We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royalton White Sands Resort
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel great staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from holiday at royalton white sands had a great time.When we arrived found we only had one room for four adults no fault of the hotel our mistake,buts thanks to Dahlia and thomson rep Alex they sorted us a room can,t thank them both enough they were great all staff were polite and could,by do enough for you .Alison in buffet restaurant ,Ainsley on beach but most Dahlia and thomson rep Alex Alexgreat place.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor and above have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sandra C,

Thank you for providing feedback. We are delighted to read your commendations about our excellent service and our helpful team members. This is our main aim, to provide a great vacation experience. Thank you for choosing one of Jamaica's best: Royalton White Sands.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for choosing Royalton White Sands as your hotel destination.

Please do come again!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,947
    1,409
    626
    256
    137
See reviews for
2,278
1,637
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This has taken a long time to write this review due to the hurt caused by such a poor service and distress caused from our Honeymoon to Jamaica. Advertised as a 5 star all inclusive, we had every expectation of a honeymoon to remember. We were one of the first visitors to Royalton when it opened back in November and what followed could only be described as attrocious.
We had contacted the hotel before we left the UK letting them know this was our honeymoon hoping that they would make our stay special.
Arriving at the hotel we were made to wait in reception with the rest of the new arrivals as the rooms were not ready. Welcome drinks were served and this was not a problem. Our rep then said she knew we were honeymooners and would be given a suitable room. The first room we were given was room 525 overlooking the side site entrance to the hotel. I say site entrance as this is where the builders still working arrived and cleared waste materials daily.
This room had two seperate beds, not the best start to a honeymoon,no phone,no wifi as advertised.The sink waste was also leaking onto the bathroom floor. Outside of our room was building materials being used on the 2 next door rooms that were still under construction.As it was late and we were tired from travelling we decided to stay put for the night and take this up with the rep in the morning.
We saw the rep at the welcome meeting which turned into an apoligy session from her about the state of the hotel. Several guests demanded to be moved to alternate hotels.
She took us to one side at the end and said she would see what other rooms were available but very few were finished. We highlighted that this was our honeymoon and we had been given seperate beds!!! We were asked to return at 11am which we did but were then told try again at 1pm.At 1 pm we were allocated another room and to come back at 3 to move our belongings, this also had seperate beds but a better view, we were told this is the only one left so reluctantly had to take it..The rep came with us at 3 and noticed there was no clothing rail in the waldrobe, this she would report and get fixed straight away.
We then moved into room 611 where we immediately noticed the patio door handle was broken and about to fall off. There was also masking tape over live electrical wires below the TV and the clothing rail had not been installed.That evening when we took a shower it was noticed that the water was not only coming from the shower but through the ceilng above along with the shower door loose and liable to fall off.No phone or wifi yet again. All of these issues were reported on a daily basis to the rep and the front desk with no response from the hotel.Also had a problem with the toilet being blocked.
After speaking to other guests it was apparent that rooms with kingsize beds were being given to others who had complained even on the same days that our rep had told us none were available.
After wasting the first day running to and from the reception we decided to try and make the most of what we had as we didnt want our honeymoon ruined. The rep gave us a voucher for the spa for the inconveinience.
Even the spa turned into a nightmare as on the other side of the wall you could hear loud construction machinery,blasting horns and men shouting to each other.We even asked for music to be put on to drown this out but was told"sorry it does not work yet"
We had been to the spa quite late and returned to the room to discover a stench as the blocked loo had not been cleared, furious i went to the reception and told them i was staying there until someone came with me and sorted this out as i was fed up of false promises. None of the other issues had been sorted.
Eventually the reps manager came to visit the hotel and i managed to talk to her about all of these problems. She was horrified and arranged a meeting with one of the hotels more senior staff(the manager was never available)who appologised and offered to upgrade us to a jacuzzi room for the final 2 days of our "honeymoon".
The final joke was that after moving into our third room for one night the room suffered serious electrical problem which we discovered only when returning to the room and we were told at 8.30pm that we had to move yet again. Considering it was now pitch black the hotel sent up a security guard with a one inch torch for us to do the packing.
Finally in our fourth room out of fourteen days i can only say what should have been a memorable time in our lives turned into the holiday from hell.
Royalton should be ashamed of themselves allowing guests paying out hard earned money for such poor conditions. On the plus side the waiters,barstaff and the beach waitresses were excellent.

Room Tip: Ensure a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cal10082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Carl10082014,

We sincerely apologies for any inconvenience while staying with us.
Your reviews are very important to us, and we will ensure to make a note of all these issue.
We want all our guest to feel quite relax and have the best vacation ever.
Thank you for your commendations as our aim is to be the best resort in Jamaica.

Thank you choosing Royalton White Sands.

Have a royal day!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I recently got engaged @ The Royalton White Sands. ALL I can say is that the resort is Grand I could NOT have asked or imagine anything so beautiful and it was VERY affordable.The Staff was "AMAZING" and Ms. Dahlia Walker went far and beyond the call of duty to create such a magical moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mone't N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mone't N,

FANTASTIC...
Congratulations on your engagement Mone't. We are delighted to know that you had a great vacation. Thank you for choosing Royalton White Sands as your destination hotel.
We thank you for your commendations of our staff and service. It's appreciated.


Please do come again.

Have a Royal day!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

No air in gym. Hubby throw up sick. Nothing done. Had to prop door open for Lil air. Also, hot tub was cold. Screaming kids in room next to us. Italian rest. Sucked. Will never go back due to gym issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohotfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ohotfun,

We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience use of the gym. Thank you for taking the time out to write your review of our resort. Our aim is solve all issue that our dear guest have encounter while vacating with us. Your comment is very important to us, as we move forward to create the number one resort in Jamaica.

Please do come again!

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is by far one of the best all inclusives we've stayed at.
The staff is genuinely friendly and kind. Very helpful and hard working. Want to give a special shout out to our friend Ardley at the martini bar. Not only is he an exceptional bartender, he's also a heck of a guitar player! Stop and say hi to him! Also at the martini bar, you'll find Clayton and Jevonne who are a hoot!
The rooms were current and clean and the mini bar was always stocked with water, sodas and beer.
The pool is beautiful! The beach, though small, is fantastic!
This resort is great for the whole family!
There are locals selling trinkets and stuff on the beach, though they cannot sell it to you on the resorts property. You have to walk to their side of the beach. Look for Leon while you are over there and ask him about his lobster dinner on the beach. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lovetotravel2508,

Thank you for choosing our beautiful resort and for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy that you had a great experience. We will definitely share your commendations with our team members. I am sure that this will be motivating to them.
It was great hosting you and we look forward to doing so again.

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second trip to this resorts and WOW what a change from the first one, the service was fantastic, from our guests service staff to the restaurant waiters, we found the food to be very good and we really liked the jerk chicken.
The room were extremely clean and the maids were very friendly.
Tenesha at the front desk is truly a great asset to the hotel, she was always eager to help with all our request, her smile is contagious.
Looking forward to another fun in the sun week

Room Tip: 7 floor rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ricardo W,

Excellent!!! We are so happy to know that you decided to take a second trip to Jamaica, but more so to Royalton White Sands. We are very pleased and excited to know that you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest.
Thank you for your commendations of our resort, staff and service.
We look forward to seeing and serving you again.

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from an awesome vacation at The Royalton. We booked through Vacation Express and got an amazing deal. When we got to the airport we got a taxi. It cost 60 dollars but was totally worth it because we got in right away and were off. I really liked it.

When we got to the hotel we were greeted by friendly smiles and a cold cloth. We were asked to sit down and enjoy a nice red strip. I enjoyed this because "Hey I am on vacation... why not just enjoy the surroundings." We were upgraded to the Diamond club. I guess the package came with it. My guess is if you are in a suite or order a suite you will be in diamond club. ( I probably wouldn't pay for diamond club to be honest, but it was a great bonus to have) We got into our room in less than 15 minutes.

Room:
The room was nice. It had two double beds with a jacuzzi tub, and a rain shower. Though we had no idea how to turn on the rain shower. It took us a day to figure it out. There should be a sign or directions somewhere for it. I figured it out finally and was super pumped. It was awesome. Though around the shower the plaster was coming off. We told someone about it but it never got fixed. ( It didn't bother me, but It might bother other people)

Our room wasn't cleaned every day. This bothered me a lot! We ordered room service every morning and we had food in there all morning. It finally started cleaning clean every day towards the end of the trip.

Room service- Amazing. Those people do their jobs perfectly. They were always very good at getting it to the room. They always had a friendly smile when they came and they even called to check up if the food was good.

Pools- We did have an issue on the first day with lifeguards saving the chairs for guests. We were in the swim up bar pool and we asked everyone around if the chairs were not taken and they all said it was free. 20 minutes later some people took our stuff off the chair and said we had these since 7 in the morning. First of off, I thought it was rude that they even took it off but then the lifeguard said nothing. It kind of bothered me. We didn't have an issue after that, but we decided to put our belongings in our room and not have to worry about finding chairs when we went to the pool.

Beach- AMAZING! We had the private beach at the diamond club and I can honestly say I loved it. It was beautiful and always was cleaned. The bartender was friendly and always made sure I had a drink!

Restaurants- This is where they are lacking a little. They only had 3 main places to eat. I loved the Steakhouse and we went there 3 times on the trip. They need to have more options of food if they are expanding.

People- The people were amazing. The best person was Lavardo from The Sports Bar. He always made me smile and made me feel like I was a local. He was friendly and made sure everything was okay when I was there! He truly made this trip. You can tell that he appreciates his job and wants everyone around him to enjoy themselves. He is great at what he does and I am truly going to miss him!

Spa- We got a couples massage here. On Saturdays they have buy one get one half off for couples. So, we got a great deal and an amazing massage. They really know how to massage and it was so relaxing.

Though there were some hiccups along the way we weren't horrible disappointed, but if we paid a lot more I think our views would have changed. They need to step up the game a little if they want this to be a 5 star place.

Overall, I enjoyed it and we met some great people. They all are friendly and know how to make your stay better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSandsGM, Manager at Royalton White Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for having chosen Royalton. Your experience sounds truly 'Royal".
We are Pleased that you enjoyed being a Diamond guest and that you really enjoyed the service. It is our pleasure to ensure guests satisfaction. We noted the few inconsistencies that you mentioned and do apologise.

Please do come again!.

Best Regards,

Debbie Bailey
Community Relation's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royalton Blue Waters
Royalton Blue Waters
#1 of 5 in Falmouth
1,096 reviews
22.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
10.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton White Sands Resort

Property: Royalton White Sands Resort
Address: Highway A1, Mountain Spring | Trelawny, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton White Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your All-In Luxury™ vacation starts on one of the Caribbean's most idyllic settings. "White Sands" beach in Jamaica is a powdery white slice of paradise, separating lush tropical gardens from the turquoise Caribbean Sea, just a 35 minute drive from the Montego Bay Airport. A warm reception and chilled cocktail set the tone for a week of extravagance. The elegantly appointed lobby offers a scenic view of the modern resort facilities. After a day of indulging in our extensive and unlimited reservation-free dining and drink services and partaking in our activities, sports, and entertainment program, guests will appreciate the comfort of our modern and spacious rooms. From Luxury Rooms to Diamond Club(R) Luxury Presidential Oceanview One Bedroom Suites, all rooms offer Dreambed™, designed exclusively for Royalton Resorts and adorned in luxurious 250 thread count sheets. All of our 352 luxurious rooms and suites offer our exclusive DreamBed™, 250 thread count sheets, 24 hour concierge service, In-room safe, rain showers, satellite television, stocked minibar, 24 hour room service, and a balcony or terrace. Other amenities include iron and board, coffee/tea maker, and hairdryer. Guests can also take advantage of our All-In Connectivity exclusive features including: • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort • Unlimited free in-room calling to North America and most of Europe • Convenient USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations in your room • Download our free Royalton app and receive unlimited free calling plan from your mobile device while on our property, as well as unlimited free app-to-app texting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royalton White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing