We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax in Montego Bay”
Review of The Bird's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bird's Nest
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had the greatest time staying in the Bird's Nest. We stayed there for over 5 weeks in total. It's just the perfect place to hang out and relax, in the house, the nice big pool, the hammocks or the garden.
The owner, Julia, is always helpful with all kinds of things,like transportation to Montego Bay, or tips for visits and activities around the island, or even cooking for us :) The garden is just lovely, with all kinds of fruits, bread fruit, mango, sugarcane, avocado and ginnup, just to name a few of them. Loyd, the gardener, takes good care of all of that, so in the right seasons you have fresh fruit in the house.
The house is luxurious, always clean and nice. Free WiFi is available. There is a washing machine for dirty clothes.
For us, the Bird's Nest was definitely the best place to stay on Jamaica, and we made it all around the island and stayed in all kinds of hostels on our three month long travels. From Kingston to Port Antonio, Ocho Rios to Montego Bay, Negril to Treasure Beach, The Blue Mountains and Nine Miles.
The Bird's Nest in Montego Bays is the all time favorite, and it is dearly missed. Thank you for such a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OlmoRauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Bird's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The was a great jumping off and winding down spot for a holiday in Jamaica. Very lovely couple run the guesthouse with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Gorgeous house with nice rooms, pool and living space and a view of the sea. The pool is beautiful and lots of places to hide in the shade for skin untouched by sun for many months.Julia and Tobi are very helpful and cook a nice breakfast too.It's in Ironshore, just a 20 minute ride from the airport with good shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Styed for a few nights in this hostel. Nice garden, nice building and pool. Julia (the manager) is very helpfull to organize transports and other activities. Location is in the hilly site overviewing the the greens and sea. Bedrooms are clean and especially the single/double rooms are comfortable and spacious.
Iss a hostel so some people may stay up long nights and chat on terace or pool site.
Breakfast is being cooked and served on request. Simple but nice.
All together a good chillout place with friendly people running it. Julia offers also Kiteboarding lessons and rentals.The spot is mainly at a beach bar with nice food and drinks. Diving can be arranged in one of the hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Double room is very nice for single or couples wanting a bit privacy or stay abit longer. shared 4...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Micky1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed (unfortunately) for only one night in early Feb. 2013. The place is in the middle of a fancy residential neighborhood up on the hill overlooking the ocean. Nice pool, nice owner, cool people. Kitchen and fridge are also available if you'd like to cook for yourself. Upscale supermarket with anything you could wish for is a 5-minute drive away. Had a great time doing absolutely nothing and relaxing here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Svellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Its a great Hostel with a huge garden! The first day we arrived we got Coconut and Mango :) The owners are very chilled people. We spend nice evenings with a group of of people who lived there and felt comfortable. The owners organizated a tour to Mainfield Falls, what is more local than Dunn Falls or Y.S. Falls! Staying there was a good decision. The Hostel is clean and a true villa with pool and view to the sea. You can hang out there the hole day! The location is about 15-20 minutes from the doctors cave in a calm community. The owners are Kitesurf teachers. Its a little expensive so I didn´t tried it, but I guess there do a good job. Totally recommendable!

Room Tip: We had the private room! It was quiet big with a nice private bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great house. Totally chilled atmosphere. Fantastic double hight living room with huge dinning table and sofas made a great hang out in the evenings or chill out place on the hot day. Swimming pool awesome and very clean. So were the bedrooms and bathrooms. It was very easy to make friends with other visitors and the owner/staff. In fact it felt like bunch of friends is renting a luxurious villa :) Owner/ staff have been living on the island for years and are full of great advice. Supermarket and few restaurants are actually only 15 min slow walk or 2 min by taxi. And to go to beach collective taxis are dead cheap and you never have to wait longer than few min for one to appear at the front. It's located in a quiet upmarket residential area and the center of Mon Bay is only a shirt ride by taxi. If ever again in the area will definitely stay in Birds Nest :))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a great place to stay for the price with really friendly, casual, and welcoming staff and good people. It has a very homely feel to it. You feel like you are staying at an extended friend's house rather than a commercialized hostel. The house is quiet, clean, and most of time empty. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere but it is located near the airport (short-cab ride) - making a great place to stop by before or after your late or red eye flight in and out of montego bay. My flight arrived late at night and I had to wait for my friends to arrive the next day's evening. So I booked the bird's nest to stay over night and all of next day. What I appreciate most is that they weren't strict about the check in/out time. I came in at 10pm and left at 4 pm the next day. I was immediately welcome by the staff and some of the guests that night who were chilling by the pool drinking and eating pizza. I joined them and actually decided to sleep outside on the couches by the pool. All in all a very relaxing and awesome time. Will definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psagnanert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 66 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
520 reviews
3.7 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird's Nest

Address: 177 Patterson Avenue, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Montego Bay
Price Range: $18 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing