We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Toby's”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Toby's is an excellent place to stay while vacationing in Montego Bay, Jamaica. The entire staff is extremely courteous and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate in a heartbeat to stay @ Toby's. Its a very safe and intimate place to stay. I strongly recommend Toby's to my friends and family. Great job guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and the housekeepers are friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Verone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 523 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friends and I vacationed in Jamaica for the first time! However, our trip was just average. First, the rooms that we were in were not well lit, the lights were too dull. The rooms also looked kind of run down. The beds were uncomfortable...The food at the restaurant wasn't so great either. The only plus we can give this hotel, was the pool was kinda cool. And it was close by the beaches, and shopping areas in beautiful montego bay! Next time, we'll make sure we save more, so we can go to a nicer hotel, with better amenities! Never travel on a budget!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at Toby's for two nights before heading to an all-inclusive on the other side of the island. The staff was very nice and the hotel was clean, but I mainly used it for sleeping. I spent most of the two days at Doctor's Cave Beach and on the Hip Strip which is a very short walk from the hotel. I ate curried goat at the bar one night and breakfast every morning. The meals were good and reasonably priced.

The main reason I stayed here was that I wanted to explore Montego Bay some before heading to the resort. I would recommend doing this if you are traveling with other people. I didn't feel unsafe, but I was a little on edge the entire time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I spent 5 nights at Toby's Resort and had a pleasant experience. Keep in mind that this is a budget hotel, so do not expect any luxury of a five star all-inclusive hotel. It is very close to the airport, Dr. Cove's beach and walking distance to restaurant strip. It has 2 swimming pools, gardens, one restaurant (not great, better eat at restaurants nearby), reception staff was friendly and very helpful to organize tours and taxi, wi-fi at reception area, my room was modestly furnished but clean and quiet and with a balcony facing the garden. I consider it a very good affordable place to stay at Montego Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't complain about anything. Clean and affordable place across the street from beach, .5 mile from airport, walking distance to hip strip! The rooms are nice and clean like those of a *** hotel with prices of a ** place! Restaurant has good food and decent prices especially for breakfast! Free Ice from machine near pool! Beach towels available upon request! Complimentary toiletries! Pressured showers!!! A/C! Balcony! TV! Clean plush bathroom towels everyday! No fridge on "basic rooms" It needs some renovations but we need to keep supporting this humble family owned resort in order for that to happen! -Peace

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soyjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Tobys resort during our vacation and overall had a great experience. Apart from the hotel charging my credit twice (however, this was my personal banks fault) it was a good experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel had a good choice of menu and there are two swimming pools. The property was quite spacious and there was free wifi in the lobby area. Also, if you are keen on listening to awesome dancehall and reggae tunes, def the place to stay. Loved the fact that the main pool bar was blasting these tunes whilst relaxing by the pool - very Jamaican style :) Close to the hip strip as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing