We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are desperate for room!”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hapeville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are desperate for room!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The good part most of the staff were friendly, especially the young man who took our bags to our room...he was very nice). When we got to our room we felt uncomfortable because the only way in/out f the room was by a fence and wooded lot. When we complained we were told that other people have had the same concerns and they are working on getting the sliding glass door fix were people can enter in/out and we were assure that they had good security. When asked out the other side of the property which seemed to be updated and safer we were told that we got the deluxe room because we had a coffee pot! In other words the clerk was not going change our room although we were nice about it To make matters worst there were ants all over the bathroom and when we got in our bed we started scratching. We pull the bedspread back and looked for signs of bugs....the linen was cleaned but there was something in our bed because we scratched all night long!

We felt creepy and would not recommend this hotel (although it close to the airport) to no one unless you are desperate for a room!

Room Tip: Please ask for the updated side and stay on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4370, Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Cynthia,

We take your review very seriously and we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at Tobys. We have 24 hour security so are property is as safe as we can make it, and we are sorry that you did not feel safe. We do live in a tropical country and unfortunately we do not have complete control over ants and other insects, no matter how careful we are. We do try our best to make your stay with us enjoyable and worry free. We will make every effort to be more diligent and improve our service and facilities.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    208
    113
    34
    13
See reviews for
71
166
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Toby's after finding a last minute deal on sunwing.ca. The hotel was clean. We paid for Internet access since we had some work to do which was the worst experience of the place. We wouldn't connect properly to Internet each time we tried. We got so fed up we wanted a refund after a few days but was denied. The customer service was somewhat slow so be patient and allow time for any requests. Since we got such a big discount on our vacation we were more tolerable of these things. Toby's is a place to sleep but not a place to lounge or spend time at. We rented a car and went to negril and other surrounding areas which Toby's served their purpose for us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelannonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Toby's for one night before flying home because of the hotel's proximity to the airport. We arrived early to have a chance to also experience Montego Bay before we went home. What a complete waste of a day in beautiful Jamaica! This "resort" is run down and the location sucks. Yes, it IS close to Doctor's Cave Beach (which isn't that nice btw - + the entry fee & rent of sun chairs was ridiculous) - but walking down there you'd be hassled in a way that we never experienced in Negril or Treasure Beach.
As for the hotel itself - we had some extremely bad encounters with the staff in spite of arriving with a good attitude. The restaurant staff was especially rude. We asked to order a cup of coffee in the afternoon "We don't have coffee at this time!" was the response. We then tried to buy a couple of beers. We were paying in JD and the woman in the restaurant proceeded to calculate a ridiculously high exchange rate, and didn't expect to give me back the change since she "didn't have any" (she was counting small change when i came in...). The morning after, a couple of hours before leaving for the airport, we tried buying water in the restaurant - but were turned down since we only had a 1000 JD note (10 US$) - which she didn't have change for.
In the morning my bf and son went into the restaurant barefoot (our room was right next door) and the waiter just pointed at my bf's feet and said "shoes!". Obviously it's ok with us if they wish to have that policy - but they could work on their communication skills! Plus - it's not like it's the freaking Ritz Carlton for crying out loud! The breakfast, btw, was completely overpriced and one of the worst meals we had in Jamaica.
The pool was small and also run down. The lock on the doors didn't feel at all safe. But to be fair the rooms were rather clean though! It's affordable but it was definitely one of those you-get-what-you-pay-for experiences!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janglybracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4370, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sirs

We have seen your review and we are very disturbed as to your experience here with us. I apologise that your experience with us was so unpleasant. We will do further investigation and address our staff accordingly. What you have described is totally unacceptable by our standards. My only wish was that you had spoken to one of our managers for us to address the problems you outlined.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at Tobys Resort from March 14 through the 23rd with two other women. Tobys is one of the only non inclusive resorts in Montego Bay. The resort feels like a little community. The workers are friendly and helpful. We were very lucky with our room, it was a 3 person room, 3 twin beds, and we were facing the inside the courtyard where the pool is located. Don't miss the restaurant, the food and the service are great.

We spent many evenings sitting on the cozy patio. The only problem I saw was that it was a block away from the beach. Also, the driver, Paul, was great. He took us on a great tour to Nagril. We paid him, but not near as much as the city drivers. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the road it will be noisy. Try for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcpPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I only stayed one night at Toby's Resort, as I was being picked up by my tour group the next morning. I arrived in the evening and didn't have a chance to tour the facilities. My room was lovely and very clean. There was plenty of hot water. I thought I was going to have a great sleep until very loud noise on a PA system started at around midnight. It seemed to be off-site but close by. It went on until after 3:00 a.m. So much for a good night's sleep! The next morning I had a very mediocre breakfast for $12.00 (having spent over $100 for a room I expected a good breakfast to be included). I will not return to Toby's Resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 989JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for a night on our way elsewhere, great little hotel close to a great couple of beaches, and shopping. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff very accommodating. We would return. Had very good meals in the restaurant, breakfast and dinner - overall great value for the dollar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceilidh-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4370, Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Ceilidh-lou

Thank you for your great review and we are happy that you had a great stay with us. We look forwards to your comments as it helps us to improve our hotel and let encourages our staff and management team to strive for higher guest experiences . we look forward to having you back at Tobys in the near future.

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We only stayed there one night, but it was great as it was reasonably priced and a nice clean room. it also has a nice property, with a restaurant and pool there. Staff were very helpful.
it was within a short walk to the public beach which is free and was fine for us. Also close to the strip of restaurants and shops to walk along and explore .
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyResortJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon the next time you come to Jamaica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#38 of 63 in Montego Bay
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing