooms to Diamond Club(R) Luxury Presidential Oceanview One Bedroom Suites, all rooms offer Dreambed™, designed exclusively for Royalton Resorts and adorned in luxurious 250 thread count sheets. All of our 352 luxurious rooms and suites offer our exclusive DreamBed™, 250 thread count sheets, 24 hour concierge service, In-room safe, rain showers, satellite television, stocked minibar, 24 hour room service, and a balcony or terrace. Other amenities include iron and board, coffee/tea maker, and hairdryer. Guests can also take advantage of our All-In Connectivity exclusive features including: • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort • Unlimited free in-room calling to North America and most of Europe • Convenient USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations in your room • Download our free Royalton app and receive unlimited free calling plan from your mobile device while on our property, as well as unlimited free app-to-app texting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royalton White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing