We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tobys”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tobys”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed overnight with my wife in mid December. Location excellent, very close to the airport and a short walk to Doctors Beach and the Hip Strip. Older hotel and a bit frayed round the edges but the room was comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the well tended grounds. Two pleasant pools. Nice restaurant and bar with reasonably priced food.
The staff were all really good-they let us stay beyond checking out time as we were catching a late afternoon bus to Mandeville. I left some eye drops in the room and didn't realise this until I had left Montego Bay so was very impressed when I phoned to find they had the eye drops and two weeks later I was able to pick them up at the front desk. Great service. I recommend Tobys as a relatively economical and convenient place to stay in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    207
    113
    33
    13
See reviews for
71
165
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We started walking with our backpacks from the airport towards Toby's. Only needed to walk about 1 minute before taxi drivers were offering us $5 rides to Toby's instead of 10-15 as offered while on airport grounds.

Hotel is fine, most reviews are on point. I thought the breakfast coffee was especially tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loves_to_see_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 after our wedding at couples swept away. We wanted a little honeymoom alone (we had 30 guests with us at CSA) and to see a different part of the isalnd. After doing all inclusive for a week, we knew we wanted something cheap so we could spend money on excursions.

Toby's was clean and safe. The staff was friendly and we were happy with our room for the price. The AC worked and we had a nice large balcony on the second floor. I though the bed was kind of hard and old, but overall the room was fine. It was nice to have a mini fridge to keep some water and beer in. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at the restaurant and thought the food was good and reasonably priced. Free Wifi in the restaurant as well.

One day we went to doctor's cave beach. $5/person to enter and $3 i think for a chair? Drinks weren't cheap, but not outrageous. I was able to snorkel in the swimming area and they had a decent reef and fish. The beach was white sand and clear water, just like in the pictures.

We used to taxi driver from the resort to go to Dunns Rivers Falls. I think it was $120-150 roundtrip. We consider taking a public bus, but decided we didn't really feel safe doing that. He was a great driver and made stops along the way so we got to see more of Jamaica. We really enjoyed Dunns Rivers Falls.

Would we stay again? Probably just for a night if necessary. Toby's was fine, but the real dissapointment was the Hip Strip. It actually felt pretty unsafe with people trying to get you to come into allys and look at their stuff. I had imagined it being like a 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen for those who have been there, but it was much more run down. There were hardly sidewalks to walk on, and not that many good shops or restaurants. I have been in Jamaica 3 times now, and have never felt unsafe before. I was pretty dissapointed and won't bother to come back to the hip strip or downtown Montego Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This resort may be a older hotel, but it was a very pleasurable stay for me. The staff was great, the location is excellent. Located on the Hip Strip and walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. The rooms were basic, but very comfortable and clean. and again the Staff was exceptional, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsW4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

An excellen tsmall place to spend a night not two. Clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to the Hip Strip, but choice of food was not good. Hotel offers no food or activities and their all inclusive ability is a limited a la carte menu. A 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We needed a place to spend out first night in Montego Bay. Toby's was clean and was easy to get to the Hip Strip. I would recommend it if you were on a budget and needed a place to stay. Toby's is a fair place at a fair price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1972BeerDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Toby's is situated at the end of the Hip strip about one mile from Montego Bay airport. The location is a great place for either going up and down the strip or even walking into town. There is a couple of non private beaches within 200 - 800 yards which are used by the locals. The place is undergoing a needed plan of refurbishment but the rooms are a good size and the beds are big doubles. The rooms are cleaned every day and you can ask the staff to do some washing if you need for a small fee.The staff are all nice and there is 24 hour security. It has two pools and all rooms have air conditioning. For the price and location you will struggle to find better.

Room Tip: I prefer a second floor room so you can watch the birds in the trees in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jabwoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing