We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ramparts Inn (fabulous name?!!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramparts Inn

Ramparts Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramparts Inn
Save
You added Ramparts Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 40 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ramparts Inn (fabulous name?!!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

Adequate rooms, good (if noisy) air con. Lovely little garden (humming birds!). Laid back, relaxed and intimate. Friendly staff. We stayed on room only basis (only 10 rooms in hotel) and ordered Jamaican breakfast the evening before if we knew we weren't going to be up and out early. Nice clean little pool. A great little hotel for the type of holidaymaker who hates the the huge inclusive holiday complexes.

Stayed August 2000
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2004

We stayed at Ramparts Inn for a week in March 2004 and found it a very clean and comfortable hotel. As it was so cheap we used it as a base for exploring the rest of Jamaica and travelled the whole of the North Coast from Negril in the West to Port Antonio in the East where we stayed for a couple of nights and visited the Blue Lagoon, which was fantastic. We also got the very best Jerk chicken in Boston Bay.
If you are expecting 4 star luxury then this isn't the hotel for you but if you want cheap and cheerful it does the job. I would certainly consider staying there again if I was looking for a base to explore Jamaica.

Helpful?
4 Thank SLfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2004

we stayed at ramparts inn for 1 week in feb 2004,(wish we hadnt) very basic,not at all value for money, didnt find the staff particularly helpful at all,definateley not going back their should we return to jamacia in future.

Helpful?
Thank anne-dave-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2004

We booked allocation on arrival for 2 weeks with Thompsons. Ramparts is a basic hotel about the same standards as a 3* in spain. The rooms are adequate with air con and cable tv there is a small bar & restaurant with reasonably priced snacks and chefs specials daily there is only 10 rooms which makes it easy to meet people and make new friends. The staff are more than helpfull and have a fantastic friendly attitude the hotel driver Andy was quite a character who we made good friends with. We had a fab holiday and room only basis meant we seen a lot more of jamaica rather than being holed up in an all inclusive resort and would recommend this if you enjoy freedom to explore. We would not hesitate to return to this hote.l

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2003

After finding a deal on the internet to go to Montego Bay for the same price as two weeks in Europe, we where a bit suspcious at what we would find on arrival.However upon arrival at the Ramparts Inn hotel, we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is styled in an old plantation house and is small, but perfectly formed. With only ten rooms, it is ideal for those who don't want to be lost in the annoymous all-inclusive hotels. The twin rooms where large and very well furnished and hotel offered excellent service, with a twice daily shuttle bus running to the beach. This hotel was an excellent introduction to Jamaica.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 68 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Grandiosa Hotel
Grandiosa Hotel
#20 of 40 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 40 in Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Mynt Retreat
Mynt Retreat
#6 of 40 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramparts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramparts Inn

Property: Ramparts Inn
Address: 5 Ramparts Close, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing