We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious home from home.”
Review of The Bird's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bird's Nest
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great house. Totally chilled atmosphere. Fantastic double hight living room with huge dinning table and sofas made a great hang out in the evenings or chill out place on the hot day. Swimming pool awesome and very clean. So were the bedrooms and bathrooms. It was very easy to make friends with other visitors and the owner/staff. In fact it felt like bunch of friends is renting a luxurious villa :) Owner/ staff have been living on the island for years and are full of great advice. Supermarket and few restaurants are actually only 15 min slow walk or 2 min by taxi. And to go to beach collective taxis are dead cheap and you never have to wait longer than few min for one to appear at the front. It's located in a quiet upmarket residential area and the center of Mon Bay is only a shirt ride by taxi. If ever again in the area will definitely stay in Birds Nest :))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Bird's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a great place to stay for the price with really friendly, casual, and welcoming staff and good people. It has a very homely feel to it. You feel like you are staying at an extended friend's house rather than a commercialized hostel. The house is quiet, clean, and most of time empty. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere but it is located near the airport (short-cab ride) - making a great place to stop by before or after your late or red eye flight in and out of montego bay. My flight arrived late at night and I had to wait for my friends to arrive the next day's evening. So I booked the bird's nest to stay over night and all of next day. What I appreciate most is that they weren't strict about the check in/out time. I came in at 10pm and left at 4 pm the next day. I was immediately welcome by the staff and some of the guests that night who were chilling by the pool drinking and eating pizza. I joined them and actually decided to sleep outside on the couches by the pool. All in all a very relaxing and awesome time. Will definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psagnanert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you plan to stay in Montego Bay and travel on a short budget, then Bird's Nest is the perfect place to stay! The staff is very welcoming and tries to help you out wherever they can. The Hostel is very clean and there's a relaxing atmosphere around the pool. If you read about Bird's Nest being too far away from everything then dont worry about that..its not THAT far and taxis to downtown or Hipstrip are really cheap. I highly recommend this place and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahjessica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed in Montego Bay before but concerning prices, cleanliness and staff the Bird´s Nest was the best hostel I stayed in in Montego Bay. It´s quite far from the city but easy to get there by route taxi and it´s close to the airport.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and they were both great, so it doesn´t really matter which one you...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlliGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in Montego Bay for three days. The hostel is clean and tidy. The house is absolutely beautiful, with a stunning view and the pool is an awesome place to hang out. The owners are really laid back people and helped us a lot with our traveling plans. We went on a trip to the Mayfield falls, I can absolutely recommend it! You can take kite surfing classes there, too, and should you have the time, I recommend you do it. We ended up just watching for a day, which was fun, too, but next time, we will sure try it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the dorm, which was absolutely fine. If you're not looking to socialize with the ot...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff and other guests were very friendly and helpful. I learned alot about other places to visit and things to do. If you are traveling alone or in a group, this is a great place to stay.

Local supermarket and restaurants are not too far away.

It is conveniently located on the Ironshore Taxi route, and taxis from downtown will drop you off at the front gate, or to downtown will pick you up as they pass by. They will beep if they see you walking, so you can jump in.

The yard has alot of growing fruits and vegetables, so if you are lucky, you will get to see some in season.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, I recommend the single room. It has a private bath.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

loved the time spent there. Great place to chill ant that was exactly what I was looking for when I traveled in Jamaica. Bit far from the beach but the pool redeems that. Katarina was a great hosted and helped out a lot - thank you for the dinner again!
Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meizys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 66 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
520 reviews
3.7 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird's Nest

Address: 177 Patterson Avenue, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Montego Bay
Price Range: $18 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing