We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need in Mo´Bay”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The Hotel ist close to the airport and in direct neigbourhood to the hit strip. You can easily walk from here to town center without beeing bothered or anything. Just make sure, to tell the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant if you booked incl. breakfast/dinner or not. You will get another menue in the restaurant if you stay as a B & B-guest.
Rooms are a bit old, but always clean, the pool is clean and is the center of the cute garden. These were our first few days before starting a round trip and for this is was absolutely right!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamsela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 522 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great place. Perfect for your stay in Mobay. Down the road from the airport, yet in a lovely quiet garden with pool and pool bar, ice machine next to it so handy.....
Room great, clean, spacious, lovely bed, bathroom, great balcony (garden or road side, which I prefer cos you can watch the local action). Lovely employees, good restaurant, bar, lovely karp pool with bridge and the best is the location. Out the door and onto the hip strip with Cornwall Beach and Doctor's Cave beach (entrance fee but all amenities), shops, market - do walk through! - and around the other corner 10 mins to Dead End Beach, wonderful, beach and bar to stop at and chat to the lovely locals. I always stay at Toby's when in Mobay.....

Room Tip: Garden if you want quiet, road side if you want a local show :-) (still pretty quiet too)....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamKatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyResortJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2015

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you always have a great time at Toby’s Resort. Your excellent feedback means so much to us and we appreciate your loyalty throughout the years. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The property was nicely landscaped, secure, always clean. The rooms were a good size and kept clean. There were a few small issues like no hot water one day and the sliding glass patio door could only be opened from the inside (one room.) But it was definitely a good resort for the price. The staff was friendly and responsive. The maid even did our laundry for a small fee. The property is on a busy street. I recommend asking for a room at the back. We were there for 9 days and the restaurant menu was somewhat limited, but that got us out exploring other venues. The location is excellent. We walked to just about everything in town and hired a taxi to go further. There are two pools. We only used the larger one. It was clean and had ample chairs for relaxing. The poolside bar was good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The holetal is small but very nice foir the price. The staff are very nice. the rooms are comfortable and clean. The fiurst room I was given, did not have a coffee pot, but come to find out that I had been given a standard room, by mistake, the problem was quickly solved and I was moved to the deluxe room that I had paid for. Some reviews spaoke about the noise level. but it was very quiet , except my room was not to far from the out door. It stopped about 11pm. but still was not so much that I would complain. I WOULD stay there again. It is a safe place. As was traveling alone.

Room Tip: room 39 if you choose a standard room, room 66 if you choose a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in January as a family the front desk staff were very professional and very pleasured, always greeting you with a smile.

The hotel is right on the hip strip , that was very handy, also handy for the airport,used the pool for early morning swim

Hotel was clean, hotel ground was also well kept, we only have breakfast in the hotel which we found great, the JA breakfast was wonderful
We would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Alway lock you suitcases when going out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nubian-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel offers quality service and good maintenance. We loved every meal on the restaurant, the pool, the room and the overall conditions. Most of the time the staff was friendly (one or other exception). The resort’s driver – Paul – takes you to several places by a good price and explain interesting things about the places in the way.
The only thing that bothered us was the nearby street, Gloucester Avenue. Too much harassment, as we never experienced anywhere else. But it seemed to us that this is Montego Bay’s characteristic: hotel – tour – hotel. We usually walk around the places we travel to, but this is not the place for it. So if you’re staying there, plan your trip and ask Paul to take you to your destinies!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed overnight - as stop over for onward journey to relatives. Hotel in need of some modernisation, has air con and free toiletries, and hey I was able to use free wifi in restaurant area, so I can live with that. Breakfast was nice and adequate. Two pools not sure I would swim in any of them though. My highlight was feeding the fishes, chef came out and gave me fish food and the beautiful fishes came alive - Great location, but I think the $15 dollars taxi ride from airport is standard but really not worth it. After a few days with relatives I wished I was back at the Toby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 64 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 64 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#40 of 64 in Montego Bay
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#34 of 64 in Montego Bay
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 64 in Montego Bay
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing