We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place at the outskirts of MoBay”
Review of The Bird's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bird's Nest
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Bit far from centre of MoBay, but conveniently located if you are after exploring east or south of Jamaica. Perfect spot to stay if you are after diving!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreadlokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Bird's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for a week and had a great time. It is one of the most enjoyable place I ve ever been to. Nice pool, hammocks to chill and fantastic and helpful hosts.
Our stay was fabulous. Thank you for the great experience. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June_June_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed 3 weeks in this beautiful, clean, superfriendly hostel. The rooms are simple, with a/c and excellent wifi-connection. Julia and Katarina (the hosts) are just amazingly friendly and very helpful. There is a fully equipped kitchen that you can use to prepare your food, a living room with dining table and a very inviting pool/garden area with hammocks and sunbeds.This place has nothing to do with normal hostels...it offers much more and really felt like a home. Supermarkets and food-places are in walking distance or you rent a bicycle from the hosts. You can get to the beach in 5-10min by car and you have a beautiful view of the sea. I highly recommend this place and will surely go back there.

Room Tip: if you want a double room, ask for the big one
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Totally amazing place- friendly, open- minded people, incredible view, pretty close to shopping area! You can meet there so interesting, social, friendly people. Hosts are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are simply but clean. View will steal your heart! You'll feel like in movie "The Beach"! Price will help you save money. You have to take cap to the beach but this is not so expensive. I'd to go back there!

Room Tip: I chose shared room for 4 people but, believe me, you will not want to sleep inside! I slept on the...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirabella25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBNJulia, Owner at The Bird's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for your great review!! You are totally right, sometimes our guests can't resist and sleep under the stars! Hope to welcome you again one day! All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed in January, arranged an airport pick up at the last minute as the taxi drivers are a rip off, situated on a hill in Ironshore Bay - only a short walk to shops and main road where you can pick up a taxi into MoBay 10mins drive away.
Its like a private villa but shared.... beautiful garden and pool. The dorm room upstairs is really airy and clean tiled floors with fans/ the a/c is not needed. The double rooms are same excellent standard. Really welcoming and friendly hosts with a 'can do' anything to help.
I couldn't fault this place at all - The Best Hostel in Jamaica!!!
Rgds
Suzanne - I'll be back....

Room Tip: The 6 person dorm room is more airy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBNJulia, Owner at The Bird's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thanks so much for your review, actually we had exactly that dream...to have a beautiful villa with pool and garden...all we had to do is to share it with amazing people from all over the world =)
Hope to see you soon again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

When we arrived in Montego Bay after a 20h travel we were more than happy to get picked up by one of the girls who own the house. Only a ten minute drive from the airport, The Bird's Nest is a relaxed and quiet guesthouse focused on young people. We stayed in one of the big bedrooms with separate bathroom and the room was perfectly clean, big, with a fan, great shower,...nothing to complain about! The big swimming pool is very welcome in hot Jamaica and because of the young attitude and focus on kite surfing, a lot of nice people hang around the house all day and night. The hostel-like rooms with 6 beds looked nice to, but are a lot smaller than the big rooms. There are restaurants and supermarkets in walking distance, but the house itself is in a quiet street. The owners are also very friendly and can help you with finding a driver or anything else in Mo'Bay. Great place to stay for young people who don't want to be in the busy city center but still want a cool and relaxed vibe!

Room Tip: If you want privacy and a nice, clean, big room with a bath: go for the separate room with twinbed!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyAcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBNJulia, Owner at The Bird's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you so much for the detailed review, it's highly appreciated! Glad you liked it and we hope we can welcome you again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very nice house just a bit far from the main road but the host is nice and the area is safe

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fakelefteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBNJulia, Owner at The Bird's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you so much for the review! Hope to see you again one day, all the best from Montego Bay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 66 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
520 reviews
3.7 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird's Nest

Address: 177 Patterson Avenue, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Montego Bay
Price Range: $18 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing